We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids are so Welcome at PMA”

Philadelphia Museum of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Philadelphia Museum of Art General Admission
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Double-Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour of Philadelphia
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia Segway Tour
Ranked #1 of 450 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Philadelphia Museum of Art is the cultural heart of a great city—the place for creative play, with a surprise around every corner. We have world-class collections, exhibitions, programs...and some well-known steps.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kids are so Welcome at PMA”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Did you know that they want kids running around the amazing marble halls of the PMA?
Yep they even have something called a stroller tour for mom's and babies. Get the scoop on it here: http://www.hipsterhenry.com/thingstodo/strollertour. There are also amazing family programs on Sundays. The Every Family PArty is on 11/12/11 this year... They turn the whole place over to the kids with crafts, music and food. Don't miss it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hipster H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,231
    1,168
    192
    31
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This Museum is Awesome”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

My family did not plan to really spend a lot of time at the museum, we mainly went to see the building, the famous "Rocky Steps", the view and the Rembrandt "Faces of Christ" special exhibit. We ended up staying for 3 hours and touring the whole museum from top to bottom.
It was absolutely awesome, my kids loved the Asian Art, as well as the swords and armored suites. I enjoyed all of the museum, especially the European and Asian wings. I think that young children would even enjoy spending time at this museum, it has so much to offer. I would allow at least 3 hours, but one could easily spend longer.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KYbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great collection, well presented.”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Wear your walking shoes, this place is huge. I really liked the various rooms that displayed items of similar origin or from the same donor. Very lovely collection. The tea room and Asian collections were great. My husband and son liked the armor collection, but my son (16) did get bored. We let him do the Rocky run at the end, to lighten the mood.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank redwings63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Pretty good”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This was huge, some of the exhibits were incredible

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Linda1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rembrandt & The Face of Jesus”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

At the Philadelphia Museum of Art is a Rembrandt exhibit which is called "Rembrandt and the Face of Jesus". We went expecting to see many paintings done by the famous dutch painter, Rembrandt. We found the exhibit was exclusively about paintings he and many of his students/school of Rembrandt artists produced depicting Jesus and Jesus-related scenes. It costs $25.00 per person to see. There are about 60 pieces in the exhibit.
I wish I would have waited til it was buy one get one ticket. Don't get me wrong, the Jesus images were exquisite, but you won't see any other Rembrandt's.! Enjoy anyway?

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank LRZW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philadelphia Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Philadelphia Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing