We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See The Liberty Bell but by all means stay at Hotel Palomar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“See The Liberty Bell but by all means stay at Hotel Palomar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was going to spend a few days in Philadelphia visiting a friend and checked with Trip Advisor and liked the sound and reviews of The Palomar in Center City Philly. Booked 3 nights and liked it so much stayed an extra night. A Kimpton property, I joined their loyalty program and enjoyed several benefits as a member including free WiFi. I stayed in their Spa room and loved the spaciousness and sunken tub. The staff at Palomar could not have been friendlier; form the Door Man, Ahmad, to the folks on The Front Desk all made me feel completely at home. The restaurant attached to the lobby was terrific, decor very groovy, all and all, a splendid experience. I am due back in Philly in a few weeks and no guesswork about where I will stay.

Room Tip: Stay in The Spa rooms, street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Marcmarc,

So glad to hear that TripAdvisor swayed you our way. Thanks for following up with such an awesome review. Looking forward to welcoming you back next time.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,737
    552
    140
    37
    22
See reviews for
463
1,011
129
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

From registration thru checkout a thoroughly satisfying experience. Restaurant was also fine, although we only had breakfast and bar fare there. Service throughout was pleasant and most accommodating. Parking was pricey (but then we hail from downeast Maine, where parking is mostly free), but in-out use of the car was supported, and valet service was prompt and without problems.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johna21w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear jhna21w,

Thanks for sharing an excellent review! Great to see you enjoyed your time with us. Come back soon!

Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I had a great experience at the Hotel Palomar in Philadelphia. The room was great - comfortable and super clean. The service was excellent. (The gentleman at the front desk remembered my name and that he had spoken to me the day before!) Loved the daily wine hour, morning coffee and the 24 hour workout room. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraCaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
DebraCaren,

So pleased to read you found your stay comfortable and clean. Thanks for your recommendation.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a leisure/business trip. The room was very nice and modern with a beautiful view of the city. All of the employees are very warm and welcoming, and they really do want to make sure you have everything you need. There is a great set-up in the morning of coffee and tea as well as a wine reception in the evening. Both are really a great added value and make you feel at home. We would definitely stay at other Kimpton properties. Wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We were in a queen room with a city view. Beautiful view from three windows all around you!
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is very environmentally-friendly. It's LEED Gold certified, and you are provided with recycling bins in your room, which is a nice touch.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandalin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Amadawilbur1,

There are so many hotels in the city to chose from, thanks for selecting us! We appreciate your review and business and can' wait to have you back!

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Absolutely floored by how wonderful the staff and hotel were this weekend. From the moment we arrived I couldn't stop smiling! Nicki at the front desk was amazing, she took the time to direct us to some sights in the area while waiting for our room to be ready. When we mentioned we had just gotten engaged, she expressed the most sincere and warm congratulations and greeted us with her lovely smile every time we saw her. From sending a fax to directions to granting us a late check out, she took care of us at every moment.

I booked a king spa room as a treat during our weekend trip, and I was blown away.
There is really nothing like sitting in a giant bathtub looking out over the city! We ordered a bottle of wine and it arrived along with champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and a sweet note from Nicki. I cried a little!

We enjoyed room service for dinner. My fiance had the burger with a quail egg and sweet potato fries, which was flavorful and delicious. I had the mushroom sandwich which was light and yummy! We also ordered breakfast (crab benedict) which was a decadent treat in the morning.

Also let's talk about the complimentary wine hour! Don't skip the truffle popcorn. And finally, my fiance and I love dogs so much it's kind of a problem. This being a pet-friendly hotel, we had the chance to interact with some amazing specimens.

Thank you Palomar! We will be back!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for the King Spa room. It was so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Wigglytooth,

Congrats on your engagement! Nikki is stellar! I'll be sure to share your feedback with her. I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we'll see you for your next special occasion!

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We visited the Palomar on a weekend getaway. It was perfect - from the early (early!) check-in to the wine hour to the room itself - well appointed and quiet, with a view. Appreciate all this because we had booked at a discounted rate (offered by Kimpton rewards program). Staff was extra friendly and each person we dealt with (from doormen to front desk staff) went out of his or her way to make our stay a great one. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycresident2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
NYCresident2010,

Thanks for such a wonderful review! We appreciate your business and loyalty to Kimpton Hotels. Come back soon for another weekend jaunt!

Cheers,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We got to stay in this property with a discount coupon which made it very reasonable, especially considering that valet parking, normally $35-$45 in central Philly, was free. Everyone on the staff, from check-in to the guys who assist you with your bags and vehicle (& have to brave the cold weather standing outside) had a ready smile, a warm greeting and were quick & eager to assist patrons with their requests or requirements. The room was well-kept & clean with new or nearly new furnishings. Coffee and hot chocolate as well as wine in the evening were provided gratis as well. The location is superb as it is in central Philly affording easy access to all the famous sites. You won't be disappointed by staying here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are a smaller than the other rooms, although the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwh6776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dwh6776,

We do have a number of great promotions out there right now, great to see you were able to take advantage! Thank you for the great feedback and review.

See you next time,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,177 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing