We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good place to start” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Amersfoort, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place to start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Okay, it's not that close to the city center. But it's worth the walk. Situated near the historical part of Philadelphia is a plus.

The hotel is pretty good in it's pricerange. Maybe one of the best hotels we stayed in on our US trip.

The room was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpfull.

Try to get a room with view on the bridge. Makes your stay worthwhile.

Room Tip: Try to get a bridgeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJvD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear SJvD1980,

Thank you so much for your review. It is always great to hear feedback from our guests. You made our day when you commented that we were the best hotel that you stayed at during your trip. Thank you!

We hope to see you again when you return to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    241
    92
    40
    23
See reviews for
198
156
33
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Penn's Landing for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The room was clean and very comfortable . The morning free breakfast was the usual selection of cereals, eggs, sausage, pancakes, and assorted breads. The food was hot and a great way to start the day. The hotel is located on the waterfront just below the Ben Franklin Bridge. There's a Dave and Buster's just across the street and a number of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has a free shuttle that will take you in a 2 mile radius of the hotel. There are several museums as well as Independence Hall & the Liberty Bell on the shuttle route so you can visit the sights without the hassle of driving and finding a place to park.
There was a crew doing some remodeling work there, but it wasn't a problem. The remodel looks terrific as the hotel recently changed from a Comfort Inn to the Holiday Inn Brand. I was very happy with my stay and would visit this hotel again. One side of the hotel faces the bridge and highway which was a little noisy when we went to bed. I had no problem sleeping as the queen beds were very comfortable. If you are a light sleeper perhaps you could request a room on the opposite side of the hotel from the bridge.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GregoryM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear GregoryM2,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear that we made our goal in providing a great stay! The staff is going to be really excited when I post your review for them to read.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrittstown,Pa.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Ms. Tori Warrick was very helpful in getting me the assistance I needed when I had a HUGE problem. She was patient and willing to stay on the phone to help as long as it took. I"d recommend her to anyone...

Room Tip: Read my review, or ask for Tori It's a shame you have to sign up with trip advisor to give s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear LarryT,

Thank you for your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express. We are very proud to have Tori on our team. We are happy that she was able to assist you. This comment is going to make her day! We can't wait to show her.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had just one night in Philly and wanted to see some sights. This hotel was easy to access from freeways - and we loved the location. We could walk into the city AND to the shore to see the bridge. Was concerned about being so close to the main road but the noise did not interrupt our sleep. The hotel was clean - breakfast really good - would definitely stay there again! Since we only had 1 day, we did the Red Bus - Hop on and Off - and they even came and picked us up at the hotel - taking us to downtown start location. Had parking for our car BUT had to pay! Welcome to the Big City!

Room Tip: May want to get a room away from main road - may be quieter - although it did not interrupt our slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat_Traveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Expat_Traveler2011,

Thank you for your review. The staff is going to be really excited when I post your comments1 We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. And that you had a nice time exploring Philadelphia.

We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

First time staying at this hotel as our regular one was all booked. Rooms are large, modern and clean. Great location to walk to various tourist attractions, shopping, and restaurants. Some traffic noise, but pretty consistent with big cities. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Phyllis T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you had that opportunity to stay with our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Holiday Inn at Penns Landing has a great location. You are across the street from the waterfront. You are walking distance from Independece Mall and lots of museums. Parking entrance is a little far away, but your car will be close to the hotel door. Fabulous view of the Ben Franklin bridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear zevb,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, PA, USA
Level Contributor
308 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

On a price/value scale you would have to rate this very good, since it offers attractive pricing in a neighborhood where typical rates are much higher. It has recently been converted from a Comfort Inn to a Holiday Inn Express and remodeled. However, the freshening comes up short in several areas. The lobby area has been redone but in such a drab and colorless fashion that it doesn't show. The breakfast area was expanded, but the selection of foods is below average. There were yogurts, dry cereals, bananas and pastries, but egg and pancake offerings seemed to be pre-packaged products. The room again was refurbished with new bedding, TV's, etc. and was very clean, but the fine details were missing (rusty grate on wall, toilet loose on floor, and a long wood screw holding the window from opening). Also, the traffic noise from I-95 was audible, even on the highest floor. Staff was helpful and friendly. Would return because of convenient location and good value pricing.

Room Tip: High floor facing river is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear LFA,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay.

Thank you for mentioned a couple items in your room that we could follow up on. We appreciate client feedback so we can easily identify area's that we can improve on. That is important to us.

Thank you so much again.

We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
City Center East
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#12 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
City Center East
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Address: 100 N Columbus Blvd, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2001 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free breakfast and Wi-Fi while being directly across from Penn's Landing Waterfront area. The hotel is ideally located for guests looking to be close to the Historic Area, Center City, Pennsylvania Convention Center, and all local sports and concert facilities. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night, including in and out privileges. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor's Center and South Street. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor's appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our free Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing