We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We love Kimpton hotels and this one is no exception. It is a beautiful hotel with nice rooms. The staff was great and we always love the wine hour. The hotel is in a very central location, close to many restaurants and attractions. We live in the area, but wanted to stay overnight in the city and are glad we chose the Palomar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moonjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
moonjelly,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Palomar Philly for your overnight stay in the city. We are thrilled that you noticed the great service that our team provided for you and decided to write about it on Trip Advisor.

Please come back and stay with us again real soon for a weekend getaway.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,718
    550
    140
    36
    21
See reviews for
455
1,003
129
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
249 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed two nights at this Kimpton property. Atmosphere, decor and overall stay was pleasant. Paid a bit extra for a corner room on the 22nd floor overlooking the city. Probably would not do that again. Clientele is middle class American and I think a lot of Europeans find Kimpton properties to their taste. Room was nicely sized. One problem with bathroom lights on the outside and the door opening right onto the bed. Wifi is free and worked. Nice health club room. A couple of elliptically, running machines, rowing machine and assorted weights. Wine reception at 5-6 pm nightly is a classic Palomar if not Kimpton touch. I hope this chain grows and maintains its level of service. DC, NYC, SF, probably other US cities have them and they are good properties.

Room Tip: Everything comes at a price. The upper floor corner rooms would be worthwhile if staying a few days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mysterioustraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
mysterioustraveling,


Thanks for choosing Hotel Palomar Philly. We are happy that you are a loyal Kimpton guest and choose Kimpton whenever you can. Our goal is to make all of our guest love Kimpton and stay with us when they can.


Please come back and stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Philly.


All The Best!

Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We held a business meeting at the Hotel Palomar in Philly in December 2012. The boutique feel of the hotel really provided for a comfortable setting. The hotel's location was perfect for walking to dinners at many of the high-quality restaurants in the immediate area near the hotel. The hosted wine hour each evening in the lobby was well received and a real benefit for expenses. The staff was fantastic to work with and our employees shared excellent feedback on the quality of the sleeping rooms, meeting space, food, location and the helpfulness of the hotel staff. As the hostess of the meeting, I found my needs were exceeded and quickly addressed. I will absolutely return to this property for future meeting needs or when traveling to Philadelphia with my family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dl_l82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dl_l82,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Palomar for your meeting and hotel stay. We are thrilled that you and your team members had a successful meeting with us and that your hotel stay was great.

We look forward to hosting another meeting for you and your team, and we also look forward to you bringing the family to Hotel Palomar Philly so that they can experience our great service as well.

All The Best!



Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I decided to see the new Barnes Museum in Philly. We found this hotel, centrally located and relatively new and decided to give it a try. It's a Kimpton Hotel with all the hospitality we were used to in other Kimpton properties throughout the US.
The staff was helpful and very hospitable. from five to six there is free wine and Hot Tottie served in the reception area. Free coffee and delicious hot chocolate to wake up to every morning is also a sure thing.
The property has a small well-furnished gym with anything one may want for a workout.
I can't say enough good things about this hotel. We will definitely be back here when we return to Philadelphia.. By the way, the Barnes museum is a world class museum in our back yard. it's a must see. We went back on Sunday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfellmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
mrfellmd,

We are thrilled that you and your husband chose Hotel Palomar Philly for your weekend getaway. The Barnes Museum is a great museum to visit, and we actually have a special package for people coming to see the museum.

Please come back and visit us again real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, very welcoming and attentive. Amazing jacuzzi tub in our spa king room and modern, elegant, clean decor throughout. In the center of Rittenhouse with just about everything in walking distance. Staff hosts great little happy hour with wine and hot cider at 5pm, we had a great time over New Years! We've been to their sister hotel in Boston and loved that one as well. Will never stay elsewhere with our beloved cocker spaniel (and they just dote on the pets!)

Room Tip: king spa room has amazing jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denise r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
denise r,

Thanks for your kind remarks about your stay with us over New Year's. Our team enjoys providing those little extra touches to make your stay more enjoyable. We want to make you a lifetime Kimpton fan.

We can't wait to have you and your beloved cocker spaniel back with us.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are looking for a gorgeous hotel, with wonderful rooms and exceptional service with a staff that is truly committed to going above and beyond to make your stay as amazing as possible - look no further than the Palomar Philadelphia. The touches are delightful - from 5-6pm there is an elegant wine reception in the lobby, and if you need ANYTHING the staff will take care of you! Kayla and Ann gave my friend and I the lowdown of the Philly area and great suggestions for a fun evening out on the town. They were truly the best part of our stay - thank you so much!! We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Lauryn G,

Wow, Thanks for your kind remarks about the hotel and the staff. I have shared your comments with the team especially Ann and Kayla. Thanks for the special recognition for both of those ladies. They really love taking care of our guests.

Please come back and visit your Hotel Palomar Philly friends again real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

All of the recent reviews seem to sum up the feelings of our stay. Great staff, great locations, great facilities and great recognition of our membership of their loyalty scheme. Well done Kimpton! Actually well done Phili, loved our stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Ben22,


Thanks for choosing Hotel Palomar Philly and sharing your comments about your stay with us. Our team is thrilled that we made your stay great.


Please come back and stay with us again real soon.


All The Best!

Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing