We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross”
Review of Penrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penrose Hotel
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed June 17, 2011

It was so terrible. There was no hot water or heat. i'm pretty sure there was blood on the sheets. I would rather slept outside when it was raining than stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadstormyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 771 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

Travel led with Friend, two guys, to this hotel in early May 2011. Ive stayed in some poor hotels and if you are looking for a hotel that is cheap ($75 per night) and close to the Philadelphia sports complex (our reason for staying there), then this is the hotel for you. Otherwise, this is a very crappy hotel. First off, the elevator was quite rickety, unsafe for sure. In room phone did not work, stayed for two days, voiced our concerns to the front desk, never made any effort to help us out. No continental breakfast, no ESPN or any good channels on tv, no pool, in a very questionable area of Philadelphia. If you are going to an Eagles,Phillies, or Flyers game and are on a tight budget and willing to put up with low service (ie.none), then this might be the hotel for you. I would deffinetely not stay here again, thats for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coolguy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I booked a 4-night stay for a conference in Philly. The only positive experience I had was on the shuttle ride to the Hotel, which was timely with a courteous driver. However, my fellow passenger and I had a rude shock when we walked into the crowded lobby, where about 25 guests were all waiting for the hotel staff to find clean rooms and issue key cards. there were (3) staff working the desk, but only one computer could be used at a time to process reservations and issue rooms. There was no Manager on duty, and I heard one staffer indicate to another guest that the Managers would not be on-site until the following week after 9AM! For a sold-out property during a peak period in Philly, it is unbelievable that no management would be on-site.
After FINALLY getting to the desk (90 minutes later), I was issued a room which turned out, after a slow and sticky ride up the tiny elevator, to be uncleaned from an earlier guest. There were towels everywhere, unmade bed, phone cords missing, headboard ripped out of the wall, and beer cans all over. The corridors smelled musty, and I knew at this moment that I could not accept even an alternate room (none was available).
Upon returning to the crowd in the lobby, I was told that they would have someone clean the room for me (right), although during the next 1/2 hour while I phoned around looking for alternate lodging, the sole housekeeper came thru the lobby on her way home, chatting with another staffer and indicating that she was done for the day and was the last one on site. The stale-beer smell of the lobby furniture only spurred me in my efforts to get out of there! I ended up getting a cancellation receipt from one of the clerks who was very courteous and clearly unable to solve the hotel's troubles. I ran out, caught a cab to the airport Hampton Inn, and never looked back!
The website imagery and claims regarding services and amenities are misleading at best.
PLEASE consider staying in the train station before you book at this one...!!

Room Tip: Please ask for a room at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IA_LDconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

After being stuck at airport and all other hotels books we checked into the Skyview. The shuttle driver was a nice helpful guy. But it ended there. My trip was to take my sister to visit a relative in bad health and fianances were an issue. Since this hotel was the only one available I had to choice but to fortk out $200 for a room. Imagine my surprise when I see that online the rooms start at $75! This was probably a nice hotel at one time but not anymore. Ceilings peeling, beds old and uncomfortable as well as badly made (sheets didn't fit). Room was NOT clean. The lobby was the nicest part of the hotel although the sweet girl at the desk didn't have a clue......No discounts for AAA or AARP. Sad ending to a nice vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duffacheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

this is my first review and feel the need to express to everyone how disgusting this hotel is. My husband and i were stranded in Philly for the night due to a flight delay. The rate seemed to increase at this motel due to supply and demand. It looks like a 1970's dumphouse. The elevator would not close and my husband had to bang and push the doors to get them to move. Our room smelled of mold and there were water stains all over the carpet. There was a hole DRILLED into the door as a makeshift peephole and the bathroom doors seemed to be coming off the hinges. I immediately inspected for bed bugs and refused to put our luggage on the floor. There were drunk couples coming in and out of the hotel and the staff seemed to be high school drop outs. everything including the layout, interior decorating and furniture appeared to be worn out and out dated. I felt so uncomfortable at this hotel that i slept with my clothes ON! I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chill636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Not sure if it was blood spatter or vomit, either way, the rooms are gross and have your own security if you plan to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teriann916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Disgusting is too soft of a word to use to describe this Pitt of a hotel.I'm not sure ho any body could have a good experience here. To the holiday inn we go.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Msgloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#66 of 89 in Philadelphia
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 89 in Philadelphia
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Hotel

Address: 2033 Penrose Ave, 2015 Penrose Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19145-5623 (Formerly Ramada Philadelphia City Center)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $67 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penrose Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Penrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyview Plaza Hotel And Suites
Skyview Plaza Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing