We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Really wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

After a few bad hotel experiences on a long business trip, got to really enjoy the Hotel Palomar as an Inner Circle member. Valet was very crowded and busy, especially considering it has a small area in front of the hotel to work in, but service was otherwise superb. The Inner Circle amenities waiting in my room were wonderful, including some of the best cookies I've ever eaten in my life! I wanted to ask where they got the peanut butter cookies from and forgot to do so before I left. Oh well.

I was upgraded to a King spa room, which had an enormous jetted tub that I wanted to take home with me. Bed was a little firm for my tastes, but still comfortable enough that I wasn't complaining. The hotel's only ice machine was located in the fitness center, which made for some weird looks from people running on the treadmill. In all, though, these are minor issues with an otherwise-excellent hotel that I would absolutely go back to in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latrell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi latrell1,

First and foremost, thanks so much for your continued loyalty to Kimpton. Secondly, coming from someone that stays in Hotels 45+ room nights per year, this great review means alot to us. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to welcome you back again!

The cookies - they're from our neighbors, Insomnia Cookies. We also think they're super delicous and love to share them with our favorite guests!

See you soon,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,781
    570
    144
    40
    22
See reviews for
476
1,038
132
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

On my second night here right now. The location's brilliant and the attention to detail in the spacious room in this boutique hotel is excellent. Every evening between 5pm and 6pm, there's a gathering of guests with free wine and popcorn - something the Kimpton Hotels all do, I believe.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Martin F,

Thanks for your recommendation! We're thrilled you're enjoying your stay and our city. Perhaps I'll run into you at wine hour, I'd love to say thanks for your business in person!

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

An excellent hotel located near Rittenhouse Square, in the heart of Center City Philadelphia. It is an easy walk to most tourist sites and convenient to shopping. City Hall is just a few blocks away and the museums on Ben Franklin Blvd. are an easy stroll. If you are brave enough, you can venture forth on one of the hotel's complimentary bicycles. The staff is superb in every way, the rooms are spacious and well appointed. Don't miss the afternoon wine reception! You really can't do much better than this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdh1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Kdh1716,

Thanks for writing such a great review! We're so pleased to read you enjoyed your visit. Glad you got to take such great advantage of the hotel and the city. Come back and see us soon!

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Palomar in July, 2013 along with 80 or so of our close friends, all in town for my daughter's wedding. The staff at this hotel bent over backwards to exceed our expectations at every turn. From the front desk to the valets and doormen, to the restaurant staff and room service folks, to the housekeepers, and especially to Kevin D. who I worked with to secure rooms for such a large group - everyone was accommodating, friendly and way more than helpful. The hotel location is great, right in the middle of the city. There are restaurants everywhere and easy access to many of Philly's best attractions. The rooms were comfortable, the lobby beautifully decorated, and the restaurant food was excellent as well. Their nightly wine reception was an added plus. We loved it here as did all of our guests and will stay here everytime we are in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katalisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Katalisu,

We can't thank you enough for selecting Hotel Palomar for your wedding block. It is our pleasure to host you over such a special occasion. We are pleased to read everything went well across all departments and I personally can't wait to share this feedback with the team. Come back and see us soon.

Send Pics!

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

First time (of many more) I stayed at a Kimpton Hotel.
The hotel is location is incredible. Couple of blocks of Ritthenhouse square and just a short walk from the independence mall and all the historic sites or the Ben Franklin pkwy with all the museums.
The staff is super friendly and helpful, they make you fell welcome, the lobby is cozy and always had cool water or ice tea to get after a hot day outside. The rooms are large and comfortable.
The have bikes available
It is a pet friendly hotel, and because we left our dog at home they quickly send my son a goldfish so he can have a pet while we stay in Philly
Overall a great stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilan-needham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi ilan-needham,

So great to read your first stay with us left such a postive lasting impression. I'm glad your son recieved the goldfish - they certainly help take your mind off the pet at home, at least a little bit. We appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Traveled to Philadelphia for our anniversary and a Black Sabbath concert and decided to stay and see the sights. Very nice room and staff were very friendly. First time staying at a Kimpton hotel and would definitely stay again. Nice area and able to walk to a lot of sights, restaurants and shopping. Would recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbrownYork_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi dbrownYork_PA,

Happy Belated Anniversary! Thanks for staying and recommending us through this review. We hope you had fun at the concert and walking around our great neighborhood. Please come back our way next time you are in town.

Best,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Kimpton never disappoints. We have stayed at their hotels in DC, Boston, San Francisco and now Philly. Everyone was as lovely and gracious as expected. The bed and bathroom were great, even in a standard room. The staff even gave my son a backpack and Captain America mask. I loved being able to walk to so many great places.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_AdamsonPHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear maxbmom,

Thanks so much for coming our way! I'm pleased to see we were able to make your family's stay a special one. The location certainly can't be beat! Hope to see you again soon.

Thank you again,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,274 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,132 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,305 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing