We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy site, great cook, EXCELLENT philly”

Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches
Ranked #366 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Hornell, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cosy site, great cook, EXCELLENT philly”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

didnt get the fried egg on the #1 philly but it was awesome. dont let any negative reviews set you off, strange small out of the way but wirth the trip from center city. 100 block of girard street. wont want another one from anywhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Trosell14843
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    19
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best sandwich in Philly”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Come to Philly for a cheesesteak, then go here when you're actually hungry. Best sandwich in the city!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phillytj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorites-Italian Market Location”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've been here countless times and every time I wonder why I don't go more frequently. The Paesano's on 9th street is awesome. It's a little tricky to find (right next to the fish stall) but so worth it. Their vegetarian crispelle sandwich is fantastic as is the lamb sausage sandwich. The restaurant is a hole-in-the-wall local spot but honestly, the food is so good, who cares?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisaathome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Place was amazing”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff was polite and fast. The food was out of this world. Not only was the food great but the portion size was big as well. I will go back every time I am in Philly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zachary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crazy Delicious!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

They say good things come in small packages. Well, that is an understatement for Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches. This was one of our planned meals for our trip to Philly. Forget about Pat's and Geno's. I've had 10x better in Michigan. This small place had gigantic, perfectly paired flavors in each of the sandwiches that we enjoyed. The Gustaio with lamb sausage was a perfect combination of sweet and savory, earthy lamb, sweet cherry moutard, creamy gorgonzola and peppery arugula, crazy delicious! The Zawzeech was equally incredible with its slightly spicy italian sausage accompanied by, what tasted like, an all day, homemade sauce, carmelized peppers and onions and sharp provolone. It was like a party in your mouth. Eventhough we went for the pork, we left knowing that it too would have been out of site. The guys were equally fabulous. Wish this place was in Michigan.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing