We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, great location for museum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Philadelphia
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location for museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

Absolutely awesome hotel. The interior decorating is amazing. When you walk into the lobby you'll know you made a good decision booking this hotel. It's definitely got a very hip/boutique hotel vibe to it.

They have soft lounge music playing in the lobbies, and the elevator has some neat sound effects that change depending on the time of day. The downstairs bar is a great place to grab coffee in the morning.

The bathroom is nice and large with a very comfortable shower, I liked the bath products a lot as well. I wish the bathroom had a fan however.

The room has a large full length mirror which is always a plus, and a nice flat screen with tons of channels. The beds are SUPER comfortable and you have a range of pillow choices.

The area immediately outside the hotel is a little shady at night, especially in front of City Hall. Not nearly as bad as North Philly however, and during the day its totally fine. We walked to the Museum of Art from the hotel since it is about a mile away and Philadelphia is a fun city to walk.

Valet Parking is outrageously expensive, $38 a night. My advice is park at the public garage between 15th and 16th streets just 2 blocks north of the hotel. It only cost us $5 a night on weekends. On weeknights its $18 a night. Can't beat that!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bboyneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    410
    158
    48
    45
See reviews for
207
416
74
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed there for 3 nights in June and it was great! We got the third night for free because of the promotion at the time and that was great value for the money. Location is also great, we walked to pretty much everything downtown. 1 minute from city hall.

Careful! Valet parking is expensive!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glacasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

I visit Philadelphia often & recently stayed at The Le Meridien & had an amazing experience! The building is really beautiful, the lobby restaurant Amuse & Bar were fantastic, & the entire feel of the hotel is clean, simple & modern. Check-in was efficient & I was granted an early arrival around 10am, which was great *& much appreciated!! My room (#1018) was an SPG floor which was lovely & the bed was incredible! The design again was simple & stream-lined, with a great flat panel TV, nice shower head, soft carpeting & was relatively quiet, facing the interior of the hotel. I ordered room service for lunch, & there was a slight error in my order, but the problem was solved quickly; I had breakfast at the restaurant & the food was very good(the Club Sandwich & Fries from room service is insanely good & the Belgian Waffle was really tasty!), as was the service! The location is good, about a 10 min walk or less to Rittenhouse Sq, etc. I really loved the hotel & will continue to stay here....already booked for this week!:) I would like to mention the following staff members I came in contact with who provided exemplary service: the Bellman were all fantastic & quick to greet, Samantha from the Restaurant called me personally about my slight Room Service issue & was very kind & thoughtful; Caroline R. provided lovely breakfast service & was very sweet; Liljana N. from Room Service was great, & Adam at the Front Desk was very friendly!--- I typically stay at The Sofitel or The Four Seasons in Philly, but Le Meridien was flawless & I felt very comfortable staying here! Congrats to a fantastic start!

Best,
Patrick M. Winkler
NYC

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickwNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

We had several rooms for a girls' weekend. Greeted at the front desk with smiles and superb service. Rooms were *clean* and the beds & pillows very comfortable. Great Italian coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalnomad63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-PHL, Manager at Le Meridien Philadelphia, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
We are so excited that you and your friends had a wonderful weekend. Thank you for mentioning our great coffee; our fine coffee comes from our proud partnership with illy coffee, the fine Italian roasting house that originally brought the ritual of the espresso experience onto the world stage.

Thank you for the positive comments and we hope to see you and others back for all kinds of fun escapes from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Really amazing proactive service. Walked in the door and was immediately greeted and guided to the front desk. Got an upgrade to the SPG floor with a suite. Really like the eclectic blend of old colonial brick architecture and modern but simple furniture. My wording does not do it justice, but I thought it all blended perfectly. Great bar with some great cocktails too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolarSoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-PHL, Manager at Le Meridien Philadelphia, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful review and for mentioning our blend of modern design and historically relevant architecture. Reaching that balance was no easy task as areas of our building are historically preserved and thus required our designers and architects to push the limits of their creativity in order to articulate the experience we would like guests to have. I must say it is a pleasure sharing such a unique and beautiful building each day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
255 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Perfect can't even begin to describe my experience at Le Meridien. This has been my best hotel experience by far! The hotel is new, modern, simple yet elegant, and very clean. The rooms, hallways, and lobby were all beautifully decorated. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to dining and shopping. The valet is $38/day but well worth it because there isn't much parking in the vicinity. The staff were excellent and very helpful. I really, really enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again if ever in the area!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amars662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights during my first-ever visit to Philadelphia and it was a thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying experience. The location could not have been much better for its proximity to the PA Convention Center, where I was attending a conference. The customer service at Le Meridien Philadelphia was top-shelf and by the end of my check-IN process, I already felt like most of the staff knew me by name and aimed to please in all facets of operation (later in the hallway, I was asked twice by housekeeping and operations if I needed anything and if I was enjoying myself). Fine details appoint the hotel bar AMUSE (with a stellar cocktail/beer/wine/AND food menu, as well as lobby touches, such as a hip soundtrack and a coffee bar in the A.M.
If I stay someplace for more than a few hours and the only drawback I could sense was some quirkiness with the how well the elevators were operating, I'd say it was a successful stay and that this hotel is set-up for a long stay in Philadelphia if it continues to provide this level of customer service. That combined with comfortable, clean, modern rooms and a great location make Le Meridien Philadelphia an excellent choice for any traveler for any purpose, and all at a very reasonable and competitive rate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladywithafan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#23 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,700 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Philadelphia

Property: Le Meridien Philadelphia
Address: 1421 Arch St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-1507
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#39 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing