We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Museum of Art

Philadelphia Museum of Art
Book In Advance
$20*
and up
Philadelphia Museum of Art General Admission
Ranked #1 of 412 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: As one of the largest museums in the United States, the Philadelphia Museum of Art invites visitors from around the world to explore its renowned collections, acclaimed special exhibitions, and enriching programs, both in person and online. Rising majestically at the end of the Benjamin Franklin Parkway, the Philadelphia Museum of Art stands as one of the great art institutions of the world. In the over 125 years since its founding, it has grown far beyond the limits originally set for it. Today, the Museum houses over 225,000 works of art encompassing some of the greatest achievements of human creativity, and offers a wealth of exhibitions and educational programs for a public of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A great visit, well worth taking the time.
Plenty of variety.
IT could be improved by more seating areas in some of the galleries.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wemorwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,342
    950
    159
    26
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“um big?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Its a beautiful display of art..but it is HUGE. Need more than a day if you are a true art lover. It's also like most world renowned museums, expensive. They have specials like now a Wed or some weekday pay what you wish deal. Grab it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Coquija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MInneapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband had a convention in Philly. One day I walked from the convention Center to the Philadelphia Museum of Art. It was a beautiful day and a lovely walk. There were places to eat along the way and also the Rodin Museum was along the way. It was the first Sunday of the month , so for admission you pay what you want . I also bought the audio which was very helpful and was 5 dollars. I highly recommend using it . They also had a quick guide. It took awhile to see it all , but it had many different works of art.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ioanna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“There is so much to see for everybody!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Why should you go ????????? The Water Works near by, do not miss it. In the museum, the swords, rose garden, the steps, Rocky, the view. This place is for children and adults. I think it is free on Sunday. I grew up in Philly and went once a year in the summer. My husband also went as a child. When we are back in Philly in the summer this is our first place to visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Empathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Keep on going beyond the steps.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The steps up to the museum are the ones that Rocky ran up. If you keep going and head in (and pay $20 or so) you get to see some serious amount of paintings. Even if only a fraction of them interest you, there's still plenty for everyone.

A huge stack of impressionists and a whole heap of barking mad modern art from Marcel Duchamp onwards.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank murnauontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philadelphia Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Philadelphia Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing