We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History of Jews in America”

National Museum of American Jewish History
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Hop-on Hop-off and Philly By Night Tour Combo
More Info
$329.00*
and up
Day Trip from New Haven CT to Philadelphia by Rail
Ranked #8 of 450 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Museum offers tickets for Adults (ages 22-64) $12, Youths (ages 13-21) $11, Children (12-under) free, Active Military (with ID) free, Seniors (65+) $11. This museum offers dynamic and always intriguing exhibits. The history and evolution of the American Jewish community from colonial times onward is chronicled.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“History of Jews in America”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Well laid out with a very large collection of historical information. If you are a person who likes detail this is for you. The visit can be very time consuming. There are 4 floors arranged by time period. In an hour and a half that we had before the museum closed we saw the 4th and half of the 3rd floor exhibits and we did not linger very long at any of them. Wish they had longer hours, but understand why they don't. I highly recommend a visit to this museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shadow4808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    178
    52
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic; a must-see”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting this museum in May. It's a new building with fantastic exhibits, and it encompasses the stories of Judaism in America from the times of Peter Stuyvesant through the present day. The stories are fascinating; they are wonderfully interactive; and, in fact, they provide insights into the evolution and history of all cultures in America. This museum has plenty to offer and you can spend a full half-day there easily. I could write more, but I think the best advice is to just get to the museum, see it yourself, and become immersed in the experience. You will learn so many things, and I think you'll find it to be a greatly enjoyable experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripToSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We are local Philadelphians, and have been to the new NMAJH twice. We STILL haven't seen everything there, and definitely must keep going back. For the first time visit, we spent practically all of our time on the 4th floor. The docents are very informative. A visit to the museum is a source of pride for our city, local Jewish community, and I hope people of all different religious, ethnic backgrounds will come to visit this national treasure.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank proudtobeJewish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains,New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum in Philadelphia”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

In a modern building adjacent to the historical part of Philadelphia lies the National Museum of American Jewish History. Inside this edifice one finds the complete history of American Jewry. The museum is laid out in chronological order from colonial times to the present with many exhibits, films and interactive items. A must enjoyable visit for people of all denominations.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeris505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience Walking Through Time”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a docent tour that took us from the first Jews to arrive in America to the present. The museum is a wonderful architectural building. You start from the top floor and work your way down through history to the present. It was a fascinating trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of American Jewish History also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of American Jewish History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing