We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, wonderful service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Virtu

Le Virtu
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Virtu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #222 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Juniper & Mifflin
Transit: Snyder Ave. stop on SEPTA/Broad Street subway.
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
234 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Delicious food, wonderful service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We ate here before a Phillies game. It was a beautiful cool night, no humidity. We ate out on the patio. We all started with delicious heirloom tomatoes with imported mozzarella. My entree was the Tagliatelle pasta with pistachio pesto sauce. Scrumptious. H had the fish stew and a friend had the pork belly. Everyone enjoyed the meal. H and I split the semifreddo for dessert which was so delicious. A friend had the blueberry crisp. The bread was very good. The wine list was better than usual. Service was very good. Nice neighborhood. Street and Valet parking.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Songbird811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    47
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Once was enough”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had heard so much about Le Virtu -- both before going and while actually there, as the owner/chef and waiter spent no small amount of time telling us how great everything was on the menu. (One hint: if the owner had spent more time in the kitchen than promoting himself and his restaurant in the dining room -- e.g., "The pasta special is named after me" -- then maybe the food would have lived up to his hype.)

Now, in all fairness, the waiter was efficient and friendly. And the appetizers were outstanding. Four of us each had different appetizers and the judgment was 10/10 on all of them. We thought we were set for one of our most amazing meals of the decade. Then came the main courses. Three of us ordered pasta dishes. One ordered rabbit. The texture of the pasta was perfect. The preparations, though, were so heavily laden with salt as to make the superior ingredients invisible: my dish was made with house-made Abruzzese-style sausage, porcini, black truffle, Navelli saffron. All I could taste was salt. Another in our group had -- and said -- the same thing. One had homemade pasta with a lamb ragu -- and a shaker of salt. The man who had rabbit shared it with all of us. It was a great portion, but it was so overcooked that none of us really ate much of it. Again, had the chef stayed in the kitchen, this might have been avoided.

Desserts were good, especially Le Virtu's fine selection of cheeses. All in all, though, I would not go back. Philly has too many fantastic restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xaviercourtois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice leisurely meal in South Philly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

A group of friends went to Le Virtu on August 16 for an early dinner prior to attending a Phillies game. I live out of the Philadelphia area although Philly is my hometown. Initially, I was pleased to see the vibrancy of the area in which Le Virtu was located in South Philadelphia. Restaurants and shops lined the street.

We were met upon arrival by the restaurant's valet parking service as parking spaces in the area are limited. We had an option of being seated in the restaurant's spacious outdoor courtyard or inside and we chose to eat inside the restaurant.

We were greeted by our hostess who knew one of our group as a regular at the restaurant. Our waiter explained the specials and answered all our questions graciously.

Le Virtu has a liquor license and most of us were able to order wine by the glass. My red was excellent.

Since we were going to the game, we did not have excess time to linger over our meal. I ordered the spicy sausage in polenta as an appetizer, which was very good. My wife had a beautful salad. We both ordered the tagliatelle in a rabbit ragu as a main course as Le Virtu is known for making its own pastas and curing its own meats. The entree was quite tasty.

After a cappucino, it was off to the game. Next time I visit Le Virtu, I will make sure to have more time to savor the pleasant ambience and excellent food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boobyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesarea, Israel
Level Contributor
143 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Le Virtu is one of many restaurants and cafes along Passyunk Avenue in South Philly. It's a super hopping neighborhood and fun before you've even chosen where to eat. We loved Le Virtu. The homemade pasta was incredible, the tomato and burata cheese salad was simply divine and the desserts were excellent. Service was very nice and the atmosphere terrific. There is seating in an area outside. Inside the restaurant is broken up into different sections so it all feels quite intimate.
Lovely evening. We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cvwgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food and nice place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to Le Virtu with family and friends while visiting Philadelphia. The food was very good, and the service and ambience are both of a high standard.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Georgie0497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Virtu also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Le Virtu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing