We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and prices”

Old City Pizza & Restaurant
Ranked #286 of 4,405 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: City Center East
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and prices”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Visiting Philadelphia and we stayed in the neighborhood. Walked past this place several times, and it smelled great, so we went in for dinner. Fantastic pizza, and there is a huge menu to chose from. The place had an old school vibe, and it is not part of a chain. Great prices, and fast too. The older lady who waited on us, and the young man behind the counter were both really nice, and very friendly. While we ate, we saw lots of people stop in and pick up to-go orders, to use the ATM, and to chat with the people working there. Great place, and I will definitely go back next time I am in town!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank libbee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    54
    18
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Westmont, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We deliver”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

8/31/2013

We found this place while walking around the historic district. We weren't hungry at the time, but did take note that they deliver so that night, tired, barely able to walk, we ordered a pizza to be delivered to the Sheraton.

The pizza was nothing special, but better than others in PA that we had. The pizza was only average with uneven toppings and a 1 1/2" wide crust on the edge of the 14" pizza. The pizza tasted good, was delivered warm, not hot, in a very short time. The price was right. Not great; not bad. Filling.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rft0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were in Philly last week and stumbled upon this restaurant. What an unexpected surprise! We had pizza, stromboli, soup and drinks for 5 (2 adults, 2 teens, and a child) and the total bill came to just over $30. We all agreed that this was probably the best pizza we've ever had. Friendly service too. A real gem of a place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OttawaLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great pizza and sandwhiches”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Home of the MEGA slice. Freakin big slice for on $2.50! The staff are not friendly AT ALL, but the food was good and it was close to where we were staying.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4you2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great pizza!! Great Price!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Me, my wife and son stopped here to eat lunch. We have never been there before. I ordered 2 mega slices of pizza... Not knowing these things are Huge. For $2.50 a slice you can't beat it!! My son got a steak sub. Said it was the best one he has ever had!! My wife had a panini and liked it very much also!! The waitress was friendly and kept our drinks full. We will be going back to this place next time we r in Philly!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Butch9101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old City Pizza & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Old City Pizza & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing