We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Philadelphia
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here as a couple in the summer and really enjoyed the design of the hotel. The inner courtyard is a nice respite in the city (especially on a hot day). The room was very comfortable and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is extremely convenient to everything in Center City.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfriendspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    410
    158
    48
    45
See reviews for
207
416
74
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

After New York City, hotel rooms in central Philadelphia can seem unbelievably spacious, if perhaps a little bereft of treats and uncertain whether to add more furniture. This hotel has the advantage of a very short walk to offices in Market Street or JFK. And well, that's about it. I returned from a evening meeting hoping to find somewhere local to eat and realised the business district where it is located lacks anywhere. Arguably only ten minutes away there are fun neighborhood restaurants, but in the concrete jungle nearby, I found just one hole in the wall and the odd panhandler hitting for cash. The hotel lacks character, but that could just be the guests, it felt to me a bit like an airport hotel in feel, despite the brave design decision to put the hotel bar at the entrance where you'd expect to see the reception.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here the weekend of the Philadelphia Rock 'n Roll 1/2 Marathon. Great spot- really close to start/finish and race convention. Very relaxing stay in the middle of the city. The lobby and rooms are very modern. The pillows were very comfortable (nice and big as well). Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor and it was the same as the gym & where computer are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I really liked Le Meridian. I believe it was formerly a YMCA and they really did a nice job on the decor. The lobby has a modern feel to it and the hotel staff is really friendly and helpful.

The room I stayed in was very large and had 2 double beds. The decor has an "Ikea" feel to it; different from other hotels with cool white bedspreads and shabby sheik lamps. Lots of desk space and a beautiful Armiour containing all the little extras (coffee maker, ice bucket, etc.). The bathroom (for me) was the star of the show; lots of counter space, great lighting, a makeup mirror. Shower was great and all very clean and new.

The location is right in the heart of the city; museums, restaurants, and the convention center are within walking distance.

I would recommend especially if you like a "boutique" style hotel, or are just in the mood for something different.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theokitty916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I really like this hotel in terms of look but it wasn't as clean in my room as I had hoped. I arrived here for the Madonna concert and was surprised how great the location was in general for bars and walking. the rooms were smaller than I had anticipated. the building itself however is quite historical and beautiful. I loved the bar right in the lobby and took champagne up to my room. However, at night there was no one in the lobby at the front desk despite repeated calls and 24 hour room service didn't have two meals I requested from the menu despite those being on the overnight menu. However, what irked me was the fact that the bathroom especially the tub was not clean...I mean there was grime on the bathtub floor and I had trepidation about taking a shower. Also, the bed board had food stains that were easily cleaned had room service done their job thoroughly. This was my first overnight stay at a Le meridian but honestly, I now have to reconsider the brand, unless it's the one in Paris. I expected the brand to be a step above its sister brand the Sheraton and it wasn't.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivyleaguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brick
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

From the moment we walked in the door we loved this place. The staff is all si friendly and helpful. We were in our room and my boyfriend and I both wanted coffee but there wasnt enough creamers or sugar, I called the front desk Nd within minutes there was a knock at the door with the friendliest man holding a bag full of coffee, creamers and sugar! Now that service!! The rooms are huge and clean and the location is wonderful!! I highly recommend this hotel to ANYONE coming to Philly!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were rather disappointed with the hotel. It is a nicely designed property, which has many shortcomings. It seems to me that the property is terribly under-staffed which is reflected in the house keeping standards and service staff levels. You do not a door man at all times and the cleanliness of the property was poor.

Because we were there with friends, I have seen several rooms and all of them were only clean on the surface with dust and dirt in the corners. Where to start? Carpets were not fully clean, there was dust on the bed-side tables and the TV. The bathroom had hairs from other guests on the floor, the sink was dirty on the edges and the shower glass door was not kept clean so that the bottom bit had already a lot of grease on it. Overall, the house keeping department was not doing a good job.

Internet is not free, neither is water.

The gym is a small room with essentially no weight machines and it is, again, not cleaned properly (there were sweat marks on one of the workout benches for our entire trip and the cleaning staff never caught it).

Rather disappointed with this Le Meridien property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Critical_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#23 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,700 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Philadelphia

Property: Le Meridien Philadelphia
Address: 1421 Arch St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-1507
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#39 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing