We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great three days in Philly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Philadelphia
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great three days in Philly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel Nov. 24-28 and we loved it. This hotel was opened just two years ago and is very modern and confortable. Best part is the bar as soon as you walk through the main doors! We had dinner there the one night in front of one of the large fireplaces. The meal was very good as it was a selection of meats and cheeses that you could nibble away at. The location is very convenient as you can walk 20 min east and bel at Independance Hall/Liberty Bell or you could walk 20-30 min west and be at the foot of the Rocky Steps (Museum of Art) or walk 5 min south through City Hall and be in the middle of the shopping/restaurant district. 15 minute subway to get to the sports complex where the professional sports teams play. We are already planning to go back next year as we missed a lot in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    389
    147
    45
    42
See reviews for
188
397
70
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

we stayed at le meridien for a wedding. the room was a bit on the smaller side and the valet parking on the expensive side (as others have mentioned, it was $38/night), but these would be my only minor gripes. the service was excellent and the hotel design is fun - modern and boutique-y. great location in center city - walking distance to chinatown, reading terminal market, walnut street shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skirtandsupersuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Skirt and SuperSuit,

Thank you for the great review. All of our associates appreciate the recognition for their great service. I’m delighted you enjoyed the boutique design of the hotel and our central location.

I do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again. The parking rate, while perceived as expensive, is competitive with area hotels. There are several lots in the area that offer less expensive (rates vary by day + week) self parking options. The real value in the valet cost is the in and out privileges for your vehicle. If you plan to enjoy the central location and simply park it and leave it throughout the stay, then self park option is worthy of consideration.

Thanks again for the great comments and I hope you enjoy the holiday season!
Evan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I loved this boutique style hotel. I got a good deal at $110 per night and was very impressed with the quality of the linens and pillows, the comfort of the king bed, the amazing shower and great service/staff. The room we had was at the rear of the building so it was very quiet.
They do charge $38/night for parking (common in the city centre) but you can take your car out as many times as you like - the valets were very nice and accommodating. The hotel is close to Love Park and City Hall and within walking distance of Reading Terminal Market and many other attractions,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicdar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Yes, this was once the YMCA, but not any more. It has a little bit of DNA from the W line at SPG in the common areas but the hotel is a quiet one. There are great views of the City Hall with Wm. Penn atop and also of the Philadelphia skyline. Amuse, the hotel's restaurant is fairly authentic French Bistro style with hustling staff. We've stayed here multiple times and eaten here by choice. In what probably is America's worst city to have a drink, the bar here serves a solid cocktail at a fair price. PA has better liquor laws than Utah, but generally it's painful to pay for drinks in Philly. One of at least 4 really good SPG properties in various parts of the city.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are exceptionally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here and was thoroughly unimpressed. Poor check-in experience as the staff had a lot of attitude, which is unusual at SPG properties in my experience. She gave me essentially the worst room in the hotel, I think, and as an SPG platinum member they are supposed to give me a suite if it is available or at least a nicer room. Said they were sold out. When I got to my room the view was literally of a wall. I called SPG and they called the hotel and within about ten minutes a guy showed up at my door with a key for my suite. Somehow, magically, a suite was available when just ten minutes before it was not and she swore they were totally sold out.

Room service was strange. There is no number to call so when I called the operator to ask for room service, she said she could take the order. That was helpful, but odd. Food was unimpressive, and expensive and small for what I ordered.

Staff was completely apathetic at every interaction. I even ran into an upper level management person who asked how my stay was. When I said it wasn't very good he didn't seem interested and followed up with a lame, "well at least that was taken care of" after I told him about something or other that happened.

My friend stayed at the Sheraton around the corner and when he walked into my room said his was much nicer, and he was comparing my suite to his regular room.

The only thing that was great were the doormen. Each was nicer than the next and could not have been more eager to help and sincere.

I will not visit this property again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LA-Business-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
LA Business Traveler,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I do apologize that we failed to deliver a great experience during this visit.

I appreciate your recognizing the door team was sincere and eager to help. Clearly, our manager missed the opportunity to better respond to your feedback, he and I have spoken to ensure that does not happen again. Unfortunately, I do not have enough information on your stay to completely assess our missed expectations. I would greatly appreciate your contacting me with the details of your stay (dates and room number). This would allow me to review the check in and room service order so I can provide appropriate coaching and feedback.

Your SPG loyalty is appreciated and I hope we have the opportunity to have you back as our guest and demonstrate our commitment to excellence.

Please feel free to call me at 215.422.8200 or email me at evan.gm@lemeridienphiladelphia.com.

Thank you,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went to a wedding at the hotel. Everything from the room to the food and service could not have been better. The architecture was interesting too with the open brick inside. Probably an older building, but so well preserved and modern. Easy walk to the major historical attractions. Parking was a little nuts though - $38 for an overnight. That's my only knock on the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cugrad2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Door men/women were great with assisting with anything you need, hotel staff were great and overall hotel architecture was awesome. My guest room had large windows with views, the bathroom was very large with great shower, lighting and counter space. I tried the restaurant for dinner and the service was the best I have had in a while and food had a great presentation.
I will definitely return to this property next time I am in Philly.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank deavodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#22 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Philadelphia

Property: Le Meridien Philadelphia
Address: 1421 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#39 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Groupon, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Meridien Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing