We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The" place to stay in Philly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
1 review
“"The" place to stay in Philly!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I booked the Palomar for a weekend to help celebrate my wife's birthday - and boy did I make the right call!

Shortly after getting situated in our room on a Friday night, we were presented with a huge slice of chocolate cake and a bottle of wine. And because we arrived after the wine social, we were remembered with a big bowl of their signature popcorn (which is unbelievably good). Talk about being treated right!

In heading out for dinner we asked about potential restaurants. The staff really knows the area - the restaurants, shops, and the events going on... If you have a question or want a suggestion, ask them - they're definetly in the know.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. We did some shopping on Saturday around Rittenhouse square and headed back to our room to drop-off our bags and get ready to go to dinner. I was surprised to find a brthday card and a 2 large (chocolate and vanilla) cupcakes from a local bakery (Brown Betty). Very thoughtful - and delicious! This hotel does customer service right!

To warrant all this attention, all I did was mention in my reservation that it was a birthday stay for my wife. She was greeted with a "Happy Birthday" when we checked in, and "we hope you enjoyed your birthday" upon checking out. While this might seem small, this kind of attention - just like the hotel itself, is special.

The hotel itself is spotless, modern, and unpretentious. The wine "happy hour" in the lobby is a relaxing mixer that you shouldn't miss. We had a King Spa room that, like others on this site have said, is an upgrade you need to make.

Go ahead and do your research - but customer service, location and price make this hotel where you want to stay in Philly.

Room Tip: Don't skimp - do the King Spa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
EdwardG100,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Palomar Philly for your recent hotel stay. Thanks for letting us help you celebrate your wife's birthday. We really love helping our guest celebrate all occasions, so come on back to Hotel Palomar Philly for your next family celebration. We can't wait to see you again.


All The Best!

Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,765
    567
    143
    39
    22
See reviews for
472
1,030
132
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I travel quite a bit for work and have had the opportunity to stay in a number of fine establishments. The Hotel Palomar in Philadelphia is truly an experience. The facility is in a convenient location and very well maintained. The attached restaurant and bar have excellent food, drink and atmosphere. I have enjoyed the Palomar with large groups and on my own. What truly sets them apart from others is their customer service. I have never met a staff from top to bottom who so sincerely want to make your experience pleasurable. They really go above and beyond.

Room Tip: They have corner suites that just seem more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Bill D,

Thanks for recognizing and commenting on the outstanding service that our team here at Hotel Palomar delivers to you each time that you stay with us. Our team really cares about our guests and we want them to feel like they are among friends while staying with us.


We can't wait to have you back again.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our most recent 2 night stay at the Palomar was great, as it always is when we stay at a Kimpton. Our room was quiet and sunny, too - which made me very happy. Plus - we were switched to a Queen Queen, at the same rate I booked online for a King.

The hot chocolate with all the fixings (in the lobby) was a treat. The friendly staff was a plus - especially the door-opening guys, who let us in from the freezing cold with a smile all weekend. Seriously, the staff couldn't have been sweeter, more professional, or more welcoming.

I tell everyone I know that Kimpton is the only hotel to book rooms in - but they rarely believe me. It's their loss but my gain, because we've never had a bad stay, either in NYC or Philly.

Last spring we came to Philly for the AMA conference. I wanted to stay at the Palomar, but the Sofitel across the street was offering cheaper rates. I called the Palomar and asked if they could match Sofitel's price. Unfortunately, I was told no, even though I'm an Intouch member and a Kimpton groupie. The Sofitel was a disappointment (even though they offer free croissants, fruit, and espresso/cappuchino), in comparison.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
slfWestHartford,


Thanks for your kind comments about Hotel Palomar Philly and Kimpton Hotels in NYC. Our team really enjoys providing those little special touches to make your stay more enjoyable. We truly value your business and your Kimpton In Touch membership. Thanks for being a Kimpton "groupie".

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

All The Best!

Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

From the moment you pull up to curb you are greeted by one of the first of many friendly, helpful staff members. The warm atmosphere of the lobby (fire, refreshments, music) gives you a preview of things to come. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. The decor is very cool. Every room has something special-japanese soaking tub, large walk-in showers and animal print bathrobes.

The hotel is located in the best area of Philly. You can walk to everything!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innitou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
innitou,

Thanks for telling everyone about the hip and happening Hotel Palomar Philly. We want you to feel welcome from the moment that you arrive. We can't wait for you to come back.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very happening place, both the public spaces and the restaurant/bar. The location is excellent, with good access to any part of Philadelphia that might appeal. The rooms are interesting in layout, very comfortably furnished, if sometimes a bit small. Great robes, too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
runhack,

Thanks for your comments about how fun and comfortable your stay was with us here at Hotel Palomar Philly. We can't wait for you to come back and visit us again.


All The Best!

Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I got in on a friday evening to stay through sunday. Couldn't have gone smoother. Front desk was painless, and advised us (me and the gf) that it was restaurant week, and reservations would be tough that night, and recommended a few places. We were given complimentary wine passes bc we just missed the wine hour. We went up to the room. Stylish and elegant. TV was wall mounted, which bests taking up desk space. The bed was a very nice queen with super comfy pillows. Bathroom was pristine. Thermostat was quick, which was great for a warmer room after the shower. Robes were provided, hung in the closet. Nice touch. As always, they provide common things that get left behind (contact solution, hairspray, etc.) with no hassle and great service.
The hotel is new, with artwork in the elevators. There lounge was perfect for a morning newspaper. OH! I can't forget, the BEST hot chocolate, with all the fixins available (marshmallows, choc chips, white choc bits, peppermint, etc). The chocolate is an absolute MUST try. Speaking of chocolate, the gym was very nice. Brand new equipment. The same new ones my gym just got to replace the old ones. It was also very clean and bright.
The first night, we took a look at all the restaurants nearby, and chose Square 1682, which was right downstairs. They took our last minute reservation with no problem. Our server was excellent, and the food and wine were top notch. They even surprised us with a free chocolate cake dessert for our anniversary. I was stuffed by then, but I couldn't complain.

My only complaint: The particular layout of our room made it feel a little small. It became more noticeable when we had three friends over. Our last kimpton room was HUGE, so maybe it's just that point of reference, plus it was a corner room. Either way, other rooms available had more sq. ft.

Room Tip: City views on the higher floors are worth it for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frodomodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Frodomodo,

Thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you and the gf had a great stay with us. Our team really enjoys taking care of our guests and making each stay special. Thanks for sharing how special they made your stay.


Please come back and stay with us again real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Palomar for a "girls weekend". The hotel was great - very cool-looking inside and close to everything we wanted to do outside. The front desk staff was super-accomodating - helping to get us a dinner reservation and to find a bagel shop in the morning. The evening happy hour was a nice touch, I had my first ever hot toddy. Note to those not familiar with Kimpton: become an InTouch member (it's free) and get a $10 credit toward your minibar. Overall, it was a great stay, and I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a higher floor because it is quite a lively neighborhood. We didn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
jbain3,

We are so glad that you and your friend decided to spend a "girl’s weekend” at Hotel Palomar Philly. Thanks for taking to the time to write about us on Trip Advisor and letting everyone know how perfect your stay was with us.

Please come back and hang out with your Hotel Palomar friends again real soon.

All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
788 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,036 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing