We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice / hip modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Philadelphia
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice / hip modern”
Reviewed October 25, 2010

great place, very cool inside...nice little bar. Everyone was very nice and helpful..brand new place on Arch St. You are a few blocks from the convention center and Reading terminal market...tons of good food there. A short cab ride or a 20 min walk and you are in the historic dist. Rooms were a tad small, but nicley furnished and QUIET. We got a great rate...and would stay again

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spidey1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    426
    162
    53
    47
See reviews for
215
434
79
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Rooms are VERY small for two persons. Lobby is a bar with TV and lots of noise. Business center is 2 computers and a printer. Any traveler over 50 should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deem36273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-PHL, Manager at Le Meridien Philadelphia, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
I am sorry to hear that our hotel was not to your preference. Le Meridien Philadelphia certainly is distinctive and understandably some of our features may not appeal to every traveler. I do appreciate though that you took the opportunity to discover our hotel and developed your prospective by exploring our building. Please consider returning to us in the future to experience our continued evolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at the Le Meridien in Philly this past weekend, after getting a fantastic rate off of Hotwire. For the rate we paid, everything was great. But I expected a bit more from a Le Meridien, especially after having just stayed at one in Panama City that was completely luxurious. We had a preferred guest room and it was pretty tiny. It almost felt like a cubby, and the bathroom was practically the same size as the room. Room service was fine but the order got confused and the server asked for additional tip. Hotel is in a great location, easily walkable to most of center city. Overall, I'd stay again for the rate from Hotwire but not at the usual rates charged by the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wagnerlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper Pike, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Stayed at the Le Meridien Philidelpha for my daughter's parents weekd eat UPenn. It's rated a four star and for the most part it is. The staff was wonderful, with the exceptin of ther being no condierge, which for a 4 star is unaccceptable.
What bothered me was being nichel and dimed to death. Yes the $38 valet parking is amount the higrest in town if not the most expensive. Yes, the (.95m a night internet is high, but most delux peroerty provide it for free these days. BUT The straw the broke the camels back was the $1.50 charge for a local call AND ALL TOLLFREE CALLS. yes 800, 866 and 888 calls. They are free in every other propery I've ever stayed in.
tHE HOTEL IS A AVERAGE 3 1/2 STAR AND A FOUR STAR IN A STREACH.
My last comment is, it is the only hotel I've ever stayed in the when you walk into the front door, you have to walk through the bar to get to the front desk for registration.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markincleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-PHL, Manager at Le Meridien Philadelphia, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
I am sorry to read that you did not have the wonderful stay we aim to provide. I would like to assist by clarifying that we worked hard to ensure our valet parking was priced below other hotels in Center City Philadelphia, most of which are at or above $40 per night. In terms of the cost for internet access we do offer wireless access complimentary in the lobby as well as offering complimentary access in our business center. I do understand that for some of our guests working in the guest room is more convenient, we thus surveyed hotels in Center City and priced our access below competitive hotels to ensure we are offering a cost effective experience for our travelers.

It is always our aim to offer an experience that allows you to focus on discovering Philadelphia and enjoying the pleasures of life. Thus we do staff a concierge and have ensured our staff in general is trained to assist with recommendations, directions and special requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We got a great deal on this hotel via Priceline. We were traveling with our young toddler son and were given a standard room on the top (10th) floor, far from the elevators and tucked away...which was perfect. Very quiet, both for us and the other guests I'm sure! Concierge and bellhops were professional, friendly and efficient. The room was clean and as others have said, minimalist, which worked well for us. The bed itself was a little hard for our tastes, but the linens and puffy pillows were luxurious. The bathroom was large (hint for other parents of little ones...if you bring a pack n play with you, it can easily fit in the bathroom so that your child is not disturbed if they go to bed early) The flat panel tv was great (no DVD player though). Service at the bar was friendly and efficient. We got profiteroles to bring back to the room from the Amuse restaurant and they were delicious.

I'd say the overall amenities were fine, but not as good as say, the Loews. Valet parking is expensive ($38) and I think in an open air lot, so we opted to park in a cheaper garage just down the street. Hotel location was perfect- right in the middle of everything.

Overall, a great stay and we'd be happy to do it again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StPeteGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This hotel was in the center of "it all" We walked to museums, old town, parks, shops and restaurants. We walked quite a distance, but found the city very walkable. Some reviews said the layout was akward. When you first walk into the hotel, there is a bar. It was odd, but we certainly welcomed it at the end of the day. Bar tenders were friendly, and tended to their customers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijustwannahavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Absolutely awesome hotel. The interior decorating is amazing. When you walk into the lobby you'll know you made a good decision booking this hotel. It's definitely got a very hip/boutique hotel vibe to it.

They have soft lounge music playing in the lobbies, and the elevator has some neat sound effects that change depending on the time of day. The downstairs bar is a great place to grab coffee in the morning.

The bathroom is nice and large with a very comfortable shower, I liked the bath products a lot as well. I wish the bathroom had a fan however.

The room has a large full length mirror which is always a plus, and a nice flat screen with tons of channels. The beds are SUPER comfortable and you have a range of pillow choices.

The area immediately outside the hotel is a little shady at night, especially in front of City Hall. Not nearly as bad as North Philly however, and during the day its totally fine. We walked to the Museum of Art from the hotel since it is about a mile away and Philadelphia is a fun city to walk.

Valet Parking is outrageously expensive, $38 a night. My advice is park at the public garage between 15th and 16th streets just 2 blocks north of the hotel. It only cost us $5 a night on weekends. On weeknights its $18 a night. Can't beat that!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bboyneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#23 of 86 in Philadelphia
517 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
953 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Philadelphia

Property: Le Meridien Philadelphia
Address: 1421 Arch St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-1507
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#39 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Meridien Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing