We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fond

Fond
Reserve with OpenTable
Fond is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #197 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Cross street: Tasker Street
Transit: 2 blocks east from the Broad Street Line - Tasker/Morris stop. Bus route 23 on 12th st to Tasker St.
Description: Fond is a Contemporary American Restaurant, with eclectic flavors & fresh, seasonal ingredients. Run by three friends, guests can expect to feel welcome & relaxed. We now offer a full bar as well as a wine and beer list. We offer BYOB from Tuesday to Thursday, with corkage fee on Friday, Saturday and special holidays. We are located on bustling East Passyunk Avenue in South Philadelphia. Come join Fond for happy hour, every Tuesday thru Friday from 5:30-7:00, BAR ONLY. Fond also has chef's tables that seat 10, that oversee our kitchen where Chef Lee Styer will demonstrate his cooking.
New York City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

After reading all the reviews, we expected a spectacular meal and fantastic service. Both were lacking for us. There was nothing about their food that was a wow. Nor was the service very good. We were not impressed and would not go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kw212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    17
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rixeyville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

What an amazing find! We stumbled upon Fond and it was the best thing that could've happened:) Cannot believe we never knew about this place.....First of all, service is amazing, thorough but not intrusive. Now I'm not saying it's snooty, great personalities here! Now the food, omg! Lobster Risotto and Tuna Crudo=died and gone to heaven;) Swordfish for him and Cod for me, ditto as the desserts;)! Unfortunately we ate so much bread that we couldn't even try 1 dessert;( Apparently the bread comes from the bakery of the wife of the chef, lol Will be back, loved it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
490 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I love Fond. I think Fond is great. The food is fabulous. And, oh how I wish this could be a 5 star review.

But alas, until they do something about the overly cramped seating in the main dining area it will have to be a very good for now. I have eaten here twice since they've moved to their new location. I applaud their acquisition of a liquor license & they turn out some impressive & creative cocktails. The wine list is small but thoughtful & there are a decent amount of selections by the glass to keep all (but the terminally cranky) happy.

It's a very small menu with about 5-6 appetizers and 5-6 larger plates & moderate portion sizes. If you have a picky eater , someone with a lot of dietary restrictions, or a large eater in your party please be forewarned. Your companion's dining choices may be very limited & this may not be the right venue for you.

That said, the food IS extraordinary. We've sampled the tuna crudo, the celery root soup with golden raisins, the pork belly entree as well as the short rib main course. Flavor profiles are complex without being fussy & there is obvious care taken with the execution & presentation of each dish. Sauces are elegant & enhance the main components without overwhelming them. Desserts are also delicious with high marks for their Meyer lemon cannolis.

Service is good - competent & friendly. Our waiter was sassy in a very Philadelphia way; which I enjoy. I would figure about $75-$90 per person including tax & tip.

So please GO! but understand the location's limitations. Like other very good restaurants in South Philadelphia (Bibou, Willbyob) parking will be difficult especially on the weekends & the seating will be tight & the noise could reach a very high level.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pookala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Suburb
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My second review of Fond (NEW LOCATION)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We recently went to Fond at their new location, a larger space than before (if you can imagine that). Food wise, this place is top notch. For example to start we had lobster bisque with hazelnuts and truffles. Need I say more? Also tasted the tuna crudo which was deliciously seasoned yet not overly tampered with. Simple and good. Our entrees were also delicious. Nice portions, too. Not minuscule nor too much, instead they were perfectly balanced in their portions. We had the branzino with kale and faro and the other entree was the pork belly with sweet potatoes and escarole. The only difference to me is the overall space is less intimate than before. They have a bar now which is a nice touch (because our Manhattan's were incredible) but now instead of date night, I'd go here with friends for the best meal ever. It's not a critism at all, it just has an altered feel from their prior location. It could be the huge window that reduces the intimacy but still, this is a great, great place. Dress warmly if going on a cold night. They gave us a mini space heater for our table because there was a crazy draft near the front door. They're aware of it though and they were very accommodating. TRY FOND!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lambie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

One of the better meals we've had in quite a while. Excellent and friendly service. The lobster risotto was incredible and the short ribs were excellent. Small place, but the tables are not excessively jammed together. The dining room was a little cold on a very frigid day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2litg8rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fond also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Fond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing