We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You gotta see the bell” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Independence National Historical Park

Independence National Historical Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #6 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most famous square miles in the United States, the park is home to the Liberty Bell, the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and Independence Hall.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“You gotta see the bell”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Given that we had to procure (free) tickets for an appointed time, I rather thought it would be a guided tour, but it's not.
Regardless, security was quick, there was a lot to read about and it was very cool to see a revered, significant part of American history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,269
    522
    127
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,249 reviews
832 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,501 helpful votes
“Birthplace of the American Experiment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visit the Independence NHP and take in the important history that occurred within the well preserved structures that served as meeting halls for the Continental Congress, see the Liberty Bell, Franklin’s print shop and post office and more. It is best to get an early start by parking in the underground parking deck at the visitor center, get your free tickets at the visitor center to tour Independence Hall, then see the Liberty Bell and spend some time walking the compact historic park – most of the best parts are within a few blocks walk.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, PA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

There was a great deal of information concerning the Liberty Bell. The staff was professional and helpful. This is not a place for small children as they do not have the patience to wait for adults to read the historical facts.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seagirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
545 reviews
318 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Moving Testimony to our Freedom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I really didn't expect much. I mean really i it was on old bell. But I got more than I bargained for. Seeing the Liberty Bell is truly and experience. Before you get to it, they make sure you understand what you're looking at and why it's important. Before it was over, I was in tears.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lift Your American Spirit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

A visit to Independence National Historical Park will lift your American Spirit. The well preserved site is a reminder of how many varied opinions came together for the good of a new nation. A spirited tour of Independence Hall, with one of the National Park Rangers, brings to life the struggle. Make sure to visit the Tourist Center early for your "timed ticket", tickets go fast and you must have a ticket to tour Independence Hall. Even during our visit in April, tickets were limited by 11am. Other Historical buildings on the ground and The Liberty Bell are open access, no tickets needed, just stand in line. Short videos and displays, in the Tourist Center, explain the nation prior to the Revolutionary War.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mountaingirl2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Independence National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Independence National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing