We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally - A perfect hotel does exist !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I am going to start my review by saying that I am a harsh critic & a hard one to impress. I have to say - with my stay at the Palomar - I was impressed !!! The facility itself is quite nice & they offer some nice amenities. But what truly makes this hotel stand out. Is there commitment to excellence in service. From the valet, to the doorman, to the front desk. Each staff member that you come in contact with is just exceptional.

The Good: Everything - stay here ! My review would go on forever & Im tired. But just figure its all good. From the flashy rooms, to the boutique lobby, to the great fitness center, the trendy bar, the $4 truffle popcorn that is to die for, to the in room mini bars that have acai gummy bears.

The Great: The Kimpton in touch program. For a small chain, it really is a great program with real perks, real recognition & a true welcome back. I am a member & they made me feel like royalty when I arrived. I got free internet, complimentary voucher for the mini bar, welcome drinks at the hotel bar w/ vouchers & a royal welcome from the front desk staff. I think the big chains have a lot to learn from this smaller, boutique brand. As stated above, what makes this hotel be great. Is the service from the staff. Even when I called to order extra towels. The attendant was so nice. I felt like they had known me for years. They really do go the extra mile to be of service. But at the same time they do it in a casual, friendly kind of way that's just right. I loved it here & I will be back.

The Bad: The area is billed as "Rittenhouse" but not really. It is still a great location.

The Ugly: Parking is ridiculously expensive. Try to avoid using the valet here. Instead, use the lot that is next door. I parked there and it was 50% less then the hotel.

Room Tip: Be careful - many rooms have only one bed. If you need two beds make sure to confirm that with the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamiskyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Miamiskyboy,

Thanks so much for your raving review about our team members and the service that they provided to you during stay with us here at Hotel Palomar Philly.

We really enjoy providing great service and we love it when our guests recognize the great service and share the comments with everyone on Trip Advisor.

Please come back and see us again real soon.

All The Best!

Wendell B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,664 - 1,670 of 2,592 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Booked a two night stay based on the reviews about the wonderful service. I have stayed at Kimpton Hotels and knew what to expect in terms of accomodations. I guess my expectations of service were out of whack based on other reviews on this site. Here was our experience.

Arrived at 3:30 Friday afternoon and there was no curbside available to pull our car up for valet parking - check-in. I jumped out of our car and went up to a man with a hotel looking uniform who was shooting the breeze with a man who didn't look like a hotel employee. I told the hotel employee that we were checking in and he looked surprised and a little confused. Never the less he said just a minute and went into the lobby to ask for assistance and then came back out to provide valet service. I was grabbing the suitcases out of the trunk and did get assistance with one of our suitcases into the lobby but that was it.

Got to the front desk and said I was checking in - gave my name and was asked for idenification and credit card. The young woman looked confused. She consulted with another young woman and it turns out that there was no record of the reservation I had made over the phone with a Kimpton representative. O.K. - I don't blame the fron desk for that - but then I was asked if I had made the reservation in my husband's name and then if I had made it at the wrong hotel - No - No -please just book the room I had asked for - I knew there was avaialabity as I had been on the Web site earlier in the day. So - o.k. but the woman who first asked for i.d. and a credit card was just standing there and the one who seemed to know what she was doing kept getting interrupted by phone calls. So I asked what the deal was about being taken care of and the first woman said that this really wasn't her job - she didn't know how to help us - we would have to wait for her partner. Then her partner got off the phone and the computer was slow. It took at least 25 minutes to check in. I know this was not just a routine check-in - but it didn't appear that staffing was adequate or that staff was adequately trained. I asked for a room on a high floor and was told 10 was the highest. Never got an apology about the mix up - no VIP for the day - no drink vouchers - just a bunch of flustered employees who seemed overwhelmed.

O.K. - got to the room and saw that we looked out on the Sofitel and a roof top parking lot. No view at all - and street noise was an issue. No key to the mini-bar. On Saturday we left the room and turned our door card from "Dreaming" to "Restore" at 9 a.m. Got back at 3 and our room had not yet been made up. My husband just wanted to take a nap at that point - so our room never did get cleaned on Saturday.

A couple of observations: Maybe people equate friendly staff with good service. The staff was definitely trained to be friendly - even perky. But competence is another story. On Saturday and Sunday there was a regular doorman who said good afternoon Madame and there were usually at least three staff members at the door so I think our first encounter with the valet service - was a staffing issue. It also appeared that there was a staffing issue with the housekeeping staff not even getting to our room until late in the afternoon. And - if there had been more experienced staff at the front desk that exepreince may have gone better.

I overheard someone in the line at the front desk for goldfish. The hotel unfortunately was out of goldfish. Maybe some people equate gimmicks - goldfish - the wine reception with good service. I think they are lovely perks - but they don't equate to good service.

The hotel itself is lovely - the attention to desgin and decor details was great. The hotel was well maintained. The lobby was filled with wonderful looking guests - looked like a Tommy Hilfiger ad. We had a nice stay even with the holes in service and the street noise. I just think that people need to understand that it's not 5 star service you will be receiving at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busouki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Busouki,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I have shared your comments with our team and we will use your feedback to help us learn and improve.

We always try to do our best, and I hope that you will let us prove this to you during your next stay.

Please contact me when you are ready to book your next stay with us here at Hotel Palomar Philly.

All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My title pretty much says it all. Hotel Palomar is located right by Rittenhouse Square in Center City Philly, w easy access to pretty much everything. Clearly, they've got the staff onboard, as everyone was enthusiastic, friendly, and helpful. The room was good, the service was good, and the price was good. If you're driving, look for the online rate that includes parking. Plus-they are happy to take dogs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noho_Hamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Noho_Hamp,


We are really proud of our team here at Hotel Palomar. They really enjoy taking great care of our guests. And yes, we love our pets just as much we love their owners. Please come back and visit your friends here at Hotel Palomar real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This was our first Kimpton Hotel experience but it will not be our last!

First, lets talk about the location of this hotel. I dont know if you could be more centrally located in Philadelphia. The hotel is situated in Rittenhouse Square, which is Philly's most well-heeled neighborhood. Shops, restaurants, and even Rittenhouse Square itself are steps away.

Secondly, in regards to this hotel's design and style - it rivals anywhere we've stayed in Miami, NY, or Los Angeles. The lobby is one of those lobbies that you just want to cozy up in with a good book (the roaring fire place helped). The rooms were so chicly appointed it made it hard to leave (literally).

And lastly, the service at this hotel was the true jewel. Literally each and every staff member had a smile on their face and did everything I could to help make us feel at home. At the end of the day, location and style don't matter if the service is bad. However at the Palomar, the staff our proud of the job they do for the beautiful hotel they work in. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Joey C,

We are so glad that you chose Hotel Palomar Philly for your first Kimpton stay. We love to hear guests say “it felt like home" So glad you got that feeling.

We want to be your favorite Kimpton Hotel.

Please come back and see us again real soon.

Happy New Year!


Wendell B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very friendly staff. Rooms are good size and well equipped. Convenient location for museums, shopping, restaurants. Wine reception every night is a great idea. Will return on next visit. Quick service for baggage and valet parking. Breakfast was excellent and very reasonable prices for a hotel. All around excellent experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We planned on staying two nights, but my husband became ill and we only stayed one night. The hotel was gracious and only charged for one night, even though we had booked with a two night special. The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to most center city locations. Staff was friendly and prompt with all services. The building has beautiful architectural details, but modern decor. The lobby has comfortable couches and a fireplace. Our corner room had city views, was compact, but felt roomy since a hallway led into the bed area. There was hot chocolate in the lobby (it was cold outside) and a wine reception which we did not attend. We would stay here again while visiting Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

cindywv,

Thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. I hope that your husband is feeling much better. We wish you great health and good cheer for 2013.

Please come back and visit your friends at Hotel Palomar again very soon.


Wendell B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Oustanding from reservation making to departure. More than welcoming of use and our traveling companion dog. Very pleasent people, very nice accomodations, and outstainding service.

Locaiton near Rittenhouse Sq put us near the restraunts we wanted to be in, and the park for the dog. Shopping all around.

Very quiet room, and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

REGcastle,

Thanks for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. We are elated that you have decided to make us your base here in Philadelphia. We will always want to make you feel welcome and strive to make sure that you enjoy your stay.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,326 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,393 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $188 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing