We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Art”

Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia Segway Tour
More Info
$22.00*
and up
Two-Hour Mural Mile Philadelphia Walking Tour
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Walking Tour of American Art in Philadelphia
Ranked #29 of 445 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A dazzling museum, as much for its interior design as for its collection.
Bear, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting Art”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The permanent collection had a few paintings from well-known artists that I had never seen before (2 Georgia O'Keefe, 1 Andrew Wyeth). Housed in two different buildings there was an interesting collection of art from the 1800s to modern times.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nitsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    85
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
316 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Art that people like!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have been to art museums all over the country, and this museum was quite nice in comparison. First, it isn't too big and it isn't too small, it was just right. Second, sometimes I see the art and I think "Why is that here, I could do this...". This museum didn't have a lot of that. Third, I sometimes see art and think - "Who would ever want this on their wall?" There were a lot of things here that I would want to have on my wall, and that I really enjoyed looking at. In addition, the items in the gift shop were beautiful AND affordable. The building was beautiful, and they had a nice traveling show in the building next door which was nice to visit. The staff was nice. It is near the courthouse in case you want to make a stop there too. Would recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LAtoEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very much worth yur time”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The exhibits here are smaller and focused and perhaps might not appeal to everyone. nevertheless if they have an exhibit of interest to you, you're in for a treat. They're always done well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travellerpbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great view of nonblockbuster American art.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a medium sized museum of American art and how it relates to Philadelphia and the Academy itself. Beautifully presented. The special exhibitions are very well done

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pabljs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Pleasure”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I have been to a number of Philadelphia tourist attractions, but this one -- on which we stumbled because it was close to our hotel -- was an unexpected pleasure, because of the quirky and distinctive architecture and interior design as well as the diversity of the artwork, which spans the generations from Benjamin West to Homer to Faith Ringgold. Art lovers of course should visit the Philadelphia Museum of Art, but shouldn't overlook PAFA whenever they're visiting the city.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing