We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay here again. Noisy, thin walls and lousy check-in staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed November 14, 2013

After driving for over 5 hours, we were exhausted and relieved when we finally arrived at this Holiday Inn Express late on a Friday night. My husband went to find parking while I went into the hotel first with my young son to check in. As soon as we walked in to the lobby, we were greeted by loud country music and women in skimpy dresses. There were two check-in staff on duty - a female and male. Both were engrossed in chatting with the women in the skimpy dresses. The women in the skimpy dresses saw us waiting to check in and moved away from the counter. The female staff ignored me so I walked up to the male staff at the counter. He asked for my photo ID and credit card and then rushed through the check-in process; handing me the room keys, a bag with only one bottle of water and a small bag of chips (even though there were 3 of us staying in the room), then spoke rapidly to inform me of the breakfast hours. He did not give me directions to my room nor tell me that I had to put a tag in my car (we were charged an extra $25 parking fee). To make matters worse, he even gave me the wrong internet access code which we only found out when we went up to our room. After rushing me through the check in process, he went back to chat with the women in the skimpy dresses. The hotel is located on a busy street. Unlike the windows in the breakfast area, the windows in our room on the 9th floor are not sound proof. The walls in our room are extremely thin. We could hear traffic noises, people talking loudly and walking in the hallways all night. Needless to say, we did not have a good night's sleep. The ventilation vents in the bathroom looked like they had not been cleaned for a long time. They were caked with dust. The wallpaper and paint was also peeling in many areas. See photos. We were extremely relieved to check out the next day. We have stayed in many Holiday Inn Express hotels and have alway had good experiences. This Holiday Inn Express is just not on par with the other Holiday Inn Express hotels. Never in my life have I been to a hotel that plays loud country music in the lobby. What kind of hotel does that? Your check-in staff needs training in customer service and your rooms need major removation and cleaning. We will never stay at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VACATION1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Vacation1122,

Thank you for your review. We apologize that we had missed our goal with providing you an outstanding stay.

Your comments are very important to us as it gives us the opportunity to impliment other plans to ensure that our guests have a great experience.

Thank you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 752 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were looking for a hotel in Philly for one night that was easy to get to, clean, modern, close enough to walk to the city sites and had parking and this hotel met our needs. It was a more affordable price compared to other downtown hotels, but parking was an extra fee. It seemed like it had been remodeled recently so the lobby and rooms were well decorated and very clean and our room was very spacious, though of course it looks like a modernized hotel without any of the charm of the historic city, but that was expected. My only complaint would be that it was right next to the highway which our room look out onto, not the prettiest of views, and the traffic was definitely heard in our room, though it didn't bother us too much. We were able to walk up Race Street and have fairly quick access to Old Town and were able to walk most of the city in a day. The breakfast was alright, though crowded. All in all it was a good selection for us and would recommend it.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank maemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Amanda H,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to here that overall you had a nice stay. That is very important to our team here.

Please know that for next time make sure you book a room on the riverside. This side is quieter and the views are remarkable of the Ben Franklin Bridge and the Delaware River. It may have suited you a bit more during your last stay.

Thank you again for your review.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at this property for one night. I arrived at the hotel about 9:30pm. There was one front desk clerk working and another employee standing beside the front desk who was not checking people in. I am a Priority Club Gold member and was given a room on the 10th floor with a view of the bridge and river. The room was clean and comfy however there were no wash cloths in the room. And while a coffee maker was in the room there were no coffee cups ceramic or otherwise. The breakfast in the am was average Holiday Inn Express fare which was pretty good.

I checked out and asked about the shuttle to Wills Eye Institute. The front desk clerk said the shuttle should be back in about 30 minutes. I could not wait for it. The desk clerk at check out did not ask how my stay was nor did she thank me. I was also not recognized as a Priority Club member upon check in as other IHG properties always do.

A clean hotel and it was quiet but the employees here do not seem to be happy doing their jobs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear houstonguy2010,

Thank you for your review and for being a Gold IHG Rewards Club Member. Your feedback is very important to us. I hope that we were able to bring the wash clothes right up to you.

We apologize that you had to wait for the shuttle. Sometimes traffic, street closures, detours or the unseen does happen here in the city which effects our efforts to get back to the hotel swiftly.

Thank you again for your feedback and for staying at our Holiday Inn Express. We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on a busy street, and the windows are not sound proof. The bathroom had a bit of mold growing on the grout in the shower. Even though our stay was the beginning of November, it was 70 degrees and we had the air conditioner running. There was a puddle on the floor on the second morning. The beds are a bit on the hard side and not terribly comfortable. They did offer the soft and firm pillows and the sheet wrapped comforter. Breakfast is included, but nothing to get excited about. The best feature of the hotel is that they offer free shuttle service to any location within a 20 block area.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wickedqueen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Wickedqueen64,

Thank you so much for your review. We value your comments. It gives us a great tool to look at areas where we need to improve. The Management Team has reviewed your comments and have implimented an action plan to avoid this happening again.

We are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our free shuttle.

We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Not a big fan of outside parking in Philly so that is my only complaint. Rooms were typical of HI Express--clean and plenty of room. Add in the Holiday Inn breakfast. Good deal. Location is great for Penn's Landing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Ken P,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay!

We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

When making the reservation was not told that there was a $25.00 parking fee. Checked in, was given a parking pass that I had to take back to the car or the car would be towed. Went to the elevators and one elevator was broken. Only one elevator in service. Arrived in the room and could not get television stations to come on. Called the front desk, and was told there was a problem with the cable service and only stations under channel 39 was available. several spanish stations, several shopping networks, so not a great deal of options. When the air conditioning tuned on, it sounded like a jet engine starting. The rooms on the west side of the building face I95 a very loud and very busy highway 24 hours a day. Not a great place if you wanted to get some sleep. The available breakfast was not bad. Will not stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the east side of the building away from the highway, but you will face the benjami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bake19992000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear bake19992000,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review. It is unfortunate that we had missed our goal in providing a great stay at our hotel for you.

All comments good and bad are carefully reviewed. We use the comments to make ourselves a better team to ensure customer satisfaction. So we appreciate your feedback so we can act on making our hotel a great experience.

Thank you again for your review. We hope that you would give us another try in the future.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

After reading some other reviews that seemed a little negative, frankly I was concerned. The front desk staff was great,though check in was very, very slow.
Rooms were updated, nice size & very clean(there was a lil black mold that should be bleached off tub area) The view of the River ( especially at night) was AMAZING!) Location makes it's so easy to get to everything!! The shuttle driver was personable and made great recommendations for local eating places and was quick to return and pick us up after some local sightseeing.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Cindy K,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so excited to read that you enjoyed our hotel and were pleased with our services. The staff is going to be really proud when I post this in their department.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn's View Hotel
#14 of 89 in Philadelphia
832 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2001 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#43 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $128 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free breakfast and Wi-Fi while being directly across from Penn's Landing Waterfront area. The hotel is ideally located for guests looking to be close to the Historic Area, Center City, Pennsylvania Convention Center, and all local sports and concert facilities. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night, including in and out privileges. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor's Center and South Street. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor's appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our free Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing