We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Philadelphia Zoo

Philadelphia Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPASS
Ranked #19 of 435 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Situated on 42 acres of beautiful gardens, the Philadelphia Zoo, America's first zoo, is home to nearly 1,300 animals, many rare and endangered. Polar bears, African lions, Amur tigers, a white rhino, giraffes and more call this oasis home. As Philadelphia's leading cultural destination the Zoo boasts award-winning exhibits such as First Niagara Big Cats Falls, McNeil Avian Center, and PECO Primate Reserve.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small but Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Compared to other more modern zoos, Philly's is...more intimate. But it's still a great day out and recommended for family entertainment. If you have a couple of kids, it might be worthwhile to consider an annual membership.

Helpful?
Thank Strummer1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    480
    156
    33
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful day out !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had the recent pleasure of being able to take a day trip to the Philly Zoo !! All I can say is AMAZING !!! The zoo attendees were abundant and very pleasant. The animals were in beautiful condition as were their habitats. Many of the food vendor area's were closed due to the time of year, but we had our lunches in tow and at leisurely at the many tables along the trail. The Zoo is set up excellently so that you can see the many attractions is a casual and total experience without getting over tired due to the great size of the zoo acreage. Love it , Love it, Love it - we are looking forward to returning and spending an entire day just viewing and enjoying all the zoo has to offer !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LGL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not quite the great experience I had hoped.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Got the bus from Philadelphia Centre and the bus driver gave us helpful directions. The return bus is just across the road from where it drops off.
It is a 5-10 minute walk to the south entrance or 15-20 to the main North entrance.
Lots of the food concessions were closed.
The spaces for the animals seemed small, especially for the big cats.
Seemed well setup for the little kids but not so well for adults.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wemorwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Needs Updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just be warned, parking was $15 and an adult entry fee is $20, so pack a lunch, it's a spendy place. Several of the exhibits were very small, too small for the animals. When an animal just paces back and forth along the edge of its enclosure, that is a sign that the animal is going crazy because it's space is toooo small. They did send their elephants to other zoos because they knew they couldn't upgrade their space in a timely fashion. That was the right call. The one thing I did like about this zoo was the "Treetop Trail" for the monkeys. It was kind of cool to look up and see a monkey traveling from one part of the zoo to another. There did seem to be lots of activities for young children, however, most cost additional money. I am not from the area, however, if I did return to Philadelphia, this venuewould not be on my agenda.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Average Sized Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I took my 3,4, and 8 year olds to this zoo and was great. Very educational and a lot of history to learn about. They enjoyed the animals and the activities. The tickets price was $$$ but I use my AAA and it helped a little. The lunchroom served healthy treats for kids and adults. I great place to explore. A must go!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kayskatering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philadelphia Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Philadelphia Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing