We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
247 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Beautifully-decorated hotel. Located centrally in Rittenhouse Square near lots of great shopping and dining. The staff was very courteous without exception. Rooms were smallish but again decorated beautifully. Free WIFI if you're an Kimpton In Touch member (membership is free). Beds are comfortable. Very clean. No in-room coffee but free coffee service set up in hotel lobby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
sjc43,


We’re thrilled that you chose Hotel Palomar Philly and had a great time. Sending happy thoughts right back at you. Please come back and let us take great care of you all over again.

All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,605
    500
    125
    32
    19
See reviews for
413
925
120
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were greeted by a lovely Ariella at the front desk who was charming and extremely helpful in giving us great recommendations. We were able to check in early and our room was perfect, Deep soaking tub was a big hit! Everything about the stay was amazing, including the personalized follow up by the manager Kayla (I thought it was automated so I replied and she responded immediately) Not sure how they do that!! Every time I look for a room in Philly, the Palomar will be at the top of my list....Worth every dollar, including the dollar you spend for two cocktails...oh, and they have wine and popcorn happy hour, FREEEEEEEEEEEE!

Room Tip: Deep soaking tub is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
tom g,


Thanks for your kind remarks about your recent stay with us at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia. Our team really enjoys taking care of our guests. Please come back and visit your friends here at Hotel Palomar Philly real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

In Philadelphia for business, my host booked this hotel for me. The property itself is centrally located, slick, and handsome. The staff was welcoming and helpful. I came in at the conclusion of what appeared to be a wine service in the lobby. A handful of people were sipping wine by the fireplace -- very nice. My disappoinment was the amenities in the room itself.

One bedside light didn't work and one did. The next morning, I learned that the light switch by the door had to be on for the light on the near side of the bed t ok. The far side wasn't dependepent. This is unnecessarily complicated for a weary traveler.

The giant duvet was the only cover on the bed, so you could wake in the night roasting or shivering because you'd thrown it off in your sleep. Sheets and a light blanket would make a big difference.

Finally, the thermostat was a total pill. My choices were heat and a fan that went off and on all night or turning it off and waking to a very cold room. I had both experiences.

A lot of expensive design work and wine tastings do not make a hotel great. Ultimately, it is the quality of sleep. Which I did not get in my two nights here. Perhaps I got a clunker, but my business associate had the same experience. I need a room that delivers a top-notch sleep experience when I am on the road working.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk about the thermostat -- you may want to check it our before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCBookMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
NYCBookMark,

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We take honest comments from our guests and use the comments to help us learn and improve. I have shared your comments with our engineering team and they will focus on the areas you mentioned. We really do want to win you over.

All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUEENS ,NEW YORK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Don't have one bad thing to say about this hotel. The decor is wonderful. The service is exceptional. We loved the wine and popcorn hour is was a great touch to the evening. The location is excellent near everything you need food and shopping.

Would go back with out a doubt. LOVED IT. Great job to the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LINLIN2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
LINLIN2216



We’re thrilled that you chose Hotel Palomar Philly and had a great time. Sending happy thoughts right back at you. Please come back and let us take great care of you all over again.

All The Best!

Wendell B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Not one of the staff ever walked past us or acknowledged us and didn't ask us if we needed something or had any questions.
Carlos went above and beyond, almost literally taking us to the Franklin Institute!!
Nice to see such passion in your staff and pleez look out if the Phillies don't play well.
I'd steer clear of Nina!....

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnieOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Ian1231,

Thanks for your kind remarks about your recent stay with us at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia. Our team really enjoys taking care of our guests. I have shared your comments with Carlos and he was verry happy to be recognized. Please come back and visit your friends here at Hotel Palomar Philly real soon.


All The Best!

Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Was attending a conference at the Philadelphia Convention Center. The thought of thousands of fellow attendees sharing the Marriott at the PCC or another large hotel chain seemed less than ideal. The reviews of the Palomar on Trip Advisor convinced me to try a boutique hotel. Though a 15 minute walk to the PCC, this turned out to be an excellent choice. The staff is outstanding, friendly and outgoing - all making one feel as part of the family. Although I did not partake, there is evening wine and cheese and morning continental breakfast served in the lobby. Excellent bedding and quiet! Note the room choice comment below - the only potential drawback,

Room Tip: Getting a high floor is a definite advantage. I was on the 15th (out of 21) and initially given a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveandmary401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
steveandmary401,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Palomar Philadelphia. I am glad that you felt just like family. Please come back and visit your Palomar Philly family again real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've always stayed across the street, but now that I've been introduce to Kimpton, I only look for Kimpton when I am away. Sure it is a little pricey but that's the price you pay for the quality of service here. I love that this place is small and everyone 'knows your name'. Everyone that I walk by had a genuine smile and a wonderful attitude. You can tell that the staff are happy to be there, Love the library, which is really not a Library but the Asian lady on 25th floor 'who we scared' by accident. (sorry again) explain to us why it was called the library. If you want to know about it, you have to go see it for yourself. We enjoyed our quiet time in the library. Thanks for the tour of the space and showing us the beautiful views from up top. Your guys ROCK!

Room Tip: Spa rooms are great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Sammy M.

Our goal is to offer our Best Service to our guest, Thanks for noticing. I am thrilled that you have become a loyal Kimpton guest. We will always make you feel welcome and provide those little "extras" so that you feel right at home. Looking forward to having you back real soon.

All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#2 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
City Center East
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,375 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#8 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing