We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating & Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Ranked #40 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very accomodating & Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just stayed there this past Saturday and let me tell you that it was an amazing experience. From the moment I checked in till the moment of departing I have nothing but great things to say about this property. The room I received was in the corner of the 10th floor looking out to the Ben Franklin Bridge. What an amazing view and definitely a room I will not forget. Overall, I had an amazing time and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Corner room on the tenth floor facing the Ben Franklin Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jshearin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Jsherin89,

Thank you so much for your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Penn's Landing. We are so exited that you had a great stay! That really makes our day. The staff is going to be thrilled when I post your review.

Thank you so much again. We hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    278
    103
    44
    25
See reviews for
217
182
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg
Level Contributor
196 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Formerl a Comfort Inn, the Holiday Inn Express at Penn's Landing is unusually situated between the Interstate and the Delaware River with the lovely suspension bridge honoring Benjamin Somebody a block north. It would appear to be cut off from the Old City, which is only a few blocks away - but it really is not. Simply head in the direction of the bridge, turn right onto Race Street (where you can dine at the wonderful Race Street Cafe). Turn left at Second and you will pass the famous Elfreth Alley; this street leads to Christ Church and Market Street. A few blocks west is the very post office where that same Benjamin Somebody once worked. The site of his home and printing shop can be accessed through tthe archway.

Anyway back to the hotel: an attractive lobby where guests can lounge in front of a roaring fireplace (in Janaury, at least) and an adjacent breakfast room where they can endulge themselves with a complimentary breakfast. A penny saved is a penny earned says this guy Benjamin. The rooms and public areas are well-kept - the rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated with pictures of Philadelphia's famous attractions. One quirk was the low water pressure shower. Of course, some rooms give you a view of the bridge; others, like mine (See below), the highway and all the noise that accompanies it.

And don't let the location chase you away: the HI Penn's Landing offers guests a free shuttle that will drop you off anywhere within a certain radius ... and when you wish to return, simply call the driver who will pick you up. (See picture below). All in all, a nice property that should be considered whne visiting the City of Brotherly Love. Franklin! Benjamin Franklin, that's his name.

Room Tip: Room 618 faces the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeedPivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear NeedPivo,

Hello NeedPivo! Thank you so much for your review and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Holiday Inn Express.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

From the very start I requested toothpaste from the very first night I stayed as my bags were lost from the plane and I had no toiletries.
I was told they they were out and they provided me with mouthwash instead.
I got to my room that was on the side opposition the Ben Franklin bridge near the highway and the noise level was unbearable to the point I request a move of rooms to concentrate on work and to not lay awake in the bed due to the noise all night.

I was told they can not do anything that night and I was moved to the other side of the building for the next 3 nights of my stay.
I requested toothpaste and other toiletries over 3 times to the end of my stay the fourth night and they were still out of stock and I was told I could buy some on market street.

On the 3rd and 4th nights the staff did NOT clean my room.
We requested a room clean and towels because they were dirty and we were only brought towels by a staff member and was told that someone would be there soon to resolve the room. (Nobody ever came)

By then I did not even try to call the front desk as we had already determined that the staff does not communicate with each other and they are incompetent to take care of simple customer requests and run a premium hotel.

Staff members also knocked on our door twice while the do not disturb sign was up on my door.
This was during times I had not requested they clean or maintain the room and this was done always around 9am-10am.
The staff was not customer friendly and considering to customer needs.
When I checked out I was not addressed to how my stay was until I let the agent know I was very unhappy as I had also told the front desk this same statement I'm giving to this survey several times.
I told the agent that I would be leaving a poor survey and only then that she said she would get her manager.
I waited for the manager only for her to come out and tell me that they would be refunding one night of the stay and that I booked though orbitz I would have to contact them.
I was not happy and wanted to be compensated more for then what was offered.

By this time I was wondering why the manager in the back did not come out and handle the situation as the agent had to go back a couple of times to get solutions to what I was requesting.

They processed my refund for one night in the amount of around $100 dollars but I am still very mad that this was all that was offered as I am a member of the rewards club and that is why I'm writing this survey today.

This is the WORST hotel I have ever stayed at and I have already shared my experience with co workers, family and friends.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaryndropout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear jaryndropout,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we apologize you were disappointed in the services and our hotel. We will review your comments as we continually work to improve our guest experience through service and accommodations.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed five nights while attending a convention. The rooms were large and comfortable and obviously recently renovated. For example, this is the first time that I've had a RFID door key. Noise is a bit of a problem because the hotel is in a strange location between the interstate and the Delaware River. I used my earplugs to block out the traffic noise that is loud even in the middle of the night. The free breakfast was better than average with several hot dishes and fresh fruit. This breakfast was almost a requirement for staying because very few restaurants are located within the immediate vicinity so that breakfast would have been hard to find otherwise. The hotel includes a free shuttle which I didn't use because I'm an avid walker. The Old Downtown sites (Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, etc.) are quite close though convention center is about a 30 minute walk. The staff was friendly enough. The "free high-speed Internet" was quite slow though adequate for most tasks and reliable enough during my stay.

I might like a better location and a quieter room, but I'd stay here again if the price were right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side that doesn't fact the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Robert H,

Thank you Robert for sharing your experience. We are thrilled that overall you enjoyed staying at our Holiday Inn Express.

Should you visit again please be sure to book or request a riverside room. This side is a little more quieter and the views of the Delaware River and Ben Franklin Bridge will provide a site to remember forever!

Thank you again for your review.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel it pretty new so the décor is modern and it's quite clean. Even though it's right by the bridge and highway the noise isn't bad with the windows closed and the heat on (since it's winter). I did use earplugs since I'm a light sleeper, so I'm not sure how loud it would have been without them.They give you free breakfast and a shuttle that will drop you of in downtown/center city, both of which were quite unexpected. The shuttle did breakdown Sat night to Sun, but that they offer it in general is very nice. The location is close to Penn's landing and only a 10 min walk to the historic parts, but it is surrounded by roads so it's not the prettiest thing and has a slightly depressing feel. But, considering this is supposed to be a 2.5/3 star hotel they really do more than you'd expect. I'd give it 4.5 stars if I could.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear AlisaP,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! That really makes our day.

We hope to see you again should you return to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

My family and I had a great stay at this friendly hotel. The front desk was helpfull showing places we could visit. Rooms are confortable and clean. Parking, wifi and breakfast were a plus for free all ready included in The price.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear hiedygg,

Thank you so much for your review and sharing your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you on your next visit to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. They helped me receive and ship packages for my convention, made great dinner recommendations, always made sure I had what I needed. They helped with logistics of a major snowstorm.

It is out of downtown but there is a free shuttle that is great! Ask for a room at the front of the hotel. The backside rooms are close to the freeway and exit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Steph1974,

Thank you so much for your review and sharing your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your next visit to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free breakfast and Wi-Fi while being directly across from Penn's Landing Waterfront area. The hotel is ideally located for guests looking to be close to the Historic Area, Center City, Pennsylvania Convention Center, and all local sports and concert facilities. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night, including in and out privileges. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor's Center and South Street. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor's appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our free Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing