We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Location & Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Location & Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We recently stayed in the Palomar Philadelphia for 1 night. The experience was great from start to finish. We checked in immediately and depsite being well before the check-in time, we were shown straight to our rooms. I had a corner room, which had dual aspect over the city which was nice. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and really clean. The staff were great, from the check-in staff to the doorman to the wait staff at the adjoining restaurant (Square 1862). If I returned to Philadelphia I would definately want to stay at the Palomar! I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Philly area as it is perfectly situated for shopping, dining and sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighHolford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Dear Leighholford,

I am very grateful for the fantastic review you gave us, especially coming from a Trip Advisor Senior Contributor with 30+ reviews!! Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Happy Holidays!

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,738
    552
    140
    37
    22
See reviews for
464
1,011
129
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

My wife planned a birthday getaway for me this weekend in our local city of Philly. We lodged at the Hotel Palomar downtown. Elegant, hip and reasonably priced. Everyone we encountered on the staff was polite and personable. Very clean and well maintained, especially considering that it is a pet friendly hotel. The main reason we are posting, however, is to laud the incredibly fair pricing. Very competitive with Philadelphia's luxury hotels. They provided free in room CA champagne and choc covered strawberries to mark the occasion as well as coupons for free drinks at the adjoining excellent restaurant/bar, Square 1684. We were under the mistaken impression that parking was free. They comped us on that, too. Stellar!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triphounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Triphounds,

Happy belated birthday to you! Very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for so a wonderful review. Hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

The in-hotel restaurant was excellent.
The rooms are bigger than we expected.
The hotel decor and room decor is also excellent.
The hotel customer service was very good as always. Specifically the concierge went above and beyond to assist us, also the restaurant staff was experienced professional and willing to do whatever is necessary.
Hotel parking is alittle expensive than we expected.
We always stay in Kimptons no matter the cost and we always recommend it for those who are traveling with pets

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jermlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Jermlass,

Thank you so much for being a Kimpton Road Warrior and staying with us at the Palomar! Its great to see that you had a pleasant experience with us.

Come back and visit us again soon!

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

My Husband and I stay in Philadelphia frequently and haved stayed in MANY top notch hotels( The Four Seasons, Westin,Ritz-Carlton). The 1st time we stayed at the Palomar Philadelphia we knew it would be the only hotel we would stay at in the future. The rooms are consistantly spotless, and let me tell you, I CHECK EVERYTHING!!!! The staff is amazing and very attentive. I called for extra towels and they arrived at our door within minutes. This past visit we brought our teenagers and needed adjoining rooms the hotel manager assured me it would be taken care of and it was, no problems. The hotel is perfectly located to shopping, dining, sightseeing. The Cleanliness, location and staff will always keep us coming back!!

Room Tip: Any room we have stayed in has been perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Lori D,

Thank you for this wonderful review! I am very happy to hear we are your hotel of choice when traveling to the City of Brotherly Love. I will be sure to personally thank the housekeeping team for consistently providing a spotless room and the entire team for making your visit memorable.

Look forward to seeing you guys again.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed here overnight for a work function and from the moment I arrived until I checked out I was happy with everything. It is a work of art, the entire place. No matter where you look, it's pleasing to the eye. The rooms are nice, the beds, bathroom, etc. The restaurant is delicious with a great atmosphere and even the lobby is perfect to hang out in. Who ever wants to hang out in a hotel lobby? In Philly? This place was just so lovely, I have to sing its praises although it's already well-reviewed here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Gilead,

I am really happy to see you had a great time in the City of Brotherly Love and at Palomar. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and all the praises!

See you soon

Happy Holidays,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I'm a fairly harsh critic but I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The decor was chic, the staff were efficient and helpful, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the location was ideal. Definitely felt like an upscale experience at a reasonable price. I was motivated to join the Kimptom loyalty program after my stay here, as I plan to try other Kimptom hotels more frequently!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear MomWisconsin,

Thank you for staying at the Palomar and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Its fantastic to see your experience was "Perfection"!! Welcome to the Kimpton In Touch family and please let me know if there is anything we can do for you in the future.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

The Hotel Palomar Philadelphia was AMAZING! The Palomar Philadelphia clearly offers a 5 star experience and is full of chic, class, good people, comfort and sophistication. Normally, all these things don't go together. But, the fact of the matter is the Palomar gets it right: chic without pretention, comfort that looks good, and people who care for you during your stay. The king size bed in my room was amazing along with the spa bathroom. The bathroom was incredible with the shower and then spa tub above. The view from the room was amazing. Square 1682 offers an array of fresh, fun and exciting food and the mixologists at the bar made exquisite drinks (see Blair and the tall African American female bartender) - there drinks were divine! The people who worked at the hotel helped me with everything and the general manager, Anna Schneider, is phenomenal. Enjoy your stay! The hotel is located in the heart of center city, close to Rittenhouse square and surrounded by a massive array of good restaurants and places to go out.

Room Tip: Spa bathroom was a luxurious experience -worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrickCityPrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear BrickCityPrep,

Thank you Thank you Thank you! I am very happy to see you had such a wonderful experience on so many levels and that team, specifically in Square, really highlighted your visit with great customer service.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing