We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Earned its five star rating this time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Earned its five star rating this time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed at this property a year ago to celebrate my husband's birthday and were slightly disappointed but decided to try it again after the management responded to my email regarding some issues with the room.

I emailed the hotel prior to our arrival and requested a higher floor this time for our King Spa room and Titus assured us at check-in that we had a lovely room. A few minutes after we settled in he arrived with a bottle of sparkling wine and a plate of chocolate covered strawberries. What a wonderful surprise!

The spa rooms are fantastic because the bath is a huge jacuzzi that fills in no time - just perfect for a relaxing soak before dinner. We enjoyed the turn down service and housekeeping provided extra towels and feather pillows.

This stay we had the opportunity to enjoy the evening happy hour and morning coffee service- nice touches! Our only minor complaint was the slow elevator service we experienced on a Friday morning- it appeared that only one elevator was working and there was a long wait

The Hotel Palomar is a property that strives to meet the needs of its guests and all of the staff have positive, friendly attitudes. The bellman and valet service are very prompt and polite and we were appreciative of the care they took with our car.

If you are looking for a nice hotel with a boutique feel in a great location of the city this is it!

Room Tip: Upper level floors have great views. Join the KImpton club to receive free wifi and a $10 mini bar c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colgalEnglewoodCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear colgalEnglewoodCo,

Thanks so much for giving us another chance! So glad to hear you decided to celebrate your husband's birthday with us, nothing better than popping champagne to ring in another year. Hope you guys come back next year to celebrate with us again.

Cheers & Happy belated Birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,720
    550
    140
    36
    21
See reviews for
456
1,004
129
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was a my second stay at Palomar and i hope to keep going back. I love the central location in downtown where you're either a short walk or short cab ride away from just about everything there is to explore in Philly. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean, the beds, pillows were one of the most comfortable i'd ever slept on and the views on the 23rd floor were spectacular, to say the least! I can't stress enough how friendly and welcoming all of the staff has been during both of my stays at the Palomar. As I said earlier, I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arek20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review, we hope to have you back again too! We'll certainly be sharing these great comments with our ROCKSTAR team.

Until next time...safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Dee has been a breath a fresh air every time I have visited this hotel. I have been to a couple of hotels in Philly & her service exceeds all by far. Her ability to make me feel welcome along with first class service is what separates this hotel from all others...

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquemtorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Jacquemtorres,

We love hearing things like this about our amazing staff. We'll make sure Dee gets a special shout out on your behalf!! Come back soon and have a drink with us.

Cheers,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

In Philly for a convention at the Sheraton and wanted something less corporate. Couldn't have chosen a better hotel. And for dollars more than the Sheraton. The staff was phenomenally friendly. The decor, very cool. Although I wasn't able to bring mine, the dogs coming in and out only added to the homey feel of this hotel. The air in the hotel was so fresh, walking in from the street was a truly breath of fresh air. Loved everything about this hotel, and I will now look for Kimpton Hotels on every trip!

Green Features: I noticed in the 2nd floor ladies room a sign regarding the hotel going lo Flow and saving 296,000 gallons of water every year.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caziewaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Caziewaz,

We love to hear you loved everything about our hotel!! I would like to invite you to sign up for our Kimpton Karma rewards program. Good things come, to those who stay...

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I spent my first time in Philly at the Hotel Palomar for a conference, and it was absolutely wonderful from beginning to end! Before my stay, I had already gotten a couple of welcoming emails confirming my upcoming visit--all of them friendly and accommodating! The night I checked in my husband and I were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary, so it was definitely a special day for us. All of the staff at Hotel Palomar, front desk, valet, etc. knew it was our anniversary and literally everyone wished us a happy anniversary! We felt like we were the only ones staying there because of how friendly everyone was. Also, we went into our lovely room to find a special surprise--chocolate covered strawberries, chilled champagne, and a handwritten note from a concierge. So personal and unique! I highly recommend joining the Kimpton Loyalty rewards program. If you do, you get free wifi, plus you fill out an online form that asks you questions about your room preferences. I indicated that I preferred a quiet room and we definitely were put into a quiet room! Even though this hotel is RIGHT downtown, we still felt like we had a secluded and peaceful stay. Valet parking is required, but it couldn't have been easier. We were in and out all three days of our stay but the valet staff made it so easy. I highly recommend this hotel for a unique experience and personalized stay in Philadelphia!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyOSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
AudreyOSU,

Happy 1st wedding anniversary! We're so happy to be a part of your special celebrations. I'd also like to thank you for the heads up on your room preferences, as we try hard to meet all of our guest requests to make sure everyone feels home away from home.

Come back soon,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
217 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is a great all around hotel...from comfort, to decor, to location. The elevators are quick and so are the stairs. The single bed room was very comfortable with a good amount of space, with the bed on one end of the room and a couch with two coffee tables at the other end. The bathroom was very nice and large with a separate jetted tub and shower, and plenty of room to store all your bathroom stuff around and under the sink. The air conditioner was amazing. Finally an air conditioner that actually kept the room cool, which doesn't happen very often at most hotels. The TV was great and the desk was good for work. The hotel gym was also very good. The only thing missing was a leg station. The hotel is in a great location making it an easy and short walk to lots of shopping, food, and bars.
Definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for all the amazing feedback on our property. It's always nice to hear when things are working well for our guests as that's most important to us. Look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to the City of Brotherly Love.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and we can't wait to go back!! Everyone was friendly and very helpful. They even emptied out the fridge and installed a microwave for our 7 month olds formula and food. We stayed in the king spa room and it was a good size and the bathroom with spa tub was well worth it. Loved wine hour at the lobby!! They had refreshing flavored water which was just what we needed after our long tourist walks. Will definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lou Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Lou Ann C,

Thanks so much for choosing Hotel Palomar during your recent visit to Philadelphia. We love when families come and stay with us. So glad to hear we were able to accommodate your requests, making your family feel comfortable in the room.

All the best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,528 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing