We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip, fun, wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
York, PA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Hip, fun, wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Palomar for two nights in July, 2013. My boyfriend has never been to Philadelphia before, so we were in town to do all the tourist-y things and the location of this hotel was spot-on for all of our endeavors. We arrived around 8:00 on Friday evening for check-in - the front-desk staff was so unbelievably friendly that I wanted to hug her. She gave us a walking map, and then essentially helped us plan all of our travelling (we didn't want to drive anywhere) for the rest of our weekend. She explained SEPTA to us, gave us walking directions for the historical stuff, showed us the easiest way to get to the Phillies stadium, etc. Then to top it off, because we missed the wine reception earlier in the evening and would be missing it the following day too due to the game, she gave us vouchers for free wine in the attached restaurant.

The decor is very cool and trendy. I was particularly delighted with the busts of Ben Franklin in the lobby, whose hats change daily. It was such a fun change from the typical stuffy hotel interior design.

We had a "normal" room and it was plenty big and comfortable enough for our 2-day stay. We were on the 5th floor and heard no street noise, but we were able to hear the TV in the adjoining guest room. So you may want to bring ear plugs if that is a problem.

If you are a Kimpton Rewards member, there is free wi-fi and you get to raid the mini-bar for free (up to $10), which was a very nice perk.

Parking (valet only) is a bit pricey at $42 a night.

The concierge was always helpful with restaurant options. The attached restaurant was pretty good for breakfast, but we enjoyed some of the others that are nearby a bit more.

We will certainly stay again when we return to Philly - any other hotel would have a difficult time competing with the delightful staff. They have certainly earned their stripes as one of the top-rated hotels in Philadelphia on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Kelee79,

We love a good hug around here! I'm happy to read that you had such and enjoyable stay in Philadelphia and at the Palomar. By the sounds of your review, you truely did experience much of what the city has to offer. You know you have a home away from home if there is ever an occasion bringing you back to Philly.

See you again,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,738
    552
    140
    37
    22
See reviews for
464
1,011
129
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Having stayed in the Palomar in DC you tend to compare and debate which one is better.Each has its own merits and minor flaws but the Kempton group run these two hotels to the highest standards.The location in Philly is within easy walking distance of the tourist area,the rooms are smaller but offer the same standard of comfort ,cleanliness and luxury.The wine hour is a bonus with DC's selection getting the points.The breakfast set up is much more pleasant as there is no separation and every one is seated in the same room.If visiting Philadelphia stay in the Palomar.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Con B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Con B,

Thank you for sharing your experience through this review. We appreciate you continuing to try our different properties. Look out for another wine selection beginning August 1, as they change monthly across the brand. Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Palomar last weekend with my two-year-old son for a "boys' getaway." From the moment we checked-in until our departure, I was bowled away by this hotel. A good example began at check-in when my son admired the small fish tank on the desk. The clerk covertly asked me if my son likes goldfish and before we knew it, we had a goldfish in a tank in our room. The hotel is in excellent shape, spotlessly clean, with modern amenities. We stayed in a city view king room and it was reasonably big (cavernous by NYC standards), though the view was partially-obstructed by the Baptist church across the street. The wine hour is a nice touch at Kimpton hotels and does provide an instance of relaxation with strangers. The hotel is perfectly located a block from Walnut Street and close to the trolley and subway lines. We ate well nearby and while we skipped out on the hotel restaurant, it was busy both nights of our stay. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msginthevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Upperwestsidemands,

Sounds like you and your son had an awesome getaway weekend! We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us - I'm sure the goldfish had a blast with you as well! We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Philadelphia and we didn't know where to stay, but have stayed in Kimpton Hotels in the past. Upon arriving, the staff was friendly, warm, and welcoming to help check us in - they even offered a complimentary upgrade because it was our anniversary. The hotel is in a great location and in easy walking distance to shopping, food, and historical sites. They went well beyond the extra mile when they sent us a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries because the manager had overheard that we were staying for our anniversary. Another added bonus is the normal check out time of 12 - you don't feel rushed when you need to check out the next day. Well done Kimpton!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casemann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Casemann11,

Happy Anniversary! I'm so pleased to read our team was able to make it a special one for you. Thank you for staying and for sharing this review. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Best,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
248 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was here one year ago, and stayed again for five full days. I find the hotel always clean, nice, with excellent personnel and great facilities. The room was nice, so the gym, the meeting rooms, the toilet etc... Woundeduk location, you can walk everywhere and reach all important spots in the city. One big issue was the AC, making so much noise it was hard to sleep. I think you should fix this. Not all the elevators were working sometimes, and this made complicated to reach the room in a couple of occasions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Alessandr078,

Thanks for continuing to stay at the Palomar when you travel to Philadelphia. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and in the Rittenhouse neighborhood. Please accept my sincere apologies for the HVAC noise and elevator wait time. I'll forward your comments to our Engineering Team so they can take a deeper look.

Hope to see you next year,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Having just flown from the UK and picked up a hire car I was in at the deep end driving into central Philadelphia, (would you believe it? They drive on the wrong side and turn right through red lights in the US!) it was a challenge and I was glad to arrive and hand over to the very friendly and prompt valet. The hotel is an architectural wonder and the decor is modern, but in keeping with the art deco style. We arrived just in time for the complimentary wine and nibbles and very welcome they were!
The hotel is ideally situated in walking distance of all the main attractions. The desk staff were very helpful and provided us with tourist information. As usual in the US all the staff are friendly helpful and efficient..and most of all; interested in you.The US really knows how to do it. They put the rest of the world to shame.
All in all a good hotel, in a good location...good times!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
EnglishWayfarer,

Driving in center city Philadelphia is certainly a challenge! Thanks for selecting us as your home away from home! I'm pleased to read the employees were able to make you feel comfortable and welcome. If you are ever back in our city, you know you always have a place to stay.

Kind Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in June. The hotel has been newl renovated so everything is still fresh and new. I LOVE the beds, they are sooo fluffy and comfortable. Service is excellent - I forgot a curling iron and they brought a new packaged one to me. Also when we dropped the car off at the valet, we forgot to take my husband's watch. A quick call downstairs and they retrieved it immediately. The staff is gracious and the rooms are beautiful. Location is great, near restaurants. The only hiccup we had was for 1 day we kept hearing loud bass music nearby and thought maybe it was the restaurant downstairs. It played through out the night. The next day I decided to look around and turns out that the music was coming from the gym. Someone had left the music blaring ON the entire time! After I turned it off, it was nice an quiet again. I was surprised none of the other guests complained - we were 1 floor above and at the other end away from the gym. :0 Other than that, it was a fantastic albeit pricey stay. Would stay again if I can afford it :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paperie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Paperie,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience in this review. So sorry to learn the gym music kept you up. That is certainly not a normal level! I am glad to see that you were able to enjoy the rest of your time with us! Come back and see us anytime!

Best,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing