We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Star Sandwiches & Potatoes”

Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches
Ranked #332 of 4,342 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Five Star Sandwiches & Potatoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Just tried the Italian Market branch of Paesano's when visiting Philly. The famed Arista (roast suckling pig, broccoli rabe and cheese on a seeded hoagie roll) was *very* good, and the Gustaio (lamb sausage, arugula, fennel and cherry mustarda on flatbread) was the *best sandwich we've ever eaten.* The potatoes, drenched in cheese and garlic, live up to Paesano's advertising as 'the most flavorful we can muster'-- delicious!

Prices are very fair-- sandwiches are under $10, the potatoes are $2 per serving-- and the portions are huge. Seating is simple-- this is a small shop, equipped with counters, stools and a soda machine.

Go hungry, go often and enjoy working your way through Paesano's menu.

(A plus for the gluten free: you can get your sandwich on a gluten free hoagie roll supplied to Paesano's by Taffet's, the gluten free bakery located across 9th Street. Taffet's also makes delicious brownies-- try one for dessert after Paesano's.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANetliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    19
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Goodness Gracious!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Unforgettable oral experience! Now I want to try every sandwich in the menu. Great place to just to share your experience. I wasnt alone, even the strangers around me sat in amazement. Worth the try...

Helpful?
1 Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“I am so difficult to please at Italian/American restaurants, and I LOVED this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited Philly the day before Easter and around lunchtime the Reading Terminal Market was such a zoo, and the lines were so long, we decided to head over to Little Italy. After looking at our options, we decided to try Paesano's. I usually cannot even look at a typical Italian/American sandwich as it includes mayo and all sorts of toppings which I just don't enjoy, however, I had a hard time choosing what to eat at Paesano's! I finally chose the Arista, which is Italian pork, Italian Long Hots, Broccoli Rabe and Provolone. O.M.G. It was DELICIOUS and I was SO happy that I could actually enjoy my sandwich, because as I said, it's quite rare for me (I am a blogging foodie at Christina's Cucina so that should explain something.) My friend ordered the Gustaio which was House-made Lamb sausage, Sun-dried Cherry Mustarda, Gorgonzola Spread, Roasted Fennel, & Arugula...this was also very tasty, but I did like mine better. We also ordered some roast potatoes which were fantastic, but unfortunately, it was just so much food, we couldn't finish them all.

Don't expect much in the way of atmosphere, seating or luxury because it's just a little casual place to pick up a sandwich, but I would eat here over a fancy restaurant with bad food, anyday of the week!

A friend of mine is going to Philly to visit her friend at Lehigh and I am going to tell her that she just HAS to find time to go to this restaurant. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccincalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“different and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Unique, weird even combos -- but they work! We went back both days -- it was that Good! Nice guys behind the counter. Just wish they had more seating and a bathroom. But, don't let that stop you. The Lasagna sandwich and the lamb sausage were so different and great! More traditional are the Brisket and Roast Pork -- but still excellent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank karpach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of my all-time favorite sandwich spots”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

After an afternoon at the Barnes Exhibit with my ladyfriend and her 94 year-old grandmother, we stopped by Paesano's for sandwiches. Distressed at first by the lack of elderly-appropriate seating (Paesano's has only stools which are a bit high for such an old woman to hop up to), we were relieved to find all patrons in such a good mood after eating their amazing sandwiches that several gave up their seats to help hoist Grandma into one. We ordered a variety of sandwiches, including the Giardina (exceptional eggplant), the Arista (juicy pork and broccoli rabe, fantastic), and, best of all, the GUSTAIO. While my sandwich-loving heart may forever pledge allegiance to TC Lando's (Acton, Massachusetts), my more objective sensibility may have to concede that the Gustaio is the best sandwich I have ever eaten. A sublime fusion of savory gorgonzola, sweet cherry mustarda, and perfectly seasoned lamb sausage, I will probably be telling my grandkids about this sandwich when I am Grandma Bunny's age. Paesano's easily ranks with America's other sandwich geats (Ike's in San Francisco, and Bunk in Portland, Oregon.)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CarnivoreOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches also viewed

 

Been to Paesano's Philly Style Sandwiches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing