We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Memorable 5 year anniversary!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Memorable 5 year anniversary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were both treated by respectful, courteous employees with friendly smiles throughout the weekend and we were grateful for that. We know that hotels cater to tens of thousands of guests every year. In light of this, we really appreciated the staff's efforts to go and beyond to make our weekend memorable. For example, one of the employees (Christina) sent a bottle of champagne and some chocolate strawberries to our room with a card congratulating us on our anniversary. The wine host (Ann) who staffed the happy hour in the lobby was kind enough to offer us wine - although we had already checked out (in other words, we didn't have a room key to show in order to "cash in" the free wine + truffled popcorn) and we were just waiting for our transportation to arrive. These little touches of customer service really made an impression on us.

The rooms were modern and nicely decorated. Simple with "clean" lines, which I appreciate. We had a corner view on the 22nd floor and we were able to see the City of Brotherly Love in all its glory. The hotel is nicely situated with several restaurants, shops, and bus/metro stops. It is in a very walkable area of Philly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
SWBee,

Happy Anniversary again. You are welcome here to celebrate with us anytime for any special reason. We will be right here waiting to give you great service. See you soon.

All The Best


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,689
    543
    137
    36
    21
See reviews for
449
983
127
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had previously stayed at the Muse Hotel in New York and so specifically looked for a Kimpton hotel in Philadelphia. We weren't disappointed. Our room was upgraded and discounted because of a birthday month special. The staff were exceptionally frendly and accommodating. The room was clean and, although not huge, was large enough for our needs. The bar downstars has a raft of creative cocktails. Kimpton obviously recognizes the importance of a culture of customer service and I will continue to look for their hotels when I travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countrydoc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
countrydoc9,

Thanks for staying with us here in Philly at Hotel Palomar. I am so thrilled that our staff was friendly and outgoing. We really enjoy making our guest feel welcome every day.

I hope that you come back and see us again real soon.

All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Quick stay in April 2013: Cordial, helpful, intelligent front desk staff--that's nothing new for this chain but it makes a big difference. Clean, comfortable bed and room. Checked in late (like 9pm)--nothing troublesome: handed off car and luggage, checked in, bags brought to room--don't even think it all took 5-10 minutes and in that time, we were greeted by 2-3 staff members who were real people, happy to help in efficient and friendly way. Great AM coffee--and they allow dogs! We were in Phila. for funeral; I had mentioned it to reservations person on the telephone--at various times, various front desk staff expressed their sympathy in a sincere way. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Joann B,

We were sad that you were here for a funeral, but we are glad that we made you feel welcome and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us again real soon and we hope that it is for happy occasion.

All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The staff at the hotel was phenomenal, even with little requests like getting me a vase for fresh flowers for my room. Admitted, this is a city hotel and the rooms are smaller, but very well appointed. I loved the plush bathrobes, having a refrigerator and the most comfortable bed and bedding. I loved the artistic rouches in the lobby to the Ben Franklin busts. I did have one issue, and that was related to hot water. I am picky on this point and have seen other hotels resolve. They still need to work this out, and I have had correspondence since I left, including talking to the General Manager via his cell phone on Easter Sunday. Kudo's to them. I like this property better than the Sofitel across the street or the Lowes up on Market. The Le Meridian is a close second, but this location close to Rittenhouse was a new favorite. I highly recommend and would go back again. Kudos to Mr. Bush and his staff.

Room Tip: Use TripAdvisor and my reviews of local restaurants to find awesome dining options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eureka1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Eureka1965,

Thanks so much for giving me the chance to speak with you about your stay. I am so glad that we had the chance to have you as our guests. We look forward to having you back.

All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a King Spa room- definitely loved the jacuzzi! The room was spotless as usual and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. I have never met anyone who did not enjoy a stay at a Kimpton so far. I'm going to make my way to all of them to find out!

Helpful?
Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Alisa C,

We really want to make everyone a loyal Kimpton fan. We actually have a few guests who have stayed at every Kimpton and they keep loving it and coming back. Of course, we want to be your favorite Kimpton. Come back and see us again real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cleveland, OH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Palomar on a last minute Friday night trip to Philly. We had stayed at another Kimpton hotel in NY and were so impressed that we are now looking for them in each city we travel to. The Palomar lived up to the Kimpton expecations! We were greeted at the front desk by Kayla and another girl who was in training. They were just so nice and friendly. I had asked about available upgrades and we were immediately upgraded to a King bed and a City-view room. We had missed the cocktail hour so were given 2 free drink tickets to be used in the lounge, good for any drink on the menu priced at $14 or below. We were recognized as Kimpton In Touch members and given a card to help ourselves to $10 worth of mini bar items.
The room was beautiful and has everything that you need. The lounge was great for drinks and although we didn't have time to dine there the restaurant food smelled delicious. When we went out for the evening we had assistance obtaining a cab and offers for directions and suggestions of placed to go. Check out the next morning was just as seamless with more smiles and friendliness from the front-desk staff, bell staff, and everyone else we encountered. The hotel is beautiful but the service of the Kimpton is what will keep us returning!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea2517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Andrea2517,

Thanks for telling everyone how great the hotel is and how much you enjoyed the service here at Hotel Palomar. You have to check out the awesome food in Square 1682 the next time you are back to visit us. The team will be here ready to take care of you.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
553 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple nights here. Booked a deluxe king and then, when given the chance, took the opportunity to upgrade to a king suite for a lower-than-normal price if one was available. It was, and it was perfect. Huge bathroom, big shower, awesome Jacuzzi tub, very comfortable sitting room with two windows and bedroom with two more windows. Slept like a log both nights. All tastefully decorated. And two free drinks each night, too! Very pleasant desk people. I'd snag that deal in a second if it came again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abecedarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Timothy L,


Sounds like you enjoyed a great couples weekend here in Philly. Our suites are perfect for relaxing and enjoying a great Jacuzzi tub and room to spread out. You are welcome here anytime.

We can't wait to have you back.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,245 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing