We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Wait to Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Found a deal on Jetsetter and scored! It's a hip, really cool hotel in the middle of the city and I almost wish we had left the kids at home.

We walked to Logan's Square and Love Park and the Franklin Institute. It was fabulous for the kids! We had dinners at the Cosmopolitan and Max Brenner. The Manhattan Bagel around the corner has wonderful owners!

The staff at the hotel was phenomenal. Angel the Bell Girl is a rockstar, although everyone was so nice. They were even incredible to my very excited kids an engaged them in conversation.

The front desk even gave us a free kids movie rental -of our own choice.

I can't imagine that even the Four Seasons would have been as perfect!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMoney74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear GMoney,

Looks like Angel has done it again. She lives to create those special Kimpton Moments. I will make sure that I let her know that you called out for being a Rock Star.

We can't wait for you to come back. Let us know when you are coming back to see us and our Rock Star staff will be ready to take great care of you and your family. Don't leave the kids, there is plenty for them to see and enjoy in Philly.


Wendell B.
Chief of Rock Star Talent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,910 - 1,916 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was at the Palomar for a meeting also held at the hotel. It is a typical Kimpton Hotel where everything is of high quality and trendy, but much more approachable than a W Hotel. They did the fastest check in of any place I ahve ever seen. I got there just after a large group got in line to check in and was fearing the worst. Instead, they had everyone in a room with good personal service almost immediately.

The meeting rooms were very nicely done as was the catering. We were wanting for nothing which is pretty amazing considering how many hotel conference rooms have problems in getting things done.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Curtis,

Thanks so much for your kind remarks about Hotel Palomar Philly. I am thrilled that you noticed the personal service that our team provided. Our team is committed to making each guest feel right at home.

We are already missing you so come back soon to visit your Philly Palomar family.


Wendell B.
Director of Classic Excellence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed for four nights for a business conference in Philly. The people who work here are exceptionally welcoming, friendly and helpful. Ariela at the front desks was so very kind and attentive. Sean worked at the front door and made such a great first impression. The staff at the restaurant and bar were also wonderful.
I loved the free wine reception every evening and the cannoli each morning!
Although I am not a real fan of Philly, the Palomar provided a very pleasant stay and a great memories.

Stayed: June 2012
Thank DTS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear DTS1,

We're elated that you had a great stay with us. We love to add those surprises such as the cannolis in the morning and our wine hour is a favorite for guests like you.

Our staff genuinely enjoys creating Kimpton moments for our guests during their stay. They get very excited when they are recognized for those special moments. I will make sure that I let Ariella know that she made your day.

Please come back soon to visit Philly and your friends at Hotel Palomar. We want to make you a Fan of Philly.


Wendell B.
Philly Fan Maker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Hotel Palomar Philadelphia. This was our second stay here, this time we came without our dog. If you have a dog, they will love it here! They give you special treats and a bed for your dog. The service at this hotel is excellent, everyone is very friendly, from the moment you walk into the hotel you are made to feel like a special guest. The concierge, Abagail, was wonderful, she recommended a fairly new restaurant, Vernick, which was excellent. The center city location right near Rittenhouse Square is great, we walked everywhere. My husband was doing the Gran Fondo bike ride and they were very nice about keeping his bike locked in the valet room. Thanks to everyone at Hotel Palomar for making our weekend so wonderful. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in Philly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachlsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel with Trip Advisor users around the globe.

Our team gets excited when we hear these great comments like yours from our guests. We all love what we do and we feel proud when it is noticed by our guest.

Please come back and visit your Palomar family real soon. Don't forget the dog this time.


Wendell B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Everything (almost) is recyclable, and the restaurant is amazingly good! I LOVE THE DECOR.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraAnnWordmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you so much for noticing our sustainability efforts at Hotel Palomar and Kimpton. We are very proud of our Eco Efforts and we are committed to do our part.

We are glad that you chose our hotel and had a great stay with us.

Please come back and see us again real soon.

Wendell B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and recently stayed at the Palomar for a weekend getaway. We live just an hour outside of Philadelphia but wanted to taste city life like a resident and chose the Kimpton chain for our stay. We really enjoy the chain for the excellent service and amenities frequently offered. The evening wine events are a great way to meet people from all over the globe and the perks like "raiding the mini-bar" are unique to KImpton hotels. The Palomar was wonderful from our check in to check out. Coffee in the morning, cool drinks throughout the day and a hip restaurant make this location exceptional. Highly recommend it to anyone wanting to explore Philadelphia with comforts a traveler can appreciate.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryZPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear MaryZ,

We love to hear our guests say "it felt like home" in our hotel. We are thrilled that you got that feeling. We always do fun and exciting things to make our guests feel more special. Thank you for choosing Hotel Palomar and Kimpton for your getaways.

We can't wait to have you back and we promise to make you feel right at home the next time you are back in Philly.

Wendell B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Palomar lives up to its reputation as a stylish, botique hotel while maintaing excellent customer service. From the moment you pull up to the curb, each employee warmly attends to you.

As this was an anniversary weekend, we decided to upgrade to the larger one bedroom suite with enormous bathroom and jacuzzi. The quiet room and heavy window shades allow for sleeping late comfortably. For those who enjoy early mornings, the lobby provides great coffee, and the location allows for long walks around the local parks or window shopping on the neighboring streets. Plenty of restaurants are close by if you choose not to eat at the hotel.

The hotel is perfect for weekend escapes, family stays or business trips.

Room Tip: Join the Kimpton Rewards program before booking your trip. There is no cost to join and the small pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jared_Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear Jared,


Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled that you chose the Philadelphia Palomar to spend your anniversary weekend. Happy Anniversary all over again. We love to help our guests celebrate those special days and times in life.

You are right, our hotel is a great place for a weekend getaway so please come and spend another weekend with us real soon. We have some great surprises in store for the summer.

Wendell B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,346 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,485 reviews
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $183 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing