We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb and unsual sandwiches”

Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches
Ranked #407 of 4,459 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The perfect place to have lunch in Philly's Italian Market. All of the Paesano's sandwiches are unique and interesting combinations - absolute works of art and incredibly tasty! Every one I've tried has been fabulous. One of these days, I'll try the Bolognese - which includes fried lasagne! - but it's so hard to resist my favourite ... the Gustaio (lamb sausage, gorgonzola, sun-dried cherries and roasted fennel). Highly recommended for tourists and locals alike.

    • Atmosphere
    • Food
1  Thank ceethebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paesano P, Manager at Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We hope you get to try the Bolognese soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 92 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

I love this place! My favorite is the Paesano but all of their sandwiches are top notch! I have a gluten intolerence leaving me few options when it comes to sandwich shops. I was beyond happy when I found out theat Paesano's offers gluten free bread!

4  Thank CMM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paesano P, Manager at Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you very much for writing such an awesome review. It is always our pleasure to bring the good Paesano's of the world all the Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great sandwiches, mostly takeout crowd on New Years Day and that was a good thing because seating is minimal. Wishniak cherry soda on tap went well with Zawzeech sausage sandwich, the local folks had ordered Paesano sandwiches-brisket and eggs and that looked good too. Very busy guy taking orders, he said 12 minute wait and got it exactly right. Big crowd and line to the door.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheCFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paesano P, General Manager at Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

What a great way to start the new year! Thank you very much for taking the time to tell the foodies where to get the goods. You make us look good, and for that, we thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Encouraged by reports (including the recommendation from Anthony Bourdain's The Layover) we skipped the Pat/Geno's cheese steak showdown for this little sandwich shop abutting the Italian Market. We were not disappointed. We easily got beyond the zero atmosphere and few beverage options to the creative sandwich combinations. We were sorry to only be able to try two. I had a lamb sausage sandwich on flatbread studded with pickled sour cherries and mint sauce, which was delish, if messy. The vegetarian eggplant on sesame roll was equally yummy, but lacked the fennel that was advertised. Nutella crepe was a nice finish, but could have benefitted from more marmalade.

Thank npwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paesano P, General Manager at Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

You are the reason why we work so hard! Thank you very much for showing your love towards our sandwiches. It really means a lot to us. Next time you come in please remind us of your review. We would love to give you a great big hug...or free stuff:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I went based on TA opinions. Sandwiches were good, but not out of this world. We had the Paesano, Arista and Giardina, All very good. Out of the three, the Paesano was the best. Sandwiches were made on French bread, Bread did not fall apart and kept all ingredients together. These sandwiches do get soggy if not eaten quickly. Eat them at Paesano's or in your car. If not, they will not taste as they were meant to be eaten. Also, location is extremely small. Maybe 5 seats inside. Not in the greatest of neighborhoods. I will go back for another Paesano.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AndiamoAMagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paesano P, General Manager at Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for visiting us and writing such a great review. We really appreciate you taking the time out to tell the world about out sandwiches. You truly are one of best paesans'. Mention your review next time you come by and we'll throw in some extra love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches also viewed

 

Been to Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing