We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel, decent price, and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Purcellville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very good hotel, decent price, and good location”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was an average to maybe above average hotel. The locations great! Right off I-95, walking distance to a lot of great bars & restaurants, near old town philly, right off the water, and easy access to the ferry to NJ. I paid the small amount more to have a river view, which I'm glad I did having a beautiful view of benjamin franklin bridge. The breakfast was decent and was available till 10am.

Room Tip: See how much extra it is to be on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inflatable12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    294
    110
    44
    25
See reviews for
229
194
38
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Customer service was good and the clerk Evon was great and nice Thank you, she was friendly to my Children, and gave me a good rate, everything was clean and well kept my room had a nice view of the Benjamin Franklin bridge

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Martina,

Thank you so much for staying at our Holiday Inn Express! Evon is going to be so excited when she reads this if she already hasn't. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was booked online and it certainly was not the cheapest one that was on our 'short list'. We arrived firstly being told off by the parking attendant in an adjacent car park about moving our car in the entry area. (blocked by a taxi). Then a busy and frantic reception up to our "river-view" room.
Well, if you call a tree and a building a river-view, then OK, but not what was ordered. We actually specified the river-view on the order, based on what other reviews said, but a tip for all. Request NOT to be on the 2nd floor!
No fridge, (odd to aussie travellers but apparently usual across USA/CA) and limited info for what to do in Philly at reception. The staff were very helpful, but always busy. Wifi yes, but (first world problems) cut in and out and had to log in constantly. Water leaks in the reception doorway also. Not an issue, but as faults rack up, worth mentioning.
Now for the main criticism: Breakfast. I did not expect 5 star and silver service, but the faulty machine, long queues, weak coffee, and the at best average pastries and what appeared to be eggs I think were awful. The pancake machine faulted and had to find staff to repair it. The searching for staff to fix it seemed the norm here. Again staff pleasant, but check-in was hectic,
Positives: The shuttle bus drivers and the service is excellent. Location is OK. Just due to location and design, while on a map looks very close to Old Philly and attractions, still a bit of a walk with steps and bridges to get there. The shuttle however makes life easy. Remember this is nestled between two large busy freeways. Traffic is heavy. Car Parking on site, and while $25 seems steep, still cheaper than anywhere else.
We may have just got a bad weekend (prior to July 4th long weekend) with a full hotel,but cannot recommend it, and considering long and hard before using another Holiday inn in the future. (Still got another to go in CA)

Room Tip: Order a higher level, river view room ONLY. Skip in house breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate our reviews since it gives us an outside look into our hotel and operations. We certainly apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We hope that you would give us the opportunity to make a difference and stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were greeted by a friendly front desk person who quickly got us to our room. The shuttle driver was helpful and friendly as he took us to old town and gave us excellent directions for us to walk back after an excellent dinner and tour of Philly! The hotel,is an easy beautiful walk to old town and the tourist activities of the town. Our view from our room was great. We could see the bridge and the river and port. Stay on that side unless street noise bothers you! We were on the 6 th floor and still heard the cars zip by on the street below us. Though after 9 the column and noise was not as noticeable . All in all a nice place, though I missed a swimming pool,or hotbtub and the exercise room is Small. But who needs that if you walk to town.,!

Room Tip: Water side is excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deancoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay! That makes our day! We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our room was on the fifth floor and still had a great view of the harbor, river and bridge. Penn's Landing activities were only a couple blocks away. Close enough for my four year old to enjoy the walk. Everything was clean and the staff seemed to tidy several times a day. The front desk staff were very polite and friendly, especially Tori who was a life saver on two occasions. Old City and Historic Philly are a bit farther away, but still walking distance for adults and older kids. The location is a bit odd, and parking is extra, but overall we loved it and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: River side rooms have an excellent view and corner suites are a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSunnygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying at our Holiday Inn Express. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here during the July the 4th weekend for 3 nights. We were on the top floor in room 1005 which had 2 windows...one overlooking the Delaware River and Ben Franklin bridge, and the other looking south onto the river and the city skyline. The view was amazing! Our king bed and standard Holiday Inn Express bedding were perfect, as usual! Checkin was quick, even though the hotel was clearly full. Parking was outside but had an attendant at all times. The lot got full but they double parked and moved cars around to fit everyone in. Our room was clean. The AC was very good. No complaints. Breakfast was standard and as good as all other HIExpresses we've stayed at.

The location was very close to the historic district and we walked everywhere. Being right at Penn's Landing for the Saturday night concert and fireworks was a bonus. There are a few restaurants nearby, as well as a cafe across the street.

We aren't bothered by noise but we did notice noise in the morning from the freeway which is right behind the hotel. Some people may find this unacceptable.

Yes parking is $25/night which, in our experience is lower than average for a large city. If we return to Philly, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 1005 has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy_and_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Judy & Doug,

Thank you so much for your review. We were thrilled to hear that you had a great stay! That makes our day for our entire team here. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Until then, have a great summer!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLANDON
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed for Saturday-Monday. Hotel is within walking distance from Old City attractions, many restaurants, Penns Landing, and a beautiful view of the Ben Franklin Bridge. The staff was very helpful, there is a shuttle service if you aren't up for walking. There is a parking fee ($25), but there is everywhere in the city, so this was expected, and given daily/hourly rates in the city, not a bad price, and the staff allowed us to stay in the lot even after we checked out so we could enjoy the city with our car safe for the rest of the day.Breakfast was nice, offering both hot and cold choices. I requested a Bridge View room, we got a corner room with a window toward the river and another facing south/over the parking lot. There was a significant amount of traffic noise until about 11pm, even though we were on a high floor. Could have been quieter on the other side, but I wanted to be able to see the bridge.

Room Tip: Bridge View is beautiful, but noisy because of the highway. West facing rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jennifer H,

Thank you so much for your awesome review! It really made our day! We are thankful that you stayed with our Holiday Inn Express. We hope to see you again soon. Until then, have a great summer!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn's View Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free breakfast and Wi-Fi while being directly across from Penn's Landing Waterfront area. The hotel is ideally located for guests looking to be close to the Historic Area, Center City, Pennsylvania Convention Center, and all local sports and concert facilities. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night, including in and out privileges. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor's Center and South Street. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor's appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our free Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing