We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 30, 2011

My girlfriend and I had a great time at the Palomar Hotel. We spent two nights for Thanksgiving and we were not disappointed. The room was perfectly clean and quite big. It had a nice view (we had a room quite high in the tower) and the leopard bathrobes were a nice and funny touch.
The bathroom was really nice too and spotless.
The hotel staff was extra friendly and really helpful (they got us a list of the restaurants that were open on thanksgiving night - it made our night!)

Two (very small) complaints : the soundproofing is not perfect (we could hear a dog barking on our last morning) and the valet parking is very expensive ($40 a night). There are city parkings all around the hotel so you might want to check that out... However, on Thanksgiving, most are closed!

Overall, a very nice hotel, we will come back!

Room Tip: the higher, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Christophe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2011

Dear Jean-Christophe G,

WOW thank you for such a fantastic review! Happy to see you and your girlfriend had such a great time over the Holiday and found the hotel to be perfectly clean.

Cant wait to welcome you guys back!

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,156 - 2,162 of 2,641 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

I just went to Philly on Black Friday to visit friends from college and help celebrate my girlfriends 29th birthday. We arrived after check in but our room wasn't ready so they extended us with 3 cocktail passes. The staff was all super nice/friendly. The hotel rooms was very clean and fashionable to the eyes. I really loved everything about the hotel. When ever we needed something as far as our car or questions of what was near us the staff was on it. Even after we checked out the hotel still held our luggage while we went out in search for something to eat before we hit the road. All & all i had a very wonderful experince and i hope to stay their again when I go back to Philly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTee2sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyCoulom, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

MsTee2Sweet,

Thanks for the great review! It really doesn't get much better than pure awesomeness. I'm glad to see we were able to host a great birthday weekend for your girlfriends. Hope to see you back for the 30th!

Making Birthdays Special Daily,

Kelly Coulom
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I booked this hotel based on the #1 rating here and was not disappointed. I also booked this based on the modern art & decor that my girlfriend mostly appreciates. The service it great to say the least. All personnel including the valet are super friendly & helpful. Upon arrival the front desk immediately upgraded us to a King city view room from a Queen. She then upgraded us to a Spa room (although this room didn't have the best view or largest windows overlooking the Philly skyline). However, the room had a huge whirpool spa tub that we used the next morning which was phenomenal. We didn't have a chance to have dinner at the attached restaurant but did have breakfast upstairs. The food was great. The location is right next to Rittenhouse Square and really in the heart of the city, so everything is within walking distance including shops, bars & restaurants. The rates were reasonable for a Saturday and the upgraded room was an unexpected bonus. We will return!

Room Tip: We stayed on 9th floor (had a Spa room), but the view was looking South I believe. So, the view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazzahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2011

Dear Mazzahs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a "Top Notch!" review about your stay at the Palomar. The Fuji tubs we have are a big hit and I am glad you and your girlfriend enjoyed it as well.

Hope to see you again soon and we will have to raise the bar and make it a tippidy top notch stay for you!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed only one night here for a quick weekend getaway post thanksgiving and chose it because we could bring our cat along. They provided a litter box AND a new mini-size box of Fresh Step litter upon our arrival - MUCH appreciated and I give it top ratings just for truly being pet friendly to pets other than dogs. We got the King Spa room on a high floor and WOW, that was an experience and next time we return (and we will) we will be asking for the exact same room. The two person jacuzzi still tub had an unbelievable view of the city (while you are in the tub), and the shower is located right next to the tub. Wonderful window ledges to sit on and gaze out at the sunset. Location of hotel cannot be beat - right in the middle of all the shopping and the restaurants. As other reviewers have mentioned, service can be hit or miss. Staff try very hard, but are not polished yet. Front desk staff can be a bit more spirited and make more eye contact. Attempts at wine tasting, apple cider in lobby, and coffee offerings in lobby are great additions, but staff not trained yet on how to keep these things well stocked so that they don't run out on guests frequently. Overall, an excellent experience and we will be returning.

Room Tip: King Spa room on a High floor with city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBoopL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2011

Dear BBoopl,

Thank you for choosing the Palomar for your quick weekend getaway! Happy to see the team provided all the fixings for your kitty cat to feel at home. However, my apologies about the inconsistencies with the service from the staff and will be sure to review your posting with the team to make things better.

I greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This Thanksgiving holiday we spent two days in DC in a hotel rating 80 and received much better service than we did from this number one rated hotel...when we arrived for our four night stay, I almost had a fully involved asthma attack because of the pet room they placed us in. We were moved and the new room was much better. However, we just felt ignored by management and the front desk staff. The housekeepers and bellmen were awesome but the "faces" of the brand really turned me against staying here. I remember standing at the Sofitel being jealous of those staying at the Palomar. Boy was I mislead! Needless to stay next time we visit the number 1 hotel in the city will not even be considered.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gftdone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2011

Dear Gftdone,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about your trip to the Palomar. I would like to apologize that you felt mislead and ignored as that is never our intensions. I am hoping we could speak on the phone, would you be so kind to contact me directly 215-525-9481 at your convenience?

Again my deepest apologies.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Philadelphia. Close to excellent dining and sites.

I love that it has a modern feel without sacrificing warmth and without trying to be hip.

Nightly wine reception is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eldub1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2011

Dear eldub1999,

Thanks for choosing the Palomar and for writing a review. Happy to see that you love the modern feel and it doesn’t sacrifice warmth.

Please come see us again and hopefully we can run into each other at the wine reception!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

get a spa room with a view....room service within a few minutes.....a delightful front desk.......comfortable, super-clean, super bedding.....great lighting......even a leopard terry robe! everything where you wish it always was in a hotel room..including a great location....!

Room Tip: king spa on higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myrna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2011

Dear Myrna k,

Thank you for sharing your tips from your recent stay with us. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to write your review and I am very happy to see you had a "5 stars!" visit.

I hope to see you back at the Palomar sometime soon!

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#10 of 89 in Philadelphia
3,430 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 89 in Philadelphia
5,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 89 in Philadelphia
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $214 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing