We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go when they are making coins”
Review of United States Mint

United States Mint
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #7 of 76 Tours in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: As close to the proverbial money-tree as you'll get. The U.S. Mint turns out 1.5 million coins per hour, and you can see how they do it.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
549 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Go when they are making coins”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Mint is free to visit. I found the staff to be some of the friendlier staff among all the attractions. The lobby has some lovely Tiffany mosaics depicting the money making process. The tour itself is a little boring. You take an escalator up two stories. The first half is self-guided and has boards describing the coin-making process. We zipped through this; I just wasn’t interested in reading, reading, reading. The return trip down the hall is an observation deck showing the coin machinery. We went on a Friday and no one was working. So, again, it is just mildly interesting looking at idle machinery. The gift shop is nice. This attraction provides a one hour respite from rain or heat, but it is more of an “if you have extra time” attraction than a “must see” attraction.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PhoenixRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    329
    112
    24
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This mint building was clearly organized so visitors can see how coins are made. The history of the U.S. mints display was fun to explore. The self guided tour along a mezzanine above the factory floor was enjoyable since you can go at your own pace. The nice gift shop has lots of things to choose from. Everyone was pleasant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't go on Friday pm”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Unfortunately, we went at around 2pm on a Friday and the production had already stopped. The small exhibition is interesting, along with the displays along the factory floor viewing corridor. We found the medal displays particularly interesting. I'm sure this is a great visit at the right time, we were unlucky.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juze123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best tours I have been on”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The self guided tour of the Philadelphia United State Mint was awesome! I have the visited the Denver Mint, but this was a huge step up with the ability to see inside of the facility and on your Own! It was a very easy tour with no needing to zig zag or switch from one room to the next. This was far by my best experience in Philadelphia

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkbngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Watch them make coins”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The self-guided tour takes less than 30 minutes, and you get a birds-eye view of the factory floor where they are making money. There are a few interactive exhibits, and of course, a gift shop. Photography is PROHIBITED within the mint, and you have to go through a security check to get in. We enjoyed the brief tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenHokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Mint also viewed

 

Been to United States Mint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing