We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel. Great Location. Love the happy hour!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for $5
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel. Great Location. Love the happy hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Palomar with my husband and 2 boys. It is a boutique hotel - nicely decorated, but a bit of an odd layout. For instance, there is no restroom on the lobby level. You have to take the elevator up one floor.

We stayed in a 1 BR suite which was very nice, but a bit cramped for the 4 of us. The bathroom was quite nice and roomy.

The location is stellar. A short cab ride or walk to all the sites we wanted to see. Loved Philly - a great town - very easy to navigate.

They have a happy hour featuring complimentary wine, sangria and their delicious truffle popcorn. Definitely a nice touch!

All in all a great experience and a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PickyNYer246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear PickyNYer246,

We appreciate you selecting us as your home away from home during your time in Philadelphia! Apologies if you felt the layout to be odd, we kept the bathrooms up one level to ensure they are only for guests of the Hotel and Restaurant! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, so pleased to see you enjoyed it!

Come visit again soon,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,607
    501
    124
    32
    19
See reviews for
413
925
120
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have enjoyed the Palomar in Philadelphia on several occasions; this visit was particularly memorable. The gracious treatment from the staff, the outstanding room and amenities and a location we enjoy is hard to beat. Located in the Rittenhouse Square area makes this a perfect area for walking, shopping, visiting a wide range of restaurants and touring The Barnes (don't forget to buy tickets in advance). All of this plus spectacular September weather made this a lovely visit. Special thanks to Lindsay Black for her role in making this return visit one we truly enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrichon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear mrichon1,

Thanks for continuing to return to the Palomar Philadelphia! I'm so pleased to read that Lindsay and the staff were able to make this visit so special for you! Can't wait to have you back for yet another wonderful weekend!

Best,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel wins the award for one of the best smelling hotels for starters. In addition to a great smell, the hotel is in a great central location with restaurants and shopping just steps away. They have cribs for babies and pet-free floors. They had complimentary wine available the evening we arrived. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The elevators are fast except at check-out time when you may have to see several full elevators stop at your floor before there's one with enough space to accept you. The other down side is that it can take quite some time to get your car from valet parking.

The king room is adequate in terms of space with a nicely decorated space, and as noted before, smells fabulous. The bathroom also has nice décor, though a little cozier for those who like a lot of space. The bathrooms are a little noisy in that I could hear when I think the person above us turned on their shower.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay.

PS-We were talked into signing up for the rewards program where you immediately get a gift card-like benefit for the room minibar or drinks in the restaurant lounge. We experienced quite a hassle trying to use it.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Hotelgeographer,

I'm so pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us! Our scent was designed specifically for Kimpton Hotels and can be found in all the properties in our brand. So sorry about the valet and elevator wait time during check-out. Glad to see that it didn't detract too much from an otherwise wonderful stay!

See you next time,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great location to stay in Philadelphia. Hotel modern, clean and tidy and a very comfortable bed. Added bonus was happy hour in the reception area every night.
A group of us stayed here and our only complaint was that the air conditioning in the Bar was a bit high!
Would definitely stay there again. This was my first experience of a Kimpton Hotel and will definitely be looking to stay at Kimpton hotels in other locations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peefor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Peefor57,

We're so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for taking the time to share these comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palomar Philly and our other Kimpton Hotels. If you haven't already, check out our great loyalty program Kimpton InTouch!

Best,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights in September to visit family. It's a great location - close to shops, restaurants, Barnes and Philadelphia museum is walkable if you are up to it.

Room was a decent size, but not spacious. We got the 'spa room', which has a large jacuzzi tub and shower. The tub was one of the largest tubs I've ever been in, so if your a bath person this is the room to get! The shower was a little disappointing, as the shower head seemed to be a low pressure shower. It being a 'spa room', I expected a large rain shower head with strong water pressure that you would get at a spa. There was a marble step to get into the bath tub, that had a large chip off the marble. Would say that it should be replaced since someone could cut themselves on that marble if they weren't careful.

Could not seem to turn off the fan in the room, even though we turned it off on the temperature controller. The air vent was directly facing the bed, so we had to sleep with cold air blowing at us all night.

The complimentary wine and popcorn with truffle oil from 5-7pm was great! The popcorn was very popular, and seemed to run out quickly as there was only one bowl. It would be nice if they could either have more bowls available or replenish them quickly when there are large number of guests.

In summary, I liked the hotel and the room. It's a good enough place to stay for a few days. The rooms were quiet and clean. The bed was comfortable. Except for a couple of minor problems, I would probably come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emsf29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
emsf29,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I will be sure to pass along your comments regarding the shower and air conditioner to our engineers so they can take a closer look into these areas. Glad you got the chance to explore our great city and found a comfortable place to relax and unwind here at the Palomar.

See you next time,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were scheduled to stay in this hotel for four nights. Our check-in was well handled by a very nice young lady. The room was lovely and quiet. I appreciate a nice hotel...clean, plush carpet, robes, plenty of nice towels and personal use items like shampoo. The gym was clean and more than adequate with headsets for your use. From 5-6 they had free wine (both red and white) in the lobby which was a very nice touch. Unfortunately they lost power and all occupants were moved to other local hotels. Their service through this mess was admirable. Definitely a hotel I would return to!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkovach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear kkovach,

Thank you so much for sharing this review, we appreicate your comments. I'm happy to see the power outage didn't put too much of a damper on your stay in Philadelphia. Come back and see us soon (in the light)!

Kind Regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The most amazing guest service ever encountered. When we arrived the power was out in the hotel and we were told that they didn't know when it would be restored. We chose to wait, all the while be served wine, drinks and snacks. Ended up being moved to hotel Monaco (their sister hotel) since no end to the power outage was seen. The entire stay, with parking, was comped. unheard of in this day and age. The hotel Monaco was just as fabulous with courteous and attentive staff. The rooftop lounge was awesome as well. I will definitely be a repeat customer and will highly recommend this hotel to all of my family and friends. Thank you hotel palomar for making what could have been a horrible situation amazing!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Dawn D,

Thanks for sticking with us through that weekend! We appreciate your patience and thank you for sharing these comments. So sorry to have to relocate your night but we're glad it ended up being a great anniversary getaway for you! Hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#2 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
City Center East
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,389 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#8 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing