We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved our stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were attending a wedding at the nearby Westin hotel but decided after reading reviews to stay at the Hotel Palomar and were really glad we did. It's a great location (although still a block away from the Westin) near Rittenhouse Square. Lots of shopping, restaurants, cafes in the area and the city from here is very accessible with the streets easy to navigate and the SEPTA station close by as well.

This is a boutique hotel and we found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. We had an earlier flight into Philadelphia and our rooms were not available, but the front desk staff had suggestions on where we could have lunch, they stored our luggage for us, gave us a map and took down our phone number to call when the room was available.

The hotel offers complimentary coffee in the morning before 10am and a complimentary wine hour from 5-6pm in the lobby. They just ask that you show your room card. We thought it would be just a little taster, but they poured very full glasses and didn't discriminate if you came back for a second or third!

We found the rooms to be comfortable (we had a room with 2 queen size beds) and the beds as well. Not a big deal but there are no locks on the bathroom doors, they just slide out. Also found they had a good amount of electrical outlets in the room which I never usually think about being a pro until I am in a room that doesn't have enough! We were on the 5th floor and didn't have a problem with noise. I am a deep sleeper and some said you can hear some noise from the other rooms but I didn't experience this.

Wireless internet is available in your guestrooms, provided you sign up for their loyalty membership (you can do this on the spot in your room if not ahead of time) and this also gives you a one per stay credit of $10 for the mini bar (just make sure you link your loyalty number to your room stay. Unfortunately they mistakenly charged us for our mini bar item even though we had called down to see if this applied, they put our loyalty number on our account, they sent us the raid the bar card and upon check out I let the agent know about the item, he reconfirmed and he took the card from me. Not a huge deal, but a bit frustrating that after all that I found the charge on my card and had to contact the hotel for the refund. It was a minor purchase but still, unnecessary to have to follow up after the fact.

They also have a small business centre where you can check into your flight and print off your boarding passes free of charge. For anything else like surfing, printing, checking email, you will have to pay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemonie604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
lemonie604,

We are thrilled you found your stay to be comfortable. Thank you for sharing such a great, detailed review. Come back and see us soon!

Happy Holidays,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,718
    550
    140
    36
    21
See reviews for
455
1,003
129
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

If this boutique hotel in Rittenhouse Square were less expensive, I would have given the hotel 5 stars. The hotel is fun, full of artwork, a top rated restaurant, and nice modern rooms with plugs on the night table for iPhones, iPads, etc. There is FREE coffee in the lobby in the mornings, FREE wine in the afternoon, and FREE bikes available all day. Before you stay, make sure to sign up for Kimpton's IN TOUCH program (also FREE), which guarantees you a $10 "raid the mini-bar" coupon, a NY Times at your front door (my choice of newspaper), free wifi in the room, and free rooms if you stay at Kimpton Hotels 7 times per year or 20 nights per year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susang4835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Susang4835,

Thanks for letting us be your home in Philadelphia. The Kimpton InTouch program does provide a number of benefits, thanks for sharing. Look out for member only price deals in your email!

Best,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is the most welcoming hotel I've ever stayed at. The staff are relaxed, yet courteous and professional. Gay-friendly, pet-friendly.... just all-round friendly. The rooms are lovely and clean, and the lobby comes alive during the complimentary 5pm wine hour. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Visit0r2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Visit0r2013,

You are welcome back into our home anytime!! Thanks for the review. See you again soon.

Best,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Palomar for several nights while in Philadelphia for a conference. In every respect, our stay was enjoyable. The staff were without exception friendly, helpful and professional. Our room was clean and well kept and had everything we needed - very comfortable bed, great wireless, nice bathroom. We found the hotel to be very quiet at night, and had excellent sleeps while there. My only other wish would have been for a window that opens - the room did get a little stuffy at times (easily fixed by turning up the a/c briefly). We appreciated some of the extras - the 'raid the mini bar' perk offered to loyalty program members, as well as the loaner bikes. In addition, I had occasion to contact the hotel with a rate-related question when booking, and received a very prompt, helpful and courteous reply from the manager. We had a really positive experience here and would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank seaward14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Seaward14,

Excellent to hear!! We appreciate you reviewing your experience and look foward to servicing many more visits!

Happy Holidays,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed one night, and was thoroughly impressed by the Palomar. Friendly staff who seem to enjoy their jobs, rooms were clean and modern with lots of Kimpton touches, hotel is well located and convenient. Only downsides I could find: sometimes a wait for an elevator, and the water-saver shower heads give more of a mist than adequate water to really get clean, but that's common to all hotels who use these. Bed was comfortable, hotel was quiet but vibrant lobby and bar, would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear GJ63,

Thanks for the feedback. We're pleaesd to see you enjoyed your visit. Come back and see us soon.

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
233 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Palomar almost weekly for over a week. The hotel is in a great location that is central to many, many restaurants and downtown business locations. The staff was always exremely professional and friendly and went out of their way to make everyone feel wlecome.
The rooms are not the cookie cutter run of the mill chain hotel style rooms. They smell nice, have very comfortable beds, a nice desk / work area, free internet, great bathroom amenities including bath robes for use.
there is a great hotel manager reception for an hour nightly with free wine and in the winter Hot Toddies in addition to the wine.
Hands down the best hotel in Center City Philadelphia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twosassyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
twosassyk,

What great feedback!! Thanks for the review and staying with us. Can't wait to see you next time.

Regards,

Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I checked in and specifically asked for a quiet room, having just slept under a nightclub in New York. Even told the story, but did the desk clerk mention that my room was right outside the elevator? No. And there was nothing they could do about it because they were full, but it would have been useful to have told me that when I checked in. Rooms were fine, if a little tight. The desk chair backs right up into the bed. The bar was great, and the location is ideal. Also, a super cool thing which I did not take advantage of was their bike program. The Kimpton Hotels have a new loaner bike program, which is just neat.

Green Features: This is an area that Kimpton excels at. Down to the finishings, the environment is considered...
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noodlejudah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Noodlejudah,

We are not shooting for fine and are saddened to read that you were underwhelmed with your visit. Please reach out to me directly next time you find yourself in Philadelphia!

Happy Holidays,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing