We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for park and fly but would think twice about sleeping there”
Review of Penrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penrose Hotel
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed October 20, 2012

hotel needs major cleaning and update of rooms. shuttle service was good this time .Used it before .It has greatly improved and good price. I would park and fly but not stay here again. shuttle diver jermaine andrews was freiendly and helpful

Room Tip: check your room.first room sent us to wasn't cleaned. second room poor housekeeping dirt on car...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pac2360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
There are newer reviews for Penrose Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 749 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

All the employees were very nice, but this place is awful! No hangers, no wastebasket, no cold water, and no lightbulbs in the 2 badly worn lamps. We had to make 3 calls to get the lightbulbs.Good thing it wasn't too cold, because there were no blankets on the bed.A lot of the wallpaper was coming undone too. I would NEVER go barefoot on that carpeting either. In bad need of renovations, except for the lobby.
If they tell you the Penrose Diner across the street is a 4 star diner, they must not get out much. Average food and average service.
Spend a few dollars more and stay at a Comfort Inn or chain hotel.
Thank God we were only there 1 night to see Barbra Streisand at the Wells Fargo Center that is close by. Be careful of Cabbies too, we got ripped off 2X, until we wised up.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else unless they do a major renovation.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I am sure in its day this was quite a nice hotel. Unfortunately its day was probably about 30 years ago, and barely anything has been done to maintain or update it.

I don't understand how owners and managers of a hotel can let their property get into a state like this and be proud of it. It wouldn't take much effort or money to update the hotel, and then to keep it updated.

The rooms were shabby, and looked like they had barely been cleaned. The wiring looked dodgy, one of the lamps didn't work. The communal areas were also dirty, and there was a lot of noise from pipes.

We also booked an additional bed, but when we arrived the hotel had run out of additional beds and did nothing to resolve this.

Finally the location is very poor. Its about half way between the airport and the centre of Philadelphia, and is not close to a subway.

The only good thing I can say about it is that it is cheap. I didn't book the hotel, a friend booked it on our behalf because of the price, but I'd have rather paid more for a better hotel in a better location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
11
Reviewed October 5, 2012

First off there was a roach crawling across the floor in the lobby. Then when I proceed to check in I am told that the room I reserved ( Smoking) was not ready. They then gave me a non smoking room and proceeded to tell the the card reader machine was down and that someone had to take me up to my room to get in. The elevator on the left did not work unless everyone in it jump up and down first. Once on our floor we went to get some ice where there were roaches crawling all over the walls. I know the website is cheap hotels.com, but come on? The best part about our stay was that we only slept in the room, we were out enjoying the city all day. Will never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We used the parking and shuttle service for Skyview Plaza in Philly and it worked out really well! A special recognition to driver Jermaine Andrews, who was there to pick us up at 10 pm. He was very nice, quick to pick us up and very helpful. this is the first time we used the Skyview parking service and it worked out so well. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank vikas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I arrived here with my girlfriend on Saturday, September 15th for a 1 night stay to do some sightseeing and we booked the hotel based on the recommendation of hotels.com.

I have attempted to discuss this matter with the hotels manager during our stay. On each occasion, I was informed that the manager is not available and that the manager can be contacted by e-mail.

Listed below are the issues:

(i) There was a leak from several locations on the bathroom ceiling. I have contacted the front desk and was informed that the leak would be resolved. The leakage was never resolved and we were unable to use the bathroom due to the leaking water. We were forced to use the bathroom in the hotel lobby.

(ii) There was a leak in the ceiling located near the entrance door of the room. This was discovered at the time of checkout because the luggage and shoes that we placed there overnight were completely wet when we were checking out.

(iii) The electric outlet next to the air conditioner which powers the standing lamp is not properly functioning and is a severe fire hazard. I attempted to plug in a telephone charger and sparks starting flying around, smoke came out, and the room began to smell. We mentioned this to the front desk, however, nothing was done to resolve the issue. We were unable to charge our telephones because we were scared to use the other outlets.

(iv) At 3:00 a.m., completely disrupting our sleep, the fire alarm rang and we ran down to the hotel lobby. While downstairs with other hotel guests, we asked the front desk whether there was infact a fire. We were told to ignore the fire alarm and to go back to the room. The men at the front desk all had a look on their face as if this happens often.

(v) Just when we thought that we would return to bed at 3:00 a.m. to at least get a few hours of sleep, we get woken up a second time at 5:00 a.m. by a loud knock on the door by a maintenance worker who tells us that he needs to inspect our room because the hotel guests downstairs are getting flooded. The maintenance worker came inside and I showed the maintenance worker that there was absolutely no water on our floor which would flood a room downstairs but that there is water flooding our bathroom from the room above us. The maintenance worker said that he would resolve this, however, just as the front desk lady promised us as well, absolutely nothing was done.

(vi) As a hotel labeled with a 3 star rating, the disgusting patch of wallpaper amateurly pasted on the wall near the bed and the disgusting patches and silver calking in the elevator are simply inexcusable.

We came to the hotel to get a good nights sleep. We were woken up for absolutely no valid reason whatsoever at 3:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. which completely disrupted our sleep, we were unable to use the bathroom due to the leaking water, our luggage and shoes became wet, and we were unable to use the electrical outlets.

The Skyview Plaza Hotel & Suites is not a 1 star hotel with a $50.00 nightly rate as the hotels located in the Philadelphia Airport area. The Skyview Plaza Hotel & Suites prides itself as being a 3 star hotel and we paid $130.00 for a one (1) night stay.

DO NOT STAY AT THIS PROPERTY!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel was awful: lobby looked good but no air conditioning there or in the halls or in the elevator. Sides of elevator were made of splintered plywood. Peephole in door was in backwards; could look right into our room from the hall. Air conditioner was very loud. Everything that needed repairs, and there were many, were done in a slip-shod fashion. We left our car in their parking lot and it was fine; limo back and forth to the airport was satisfactory. It was clean and looked good except for the hole in the 2nd row seat. Limo was prompt when we called for airport pick-up but it still took 15 - 20 min. because of its location. We would NEVER stay there again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#60 of 87 in Philadelphia
776 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Center City
Rodeway Inn Center City
#51 of 87 in Philadelphia
551 reviews
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
14.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Hotel

Address: 2033 Penrose Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19145-5623 (Formerly Ramada Philadelphia City Center)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $73 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penrose Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Penrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyview Plaza Hotel Philadelphia
Skyview Plaza Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing