We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in downtown Philadelphia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel in downtown Philadelphia”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great location very near Rittenhouse Square. Walking distance to Philadelphia Museum of Art and the Independence Hall/Liberty Bell/Constitution Museum area. Tons of great restaurants, bars, shopping and sites nearby. Walking distance from SEPTA train (can take from airport).

Very nice hotel with great staff. Hot chocolate in mornings and afternoon. Wine tasting each night at 5pm. Very comfortable beds and rooms. Plenty of room and storage.

Make sure to join Kimpton InTouch to get free wifi.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear KarlSF,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Thrilled to hear you enjoyed all the neighborhood has to offer. We appreciate your recommendation and can't wait to have you back!

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,783
    570
    144
    40
    22
See reviews for
477
1,038
132
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here in January for 2 nights over MLK weekend and I didn't want to leave.
What a wonderful hotel and even more fabulous staff. The lobby was beautiful with a roaring fire and complimentary hot chocolate.
Each night they did a wine social in the same lobby at 5 pm and we'd hurry back from our sightseeing not to miss it. There was white and red wine plus a hot chocolate (cider the other evening) made with their infused bourbon. So fun.
Our room was beautiful. We didn't have a view at all (faced another building) but the room was lovely and the bed comfy. Great bathroom and robes, shampoos etc.
What makes this hotel stand out is the staff. EVERYONE was so accommodating and friendly. On the second day hubby went down to get his complimentary coffee from the lobby but on a weekday it had already ended. The staff says no problem well send a coffee machine to your room.
A while later we got a call apologizing that all the coffee makers were out so they sent us a free pot of coffee from the restaurant. So very sweet!!!
Location of this hotel is perfect for getting all around center city, rittenhouse and old town. Restaurants and bars are all close by.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a view but it was super peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Britgirl_dallas_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Britgirl_dallas_72,

I'm thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your weekend with us. It's certainly been chilly out lately, hopefully the hot coco and the cider kept you warm! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
989 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Kimpton always delivers value for your dollar. They are professional and helpful. I missed wine hour one night and they gave me a card for a free drink in the bar. This room was quite comfortable an even though in an older building was quite quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
tfizzle,

It is always a pleasure to have you! Thanks for your continued loyalty. We look forward to seeing you for many future glasses of wine!

Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Terrific location, comfortable, warm and inviting staff. Dog friendly. No pool though.

Staff friendly and good restaurant recommendations in the area. Visit the Franklin Institute if you have time. Short cab ride away.

Green Features: The usual.... leave fresh towels on racks, used towels on the floor.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Marcia G,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Glad to see you enjoyed your time with us and ate well! Hopefully we'll see you for another family getaway soon.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Spent a weekend with friends to enjoy pre-Christmas festivities in Philly. Greeted in the lobby by Santa and happy dogs getting their pictures taken. Hotel is fantastic and enjoyed everything about it. This was a fun place to hang out this time of year. Only gripe was noise from street. Screaming maniacs outside at 2:00 am when bars let out. We were on high floor but still heard the noise.

Room Tip: Room in back of hotel might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zingland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Zingland,

Sounds like you hit us up during Santa Paws! It's an event that happens every year before Christmas when the pets of our guests and neighbors have a photo op with Santa. So sorry about the late night street noise but pleased to see you enjoyed your time overall.

Kind Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here with a few girlfriends fro a bridal party celebration. Everyone loved the boutique feel of the hotel - very clean, warm, and welcoming. I travel on business a few times a year and will definitely look for other Kimpton Hotels to stay at. if they are like this one, it will make business travelling a bit more pleasurable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMDani_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
DMDani_123,

Thanks for celebrating with us! Don't forget to sign up for Kimpton In Touch before your next stay so you can take advantage of the great benefits during your business travel. We appreciate your loyalty!

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the first few days of January for a conference. In every single interaction we had with anyone of the staff, they were incredibly nice and helpful. They also provided very personal service in that they recognized us and remembered things we told them. And when I got stuck for more days than I had planned due to the whole polar vortex flight cancellation mess, they were very accommodating and helpful when I had stay longer than I had originally planned. I want to thank all of the staff at Hotel Palomar for making our stay as enjoyable as possible (we were there for work and free time was not part of our schedule…)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xprncd_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
xprncd_trvlr,

This whole winter feels like a polar vortex! We're happy to read you felt comfortable in our home during what could have been a stressful time. Hopefully we'll see you for some free time fun in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,276 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,140 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,307 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing