We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient, Hip, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient, Hip, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Stayed at The Palomar one Saturday night recently with a friend who was in town. Staff is very friendly. Room is nicely furnished and very clean. Reminded me a of a hip New York City boutique hotel. Great location for a Saturday night in Philly; close to good bars and restaurants. Slept very well in their comfortable beds. Fast elevator.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank immer-sonnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,764
    566
    143
    39
    22
See reviews for
471
1,029
132
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lumberville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Previously I have stayed at the Hotel Monaco boutique hotels and enjoyed the "personal touch" which they delivered. The same is true with Hotel Palomer which has a great central location near shopping and restaurants.

My husband had never been to a Kimpton and really enjoyed the wine reception and how the whole room became a cocktail party. Within ten minutes, everyone was conversing with everyone around them and well behaved patron's dogs were going in and out of the foyer (they're pet friendly).

Decor was very youngish modern in the foyer with alternating vibrantly painted busts of Ben Franklin and cheek-in-tongue art throughout the public spaces. The room was neutrally soft contemporary.

Liked the location...liked the vibe...liked the staff....liked the other friendly patrons.....we will be back.....maybe next time with the dog : )

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DERiverGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We love the Kimpton chain and this hotel was no exception. Clean and new, stylish but not pretentious. Impeccably clean room and bathroom, well designed and lovely. Location could not be beat. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fivebees5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This place has forgotten the human customer. It is trying to be dog-friendly and so dogs are everywhere. They block doors and passageways, they are in the elevator. The hotel does ask customer preference between pet-free rooms and non-pet free rooms when you check in. This is the most unbelievable discourtesy to guests. The hotel claims that asking guests whether they prefer a pet-free room would not be a pet-friendly thing to do. That is like saying that asking whether you want a smoke-free room would be rude to smokers. If you wish to stay with a hundred dogs, in a dog-inhabited room, then save yourself some money and check into a kennel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marylander1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyCoulom, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Dear Marylander1960,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is direct customer feedback like this that assists us with improving our operation. First and foremost, I am saddened to read that you did not experience an enjoyable visit at the Hotel Palomar Philadelphia. To us, one of the most important things about travelling is for our guest's to feel comfortable in our home. If that means bringing a pet along as your travelling partner, we can accommodate. To ensure the comfort of travelers with sensitivities to animals, we do have a selection of hypoallergenic floors that are pet free and can be requested at any point prior to or during your hotel stay. Additionally, we are happy to update your personal guest profile with the request to be placed on a hypoallergenic floor to ensure your comfort during all future stays. Marylander1960, I would love to update your guest profile. Please feel welcome to contact me directly so I may!

Kind Regards,
Kelly
kelly.coulom@hotelpalomar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Like other Klimptons where we've stayed, this hotel was excellent. Great service, great location, very comfortable room. They even gave us coupons for a free American breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shackelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Hello Shackelton,

We just love free stuff at Kimpton! I hope you also got your $10 free out of the Honor Bar for being a loyal guest as a part of our InTouch program? Thanks for your review; we all hope to see you next time you are in Philly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This is the second Kimpton hotel I've stayed at (the other being the Hotel Monaco in Chicago), and my experience here was just as I had expected. The Hotel Palomar is a wonderful hotel with a great location in downtown Philadelphia. The level of service here is exceptional: professional, courteous staff who always provide service with a smile without being overbearing. They seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs, and it shows. From a friendly welcome at check-in to the wine reception in the evenings (with popcorn flavored with truffle oil!), you always feel welcomed.

Kimpton is really setting itself apart in the hotel industry with beautiful contemporary accommodations and great service while offering excellent value for the price, and the Hotel Palomar is no exception.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyMountainMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Desertmom,

We DO all enjoy our jobs here at Kimpton hotels! Especially when there is left over truffle popcorn...

I am so glad to hear that guests sincerely notice the unique experience felt at all of our hotels. If you choose to sign up for our free InTouch program you can even start to earn free night stays with us! We really appreciate reading great comments like yours. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2011

This is a really funky, interesting modern hotel in what was formerly a fairly nondescript older building. Their complimentary wine hour featured one of the tastiest snacks I've ever come across: truffle-buttered popcorn. Service was excellent. The rooms were not huge was adequate and nicely decorated. The location is ideal for all concerts/plays in Center City and with good access to public transit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtspcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
788 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,035 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing