We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best sorbetti on the planet”
Review of Capogiro Gelato

Capogiro Gelato
Ranked #18 of 91 Dessert in Philadelphia
Neighborhood: University City
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: University City
Benicia, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best sorbetti on the planet”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The gelato is great. Really great. But the sorbetto is unbelievable. It is so creamy and rich tasting that it's hard to believe it doesn't have any dairy. One of my friends didn't believe me and had to ask the people who worked there to make sure it has no cream. It is incredibly refreshing on a humid Philadelphia summer day and it tastes like fresh fruit - and it's a low calorie treat. I visit Philadelphia 2 or 3 times a year, and when I'm there, I'm at Capogiro every day, twice a day if I can. I'm very happy they now have multiple locations. If you're a gelato fan, this place is better than any place in NYC or San Francisco (the other 2 cities whose ice cream and gelato scenes I know well). The gelato is always served at the right temperature, the flavors are pure and clean, it's not too sweet, and it has a wonderful mouth feel. Perfection.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank g_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best in the World!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's true! It's so hard to choose a flavor because they're all amazing. We visit every time we're in town!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Best ice cream in town”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Capogiro has the best ice cream in town! A little pricey but definitely worth it. Their coffee is also pretty good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veryawen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good dessert if you can find a place to sit”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Capogiro has terrific gelati and sorbet, flavors changing with the seasons and availability of fruits and herbs and add-ins; but at this location don't count on finding a place to sit and enjoy. People, mostly students, it appears, from nearby colleges, plant themselves and their laptops at tables, sitting long after their gelati are eaten and their coffee cups drained. Staff decline to ask people to share or move along (and wouldn't you think they'd want to turn those tables so new paying guests can sit down?!), and they don't seem very concerned with cleaning used tables, either. Service seems better, and the atmosphere more welcoming, at Capogiro's two locations in Center City.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Decent gelato in trendy location”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

With about one and a half dozen gelato flavors to choose, Capogiro was a nice after dinner dessert location. They also offer a few sandwiches and other beverages.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweagle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capogiro Gelato also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Capogiro Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing