We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to look for this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christ Church Cemetery

Christ Church Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Double-Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #75 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buried here are signers of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
193 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“You have to look for this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We found this place on a map and were glad we searched it out. Very simple, but meaningful and the walk into the church was an added bonus

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    57
    24
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1,442 reviews
1,102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
“Very Simple, Yet Very Touching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Christ Church Burial Grounds was something I just stumbled upon as I wandered around Philly. And it was delightful surprise. The charges was only a few dollars and they had a very nice souvenir map for sale for just 2 bucks that showed where all the graves were. The most important one to visit is of course Benjamin Franklin's which is in the front right corner. Then of course there are several graves of Declaration signers which shouldn't be missed. It is a nicely kept cemetery and fun to walk amongst old graves stone to see what is written on them. If you have time, be sure to stop in.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“From the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

This cemetery or 'Burial Ground' is a fascinating place for those who love history. Loving the information gleaned in cemeteries and being from the Land Down Under, I found the plots of the 'Signers' very informative. Easy walking on flat ground, excellently maintained with courteous greetings as you enter the gates and lots of happy faced squirrels. Tomb of Benjamin Franklin covered in pennies was a highlight. An excellent place for some solitude and history on a wonderful Autumn day. No admittance charge but a donation of $2-$3 is well spent. If you are feeling stingy then you can see the Franklin grave from the street at no charge. Do some research before you go so that you can get the most out of your visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lozfromoz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fisherville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
208 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Neat, maybe worth the entrance fee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

While you can see Ben Franklin's grave for free through the fence, the rest of the cemetery is interesting, too and worth a walk if you enjoy history or want some pretty good photos. Franklin's grave is nothing special, it's rather flat, but you can sit on a nearby bench and contemplate his contributions and/or career as a pelvic mercenary.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
922 reviews
420 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 709 helpful votes
“Pay for admission AND a map?!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I don't really begrudge the church for making a little money to defray cemetery expenses, but the map really should be included with admission. Other than that, my only criticism is possibly impractical, but... So many of the headstone inscriptions are falling victim to time and inconsiderate visitors, it's a shame some of the more significant markers can't be protected in some way. Of course I understand that that would call for a subjective judgment as to which ones are significant enough for protection.
This is one of those cemeteries where you find history galore! Ben Franklin and four other signers of the Declaration of Independence, the "father of modern surgery", the founder of the first public hospital, Commanders of the Constellation and Constitution, and even the man who was gravedigger here for 50 years!
I love burial grounds for the history they teach and the histories they complete, and this is a great one!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Christ Church Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing