We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice cute modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Philadelphia
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nice cute modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

located pretty much in the heart of philly, right behind city hall and about a 10-15min walk from independence hall and the liberty bell. redding market is a few blocks away.
nice swanky bar in lobby with cool cocktails.
bed was firm and comfortable.
bathroom water pressure was good.
very friendly and helpful front desk staff.
car valet is $40 (expensive!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sk8ter1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    411
    158
    48
    46
See reviews for
207
417
74
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roosevelt, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Bought a Living Social deal to stay at this hotel for a weekend. Valet service was great ($40 a night, but you can go in and out of the lot as you please). The room was spacious, though the layout was a little awkward and the cable kept going out due to the rain. Besides that, the lady and I really enjoyed our stay here. The complimentary fridge was great and definitely an incentive to stay here again. The front desk staff was very nice and friendly and seemed eager to help out as much as they could. The restaurant in the hotel (AMUSE) was really good; although we only had breakfast, the food was very well prepared and seasoned.

Definitely will think about staying here again! Just be forewarned: Do not touch the items in the minifridge as if they are moved, they will be charged to the room but the front desk staff was nice enough to remove them for me =)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Jonathan,

Thank you for the FIVE star review! I am always pleased when a guest appreciates the juxtaposition of our modern design within the classic architecture. We are delighted our staff provided the great service you deserve and that you enjoyed the location as the central to the many cultural venues Philadelphia has to offer.

We look forward to your return.

Happy Anniversary!
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

For a quick anniversary getaway last year, my wife and I settled on Philadelphia. I got a good rate for this Le Meridien, in the heart of Center City, and we were very pleased with our stay there. I like hotels that are architecturally distinctive, and this one -- a converted YMCA with Georgian Revival design -- nicely blended classic and modern design. We had a nice dinner in the hotel's ultramodern bar/brasserie, Amuse, and the hotel was a perfect jumping-off point to see the Philadelphia Academy of Fine Arts and do a Center City walking tour. The staff were uniformly helpful and pleasant. I'd be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was a very nice hotel in a great location in the middle of downtown Philadelphia. It has a very nice lobby and bar area, and the rooms are spacious and clean. If I was in the area I would stay here again, as I had no issues and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bguth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here as part of our Taylor Swift "RED" weekend in Philadelphia. With our two "swifties" ( age 10&9) in toe, my wife and I were looking to keep it simple. We didn't want a huge sprawling hotel offering every conceivable amenity of lukewarm quality. We wanted something more manageable, well executed in both fit and finish and we found it at Le Meridien. Le Meridien is the definition of a boutique property. Stylish in an urban, transitional way, with both classic architectural detail and European sleek elegance. The staff overall was very helpful and attentive to all our needs.We were upgraded to a family suite ( 1 queen/2 doubles + living area) not sure why but we were very grateful. Beds were VERY comfortable. Varied breakfast offering. Great bar area front and center as you enter.
Notes/Observations
We didn't take advantage of the valet parking. We arrived early and found parking 1 block away for 5$ for 12 hours ( next to Drexel U).
Reading Market: 2 blocks from the hotel..Must see. Try to go hungry but go, there is something for everyone.
LOVE Park: Was being used as a bath tub by the locals. It was 95 degrees that weekend but kind of a turnoff. We didn't see much in the way of the authority during our stay ( no police presence at all..walking on the street, in the subways, patrolling in cars...nothing. We didn't feel threatened but you are on your own on the streets.
Lots of homeless and "down-on-their-luck" persons roaming about.
Subways : low marks, took to Lincoln Park its fast , that only nice think I can say. Philly struggling here.
Museum of Modern Art/Fairmont Park area: Ran a 5K in this area, Nice, clean. Boathouse area has charm. Museum gets high marks all around. If it 95 degrees its nice to be inside.

Room Tip: snag one of the family suites if you can. We were just lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satchmo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at the Convention Center and the location was ideal. While the outside of the building says "historical building" the inside is very modern. My room was very spacious and quiet. It faced the inside of the building (atrium) so that may have kept it quiet but I never heard any noise from the hall or ajoining rooms. All the amenities were there including a comp bottle of water. Very roomy bathroom with a huge shower and the king bed was very comfy. Only drawback to the room is that the thermostat has a motion sensor so while you are sleeping the air conditionng goes off! I woke up both nights at about 5am and had to move around the room to start up the AC again!

The only negatives to the hotel were the additional costs of parking and internet. The hotel only offers a $48 per night valet parking option. That is very high and you can park your car yourself just around the corner for $20 per day. Also, in this day and age still charging for internet is not acceptable. I can stay at a Hampton Inn and not pay for my internet access but I have to at a 4 star hotel? Lastly, I found the front desk staff to be very inconsistent and not really engaged. On the other hand, the rest of the hotel staff was lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel53NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

A top quality hotel for business travel in Philadelphia. The rooms were clean, bright and comfortable. The staff was excellent and accommodating to all of our requests. The restaurant area is appropriate for conducting business breakfast/lunch/dinners. It is easy to conduct a meeting and there are separate function rooms. Centrally located and in walking distance from most major office buildings downtown and close to other restaurants in the area. An excellent property, whose staff should be commended for their professionalism.

Room Tip: Option for interior courtyard. If you like it to be darker - a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasturgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#23 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Philadelphia

Property: Le Meridien Philadelphia
Address: 1421 Arch St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-1507
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#39 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing