We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice building. Art is good too” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts

Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia Segway Tour
Ranked #24 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A dazzling museum, as much for its interior design as for its collection.
nj
Level Contributor
211 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice building. Art is good too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The building is in an interesting style. The permanent collection is "fine art" which is mostly American and ranges from colonial times to 1940's. It's good to tag along with docent to get the most out of the art. When I visited, the place had been invaded by work by KAWS
I don't have anything against modern art but he seems to be a one trick pony. Also his sculptures blocked some of the major works. The museum seems to be trying to hard to be hip

Helpful?
Thank faye57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    83
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

As others have indicated, the building is a gem. We were fortunate to have an expert on the building speak after we viewed the exhibits, Fascinating!
This museum is not to be missed when visiting Philadelphia.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaneB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The builiding is art itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

What a treat to discover this beautiful building withl of a wide variety of stellar artwork displayed in an interesting manner. To see artists (students) at work in the galleries was inspirational.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sitesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
311 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great museum experience without being exhausted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

When people see art in a city like Philadelphia, they tend to go to the big Philadelphia Museum, which is a world-class collection, and they skip the smaller institutions. In the case of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, this is a big mistake. The museum is housed in a jewel of a building, Victorian/Venetian in style. Although dating from the 19th Century, the interior has been entirely modernized, but still respects the intent of the original architects. Most every great American artist is here--and some of their best work. Eakins, Peale, Homer, Cassatt, O'Keeffe, West, Stuart--all the greats seem to be here. One tip I can offer: there is no parking on the street nearby, but you can get a good discount on your parking in a nearby lot. Check the website as to which lots participate, get your ticket validated at the museum, and you are all set. Don't miss this place, it has masterpieces and it is not exhausting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRegoPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Would have passed it by but SOOO glad we went!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you are visiting for the art GO to the Academy of Fine Arts. The building itself is a treasure and the art amazing. O'Keefe, Homer, Twachtman, Hopper, Hassan and others are all represented here. We would never have stopped but were so glad we did!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kkovach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing