We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad...”
Review of Penrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Penrose Hotel
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty bad...”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a pretty terrible hotel if you're looking for anything decent, but for $75 a night and free parking in the middle of a huge city, you can't expect much for that amount of money.
The good news is that the hotel had the 3 basic things I require: a moderately comfortable bed, a functioning AC, and hot water. Aside from that, you're not getting much else. Very bad/slow service at the front desk, supposed wifi that in reality only works in the lobby, no remote for the TV, a morning spread that can barely qualify as a continental breakfast.
Luckily, I didn't spend much time in my room, just sleeping and showering, and both of those things were fine. If you're looking for a nice place to kick up your feet and relax while in Philly, stay away!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rk200933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    89
    136
    157
    323
See reviews for
152
186
68
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeland, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

a filthy disgusting smelly room with a soaking wet carpet and no hot water the front desk workers are clueless not even a remote control for the television it is without a doubt the worst hotel i have ever stayed in in my life

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Sooo dirty.., Rat poop on my pillow, roaches in bathroom......pimp in elevator tried to put me to work!! Trash all over the hallway! Oh almost forgot the refreshing Ice cold shower in the am.

Thank God for Steve and Stacy...they made the stay bearble! Somehow patient with the huge lines of people waiting to complain!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

DO NOT RECOMMEND STAYING HERE!!! DISGUSTING! The location was great, since we were in town to see a Phillies game. Other then that, it prob one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in, Most of our lights didn't even work. It took forever to check in. The smell is awful, and the whole place is just, well, creepy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGZ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here about a week ago because I was in town to see the Phillies play with my boyfriend. We just wanted something cheap and close to the ballpark.

We arrived a couple hours early, and obviously wouldn't be able to check in which was fine. The man working the front desk was very friendly and when we asked about attractions in the area was more then happy to help us out.

When we did come back to check in, the room was clean and everything worked fine. It's perfect walking distance too from the sports complex. We felt safe the entire time, everything was well lit.

There was no noise, nothing smelled, nothing was dirty and there were no bugs. And I was not double billed like some people said they were.

Would stay here again for sure at that price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Took forever to check in, elevators shaky, not even inspected, service was nearly nonexistent, manager unavailable, toilet backed up, and no plungers in the building. They said I had to come all the way down to the lobby to use the men's room, which smelled like a sewer. Door slamming neighbors, and bed bugs, no clean sheets, no shuttle service downtown, as they advertise. Do NOT stay here, if I had my car, I'd have left, oh they also double-bill, call your credit card....yuck!

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd67093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just one sentence....it's horrible and NOT SAFE AT ALL! Even taxi drivers warned against staying at this hotel.

The room was extremely dirty, absolutely everything. The service at the hotel is absolutely appalling, bed sheets were not changed, towels were not changed at all. In fact they decided that one towel (not changed) is sufficient for 2 people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blanka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#59 of 86 in Philadelphia
766 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Center City
Rodeway Inn Center City
#50 of 86 in Philadelphia
544 reviews
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
5.5 mi away
Renaissance Philadelphia Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Hotel

Property: Penrose Hotel
Address: 2033 Penrose Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19145-5623 (Formerly Ramada Philadelphia City Center)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penrose Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Penrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyview Plaza Hotel Philadelphia
Skyview Plaza Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing