We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amis

Amis
Reserve with OpenTable
Amis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #112 of 4,342 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Waverly
Transit: Broad Street Subway Line - Lombard/South stop. Bus C - Broad & Pine
Description: Amis brings the quintessential Roman-style trattoria to Philadelphia's Center City neighborhood. Opened in 2010 by Vetri Family partners Jeff Benjamin and Chefs Marc Vetri, Brad Spence and Jeff Michaud, Amis has cemented its place as one of the city's premier dining destinations, garnering high praise from such publications as the Philadelphia Inquirer (three-out-of-four-bells) and Bon Appetit magazine ("Top 10 Places for Pasta in the U.S."), and from the crowds of regular guests who pack its dining room nightly for dinner and weekends for brunch. Lively, comfortable and convivial, dining at Amis is perfect for a variety of occasions, boasting a share-plates menu of house-made pasta, salumi, farm-fresh meats and peak seasonal vegetable dishes, perfect for sharing while celebrating with friends and family, or a meal out with someone special. Be sure to ask about our "Beast of Amis" menu too. These special dishes feature whole animals-birds, hogs, fish and even full sides of beef.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a great place! Interesting, creative, delicious dishes, attentive, friendly service, great-looking space. We shared everything we had, loved everything. Swordfish meatballs were extraordinary, as were eggplant fries with pasta and swordfish. Semi-pricey but no more so than anywhere else these days. Two things to know - parking was impossible on the street, early on a Sunday evening, ended up in a garage on 11th street, would not pay $18 for valet. And, if you're looking for a quiet, romantic spot, this is not it - it's lively and noisy, but a great atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudiL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    99
    31
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a great meal. The capon sausage was tasty and the sweetbreads dusted in almond powder was delicious. We shared the shaved white truffle pasta for $85.00 and it was worth every penny.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkenmass2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Chef's Laid Back Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Chef Marc Vetri is one of the world's great chef's. His named restaurant is incredibly difficult to score a table and when you do the tab is expensive. Amis is his affordable, still pricey, but reasonable considering the quality, northern Italian restaurant that the rest of us can afford. Here he explores different flavors and becomes intriguingly inventive with his food and menu. The atmosphere is vibrant, the bar scene is hip and lively. The service is outstanding.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AMIS is my friend forever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Went here with 6 people from work last night and we had a blast!!! Great appetizers, incredible variety. Entree's were outstanding........we each ordered what we wanted plus 2 extra's and we were sharing and eating off of each others plates. One of my colleagues commented... "I kept tasting everything and expecting there would be something I didn't like, but I loved everything!" Another commented it was the best meal he had had in years.
The vibe is friendly....service excellent, prices not too bad, the wine list is extensive and great and the food is out of this world. We tried all different parts of the menu from the adventuresome (Quail and Capon Sausage) to standards like some of the pasta dishes. Everything was delicious...then we killed ourselves with dessert. There were 6 of us and only 4 ordered dessert but it came on this big beautiful paddle type board (almost like a pizza paddle) and it not only looked stunning but all 6 of us dug into and devoured all the desserts. One of our friends said........... "please don't tell anyone about this place so we can keep it to ourselves!" but it's too great a place not to share and recommend. Amis rocks!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank critsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hip and yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

While noisy this is a lively and excellent restaurant. Had a delicious meal and the best rice pudding I've ever had
Very good service Pretty big menu plus specials. Good size, I.e., not huge, portions

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dredkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amis also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing