We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you can get a discount”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Philadelphia
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel if you can get a discount”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past month. The first time it was midweek and we were given a beautiful room with a view of city center. The hotel is modern and very nice. It is in a great location. It was a 15 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants in Rittenhouse Square. It is probably a pretty far walk if you are seeing the historic sights in the old city. The second time we stayed there is was a very disorganized check in, they couldn't find my reservation even though I was showing them my email confirmation. It all got worked out but they gave us a room with a view of a brick wall 5 feet away instead of apologizing for check in taking 30 minutes and making sure we had a nice room. All in all I would stay here again if I got a discount. No need to pay more than $225 per night for this hotel

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jesikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    418
    159
    51
    47
See reviews for
211
428
76
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Room was great, staff was professional and friendly...bar in the lobby was a great spot for a pre-dinner drink. In a pretty good spot for walking to dinner, we had a 10 minute walk in the evening, stopped for gelato on the way home. Not sure how it works if you want to self-park your car, but we were in for an anniversary evening so I felt like paying $40 to valet park. Drinks at the bar were extremely reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Messyjesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Philadelphia, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Jesse,

Thank you for the five star review! I am delighted you chose to celebrate your anniversary in our hotel and enjoyed the experience. It's great to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy drinks in our bar.

Sounds like you may have found one of my favorite Philadelphia gelato spots - Capogiro, just a few short blocks from the hotel. It's a great find in our neighborhood and I hope many other travelers have the chance to enjoy the same treat.

I hope we have the chance to serve you again before your next anniversary!

Safe travels,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Le Meridien in downtown Philadelphia. Historic building - was once a YWCA, private school and DA offices. The room was large and roomy for two people. Had a great view of City hall. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and provided concierge services when that desk was not occupied. The location is convenient with public transportation near by. I would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: ask for a city view - our room overlooked City hall and the Masonic temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowngirl619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at Le Meredien Philadelphia for one night for a business trip. At first, everything seemed fine- nice valet guy, nice woman at check-in. But, there were several issues with my room. One of the bath towels had a hole in it; the top sheet on the bed, when folded down, had a large yellow stain; the headboard had yellow stains on it which were skillfully covered by the pillows standing up (who makes a hotel headboard of white fabric??); the marble side tables had numerous rings on them from glasses, like they had not been wiped in weeks. A hotel in this category should not have any of these issues at all. I could pay a quarter of the price and stay at motel 6 if I want holes in the towels. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenY24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owego, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

There are so many better places to stay in Philadelphia, I cannot imagine why anyone would choose this one, particularly at the kind of prices they get. The room was fairly "compact" (read small), the restaurant vastly overpriced (a bowl of ordinary oatmeal is $10; $11 if served in the room) and the food is truly ordinary, to say the least. Parking (valet only) is $40 per night plus 20% tax. The whole experience was a big disappointment except that all the employees were very nice and most helpful. They have that part down pat. The lobby is like an obstacle course getting from the entrance to the elevator. If I couldn't get into one of the hotels I prefer, I would try some other establishment, not this one.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

First...a shout out to Misha at the front desk who made the good things great and fixed the bumps along the way. She is a gem. And Willy at the Bar who served as back up concierge and all around great guy. And John who got us into a restaurant that was sold out which we loved! If I was in town for business......the hotel would absoutely suffice. For our long weekend vacation, we thought it missed the mark. Something about the location across from City Hall was just lacking on a weekend where during the week, it seemed to be a part of the action. Service at the front door was a far cry from the service in the hotel. But most of all...we were dissapointed by the room. This design is what gives modern a bad name. Bland and inexpensive. The armoir door was falling off on our first room. As this is an old YMCA converted to a hotel....the rooms were indeed small and we had to actually ask (and done right away) to bring a chair to our room as there was no where to sit. The design just was not good. Even after a few nights....we continued to get one bottle of water and one bathrobe. (In the am...no turndown service) But we enjoyed our breakfasts and the redo of the building in general including the atrium was well done (and saved a pretty wonderful facade) So Kudos there. And our Starwood perks did give it that special extra which always helps. Also enjoyed the $10 entrance for guests to the gym next door. Just not consistant in my eyes to many hotels in this chain....except for the staff of course!

Room Tip: Opt for a City Hall View.....its pretty amazing at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renztem13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My usual Philadelphia hotels were booked so I stayed at the Meridien. This is not the chain's top hotel. It's fine but not 4 or 5 star. The lobby is very modern, and you have to walk through furniture to get to the elevators. Odd lay out The rooms are decent but nothing special. I arrived late and ordered room service dinner. The food was terrible, and I am not picky. I expect better from a Meridien hotel. The Sofitel in Philadelphia is a step above this hotel. The Westin is on par.

Room Tip: Upgrade before you get there. I am a starwood gold preferred member and no upgrades were available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#22 of 86 in Philadelphia
502 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
935 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,924 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Philadelphia

Property: Le Meridien Philadelphia
Address: 1421 Arch St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-1507
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#39 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Meridien Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing