We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”

Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches
Ranked #366 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Encouraged by reports (including the recommendation from Anthony Bourdain's The Layover) we skipped the Pat/Geno's cheese steak showdown for this little sandwich shop abutting the Italian Market. We were not disappointed. We easily got beyond the zero atmosphere and few beverage options to the creative sandwich combinations. We were sorry to only be able to try two. I had a lamb sausage sandwich on flatbread studded with pickled sour cherries and mint sauce, which was delish, if messy. The vegetarian eggplant on sesame roll was equally yummy, but lacked the fennel that was advertised. Nutella crepe was a nice finish, but could have benefitted from more marmalade.

Helpful?
Thank npwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paesano P, General Manager at Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
You are the reason why we work so hard! Thank you very much for showing your love towards our sandwiches. It really means a lot to us. Next time you come in please remind us of your review. We would love to give you a great big hug...or free stuff:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    19
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
444 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches outside Philly Center”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I went based on TA opinions. Sandwiches were good, but not out of this world. We had the Paesano, Arista and Giardina, All very good. Out of the three, the Paesano was the best. Sandwiches were made on French bread, Bread did not fall apart and kept all ingredients together. These sandwiches do get soggy if not eaten quickly. Eat them at Paesano's or in your car. If not, they will not taste as they were meant to be eaten. Also, location is extremely small. Maybe 5 seats inside. Not in the greatest of neighborhoods. I will go back for another Paesano.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndiamoAMagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paesano P, General Manager at Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and writing such a great review. We really appreciate you taking the time out to tell the world about out sandwiches. You truly are one of best paesans'. Mention your review next time you come by and we'll throw in some extra love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“must try”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have tried the "popular" tourist restaurants on and around 9th street on several trips to Philly and for the most part have been very disappointed. NOT this time. My roasted eggplant sandwhich was the best roasted eggplant I have ever had. My husband's mixed Italian meat sub was very good. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The biggest reason to eat here, besides the excellent food is the place itself. My family is originally from Philly and visiting 9th street was always the highlight of the trip. Paesano's is exactly the great home grown Italian business that made 9th street the coolest place to visit in Philly. Go, enjoy

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paesano P, Manager at Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. As I'm sure you know your comments are the best form of connection with our customers. And hey, us south Philly folks gotta stick tight. Ciao Bella. Gracie. Paesano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Yummy Sandwich Joint in the Italian Market”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had the Arista here: Roast Pork, Rabe, Sharp Provolone on a chewy Italian roll, yummilicious! I love Broccoli Rabe so the sauteed Rabe, lots of roast pork and sharp provolone set my taste buds on fire. Wish I had a chianti. If you are not a Rabe fan you may want to try their other sandwiches. This sandwich is different from most you've tried. There's prominent deliciousness to the roast pork, slight bitterness from the Rabe and slightly sharp Provolone. But I loved this sandwich because I've never had anything like it. The sandwich joint is popular because it's been featured on the Travel Channel, blah blah blah.

Its a small place, 3 tall communal benches and you can seat maybe 10 people comfortably, 15 snugly in the entire place. Sandwiches are $8 plus $2 for a soda. It's a $10 lunch and they're only open until 3pm most days. Still it's a very good deal in the Italian Market. Some of the other sandwiches are well reviewed by other boards. Service is efficient. This is not a place where you sit for hours as there are always people waiting for their sandwiches and you will feel pity on those waiting. Do not take the sandwiches togo and eat them 1/2 hour later as you will have a soggy meal on your hands. There is supposed to be a park a block away or so but I did not check it out on my 2 visits to Paesanos. Must try for it's unique well put together sandwiches.

Visits: 2

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank paolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paesano P, General Manager at Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you! Your kind words are worth every ounce of love we put into sandwiches. You are a true Paesan and we'd love to have you back. And when you do, let us know about your Trip Advisor review and we'll take something off the check.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Worthy of great reviews”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

On my recent visit to Philly I wanted to find the best steak and cheese sandwich, but in my search for that I came across the many rave reviews for Paesano's. It's not steak and cheese but better. It turned out to be convenient for my ride on the historic #15 trolley route too, as it's just a couple of blocks from Girard Av. Station where the trolley meets the Market-Frankford subway-elevated line. Paesano's is very small, just a half dozen seats at a counter, but the sandwiches are big, unique, juicy, creative, and full of flavor. Friendly people too. If you weren't looking for Paesano's you'd probably miss it but it's definitely worth the search.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paesano P, General Manager at Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you! Your kind words are worth every ounce of love we put into sandwiches. You are a true Paesan and we'd love to have you back. And when you do, let us know about your Trip Advisor review and we'll take something off the check.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing