We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Exercise and Sites.”

Benjamin Franklin Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.75*
and up
Old City Walking Tour in Philadelphia
Ranked #78 of 438 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest single span suspension bridge in the world, at 1.8 miles, is brilliantly illuminated at night, with every single cable aglow.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Exercise and Sites.”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was staying in Philadelphia and decided I wanted to visit New Jersey just for the sake of saying I've been there. Since I didn't have a car, I decided to walk across this bridge. It is great exercise and you have a great view of the city and river. Fair warning: a train runs below the sidewalk, so when a train passes under, the walkway shakes a bit. It won't make you feel like you are about to fall, but it is a spooky feeling if you are not prepared for it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    64
    32
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A long bridge”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

First of all let me say that we drove over this bridge to see how long a walk it would be and passed on the idea of walking as it is a good long walk. The walkway also appears to head up, way up and I am not too good with heights so driving over was enough. The bridge itself is free heading out of Philadelphia and $5 coming back in and if you want some information pay cash and ask the toll operator, we did and the toll operator actually took the time to give us a map and spend a few minuets telling us about Philadelphia and giving us easy directions to our next location. The customer service alone was worth the $5 - definitely worth a drive over at the least

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank martok78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“It's a bridge but it's a nice one”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We passed by it from New Jersey to Philadelphia . It's just a bridge but I would say its painted well and has got a nice view.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rosievil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Took it by car and by train”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Take the PATCO train from Jersey, it has nice views or you can even bike the bridge or walk - a wonderful experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LIRRWerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gotta see it for yourself”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I been traveling this bridge since I was a kid. It's the quickest way to get to Philly from the south Camden side. I never walked the bridge but someday maybe I will. I can't say I love it but I also can't say I hate. I,m glad it's there, makes the commute to Philly a quicky.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dvonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjamin Franklin Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Benjamin Franklin Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing