We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Experience in Philly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed at the Palomar while attending a convention in Philadelphia. The hotel was conveniently located so I walked where I needed to go for the two days I was in town. The room was clean with a great view of the city below. The Palomar has a lovely 1920's ambiance. The decor is attractive and the staff friendly and helpful. I especially appreciated the small restaurant off the lobby. Not only was the food very good, my server (Tasha) was kind and quite attentive to my needs. Special bonus not to be missed: The air-popped popcorn drizzled with the chef's special oil. Fantastic!. I'll definitely be staying at the Palomar next time I'm in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear S B,

So delighted to hear that you enjoyed not only the hotel but the restaurant as well, I will be sure to pass along your kind remarks to Tasha! Our truffle oil popcorn is a special treat that you can look forward to during each stay at the Palomar, as well as the service and ambience. Thanks for the awesome feedback. Until next time!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 2,592 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

Wow this place ticks all the boxes!! Our room was incredible, the staff were friendly and so helpful! I would definitely stay here again!! Nothing was too much hassle and they even have a list of toiletries they provide for free if you've forgotten something! Why doesn't every hotel do this? Wine hour was amazing as well as the much needed hot chocolate in reception! All of which are free!! You'd be silly to stay anywhere else in Philly!!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank El M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear El M,

Thank you for the 5-star review! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and awesome wine hour and Forget-It-We-Got-It programs. So honored to be your hotel of choice in Philadelphia! Kimpton hotels are the place to be! Until next time!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I love staying at Kimpton Hotels (and Palomars in particular), and have stayed at their properties in San Diego and San Francisco as well.

The hotel is modern and well-located. Beds were comfortable and there were tons of electrical outlets. They are very pet friendly, with no extra fees or deposits. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear rsp1,

Thanks for the great review and your loyalty to awesome Kimpton hotels across the country! I hope you are a Kimpton Karma member so you can earn credit for your stays and get even more out of the Kimpton experience. Until next time!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This week, work has me in Philadelphia. Given my dislike of city driving and cross state adventures, I opted to fly to Philly and take a cab to the hotel. I was several hours early, but the staff allowed me to check in, and I was able to get the King room that I reserved. They did tell me I could wait for a room on a higher floor, but I wanted to get presentable after an early morning flight where I may or may not have drooled on myself while napping as the plane sat on the tarmac. My room is not big, but there are so many creature comforts...a cute couch, the big bed, with lots of pillows...a yoga mat, two animal print robes which...I think....are a cross between funny, kinky, and eccentric. My only complaint is that I can't find the thermostat so that I can make this room a bit cooler. There is free coffee, tea, or iced coffee in the morning, and there is a wine reception every evening from 5-6pm (Note to self: get up early and run so you can have the wine when the job is over!) I am in walking distance from lots of interesting restaurants....and I visited Insomnia Cookies for dessert...try the s'mores cookie, it is amazing. Definitely treat yourself to a stay here, think you'll really enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyhoundGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear GreyhoundGirlie,

I am so thrilled to hear that staying with us was a treat for you while in town for work! So sorry you couldn’t find the thermostat but for next time our staff is available 24/7 for any questions or requests that you have. If you are in town again for business or pleasure I hope you join us for another great Kimpton experience!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Hotel Palomar has it all: luxury, service, and location. Being right in the middle of center city, the Palomar already has a leg up on the competition. The hosted wine hour was lovely and the valet and bell hops were extremely friendly. The rest of the hotel staff was also very kind, making sure we felt at home and if we needed anything to let them know.

The room was brilliant. (I stayed in a King Deluxe). There was plenty of room to roam around, multiple windows and natural lighting, a great work desk, and a shower that is the size of some other hotels' entire bathrooms.

I could not have asked for a better experience and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whaleykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear whaleykins,

Wow! We aim to please and clearly hit the mark with your recent visit. Thank you for the amazing feedback about our services and our team, I will make sure to pass it along. We can’t wait to see you again and make your next stay as delightful as the last.

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Booked last min for our anniversay, and had a great time. A+ staff, was outstanding and went above and beyond. Titus was a great checking us in and will certainly be coming back if we have the chance!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear EricP,

Thanks for choosing to spend your anniversary with us! Titus is one of the best and we are so happy to have him! I am so delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were kind enough to share your feedback. Until next time!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

In my first stay at a Kimpton hotel, I spent 5 nights at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia. It is conveniently located close to the Rittenhouse Square and within walking distance to tons of restaurants, the museums and the convention center. The check-in process was smooth. Although I arrived 6 hours before check-in time, I was given my room. My room was a corner unit on the 21st floor. Tons of natural light and very quiet. The view facing south east was nice. The room is stylishly decorated albeit on the small side. For one person, it was perfectly fine. For a couple, it would be slightly tight. The bed is very comfortable. The attached restaurant is a great place to for breakfast or drink. Every staff member seems friendly and helpful. Overall, I would definitely stay here again. A great hotel to stay in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a corner unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Tacz,

Great to hear that we were able to get you into your room so early! Thank you for sharing such great feedback about your stay. I'm thrilled that you had such a great week. We hope to see you again next time you're in town.

Cheers!
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,326 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,393 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $188 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing