We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Overnight in Philly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overnight in Philly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent the day packing and moving our son from Baltimore to Philadelphia, and we were looking forward to a quiet, restful evening. The Palomar did not disappoint! Valet parking; quick, friendly check-in at the front desk; clean, spacious and well-appointed room with a great view - well, we certainly made the right choice when we chose the Palomar.

Room Tip: ask for the upgraded King
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Michael G,

Moving can be such a hectic experience! I'm pleased to read that we were able to offer a peacefull end to your day. Thanks for making the decision to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,629
    514
    129
    34
    20
See reviews for
429
942
121
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at the Kimpton Palomar on business in Phila on three occasions in June. Loved the location for its access to restaurants and shops in the Rittenhouse Square area. Staff was warm and welcoming. I felt like a regular very quickly and was addressed by name by virtually all staff. Rooms were well equipped and beds extremely comfortable. Breakfast in the restaurant was a highlight each day. Quick friendly service. Afternoon happy hours are a bonus. When I was late arriving for one, I was still treated to a cocktail in the restaurant bar.
Kayla at the front desk is accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Douglas G,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We try our best to get to know all our guest's and to provide a comfortable and welcoming stay. I'm pleased to read our Hotel and Restaurant was able to provide that for you. I'll be sure to share and celebrate your comments with Kayla, I'm sure she will appreciate the shout-out!

See you soon,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and myself were fortunate enough to stay at the Palomar hotel in Philadelphia for our 9th wedding anniversary. The hotel unique and excellent service. This boutique hotel offers that personal touch. We arrived and Naeema Front Desk Service Rep greeted us with a friendly hello. She let us know that there was a little larger room avail however she did let ys know itt was a little closer to the elevator. We took the larger room....and no noise from the elevator. Spacious room....clean
Decorated tastefully and the bed/linens very comfy.
Naeema rocked it with service. She listened when we said we were in Philadelphia to celebrate our anniversary....with the Rolling Stones.( side note awesome concert)
After taking in some of the local sites
We returned to our room to find a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries., with a lovely note from the hotel manager. Naeema made sure the hotel made our day special.
Highly recommend staying at the Palomar....this was our 3rd stay...and we will definitely go back.
And I would also recomend any of the
Other Kimpton hotels....as we had a very similar experience at the Monaco in Portland OR

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CillaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
CillaTrip,

Happy Anniversary! Thanks for staying with us during your special occasion. I'll be sure to share and celebrate your comments with Naeema. We appreciate you continuing to stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longport, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just love staying at all of the Kimpton hotels, and the Palomar in Philadelphia is no exception. The staff, room, and service are just perfect and welcoming. We once spent several days at the Palomar when a hurricane forced is to evacuate our home, and we felt like we were at home. Wherever we travel, if there is a Kimpton in town, that is where we stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Alan N,

Thanks for the great review! Those hurricane evacuations sure were a party here! Thanks for allowing us to be your home away from home during such an uncertain time. Come back and visit anytime!

Kind Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stay here every time we come to Philadelphia. The location can't be beat. The staff are incredibly thoughtful and helpful. And the rooms are a nice size. Fitness center also great always the perfect stay. The pet-friendly aspect makes for an additional plus.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Jeanne H,

Thanks for continuing to be part of the family! Next time you're here check out our new wellness programs like the in room yoga mats and loaner bikes. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you back!

Best,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Wonderful hotel...
It's in Center City - perfect location
Very friendly staff from check-in to check-out!
Restaurant is great too. Friendly service and tasty food!
Happy Hour - free wine and truffle popcorn!!! What's not to love!
Close to subway and museums!
Do NOT miss the Barnes Collection!

Room Tip: Our room was great...great amenities too!
See more room tips
Green Features: Wonderful! Appreciate the efforts of reusing towels and the recycling trash bins.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcoop1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
marcoop1012,

What a wonderful review! Thanks for sharing. It looks like you were able to take advantage of both the Hotel and City while you were here. Square1682, the restaurant adjacent to us, is absolutely delicous, thanks for mentioning.

See you next time,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here one night last week for our 1st Anniversary and it was wonderful! The hotel staff was very friendly and easy to talk to. Check in was nice and quick and we were offered soft pretzels and lemonade at the counter, yum! We stayed in a Deluxe One Bedroom Suite with 1 King Bed and it was beautiful. Very clean room, nice modern decor and amenities. The bathroom.... amazing! The jetted tub is fantastic, didn't want to get out! The shower is equally good and had great water pressure. We also signed up for the loyalty program which is definitely worth doing as you get free WiFi in room and $10 for the mini bar. We also let the staff know we were celebrating and we received champagne and strawberries in room, what an unforgettable touch! Since we booked through the hotel website we also took advantage of a special promotion and got free parking. Overall very happy with everything and will definitely stay here or at their other hotel, Hotel Monaco, every time we are in Philly!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Gregory, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Abby W,

Happy 1rst Anniversary! Glad to see we were able to make it a special one for you and your husband. Thanks for sharing the tip about signing up for Kimpton InTouch. It is a great benefit to our guests and you can beat the complimentary wifi and minibar snacks!

See you soon,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,580 reviews
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#9 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#2 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing